We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Remember Those” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kruger Street Toy & Train Museum

The Kruger Street Toy & Train Museum
144 Kruger Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
877-242-8133; 304-242-8133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Attractions in Wheeling
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a restored Victorian school, The Kruger Street Toy & Train Museum boasts an impressive collection of tens of thousands toys and trains.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“I Remember Those”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a great museum for bringing back childhood memories. The location of the museum was an attraction in itself, an old schoolhouse. Each room had a collection of toys. You could see the blackboard of the room and just imagine a room full of students.
I loved looking at the dolls and dollhouses. They don't make them like that anymore.
This is a must see in Wheeling

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“trip down memory lane!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

what fun!...this is a great museum!...it was so complete w/many toys from our childhood that we haven't seen in years!...staff were pleasant and friendly...what a wonderful use of an old school building!...it was absolutely spotless...we would recommend and plan on returning w/our 3yr. old and 6yr. old great~nephews soon!...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Great Collection of All Things Lionel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The unlikely setting for this museum is in an old schoolhouse, which is a joy in itself, and subsequently has many rooms to fill and boy are they filled. With just about everything that Lionel ever produced and I hadn't fully appreciated their range, being a foreigner. As well as the multiple display rooms, there is a hands-on slot racing layout to try and a free pinball machine, that I enjoyed. My visit was enhanced by the guy in the gift shop who gave me a tour of the basement, not usually included, and it is a fascinating building.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“All kids will enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is such a fun place to visit. It brings out the child in everyone. There are many hands-on things to see and do. There was so much crammed in there, it was almost hard to see it all.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This was a cute museum. Lots of hands on activities that even my teenagers and husband enjoyed. Liked looking at all the old toys from my childhood, but was a little disappointed that they had current toys in some of the displays. I think it took away from the older toys. We really enjoyed searching for Waldo and his friends in the different rooms and had to go back into rooms to find most of them. Definitely would recommend this place to friends visiting the area!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kruger Street Toy & Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Kruger Street Toy & Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kruger Street Toy & Train Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.