We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely restored” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Artisan Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wheeling Artisan Center
1400 Main St, Wheeling, WV 26003
(304) 232-3087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Attractions in Wheeling
Type: Specialty museums, Museums
Attraction details
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nicely restored”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

lovely old warehouse restoration...beautifully done on the inside...nice attempt at wheeling history, but also difficult to follow...kind of spotty and all over the place...very kind and helpful lady in the gift shop...as with most gift shops, items are over~priced...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The outside of the building appears to be small. When you enter, the area is large and 3 stories. It was a beautiful place for the wedding reception.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Oooh, what nice arts and crafts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Artisan Center is in a lovely old building. Just the old building is quite a sight. The artifacts are lovely and there were so many things I would have liked to take home. Around the floor are exhibits of how things used to be. Very informative and well worth taking in.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great sampling of Arts and artisans in a cool building. Glass to wood to textiles. A little bit of history and a fun restaurant too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Shopping decent, parking is bad, restaurant is awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First off my gps could not find this place for some reason and then trying to find parking was challenging. The actual building has very little of it's historical things left in it, but still neat to think of it being around so long. The selection of locally made products was impressive and I was able to find some nice gifts and a candle for myself. If you care to learn more about Wheeling there are historical figures you can pick from and then learn about as you walk through the 2nd floor where the shopping is. There are some fun signs about Wheeling on the first floor in the restaurant but I strongly suggest NOT eating there. Service was so-so even though we were at the bar getting take out! I discovered upon returning to the hotel that I never got my side and my sandwich was so awful I couldn't eat it! My friend's food was mediocre. If you are desperate for something to eat and have no other options, stick with the appetizers there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheeling Artisan Center also viewed

 

Been to Wheeling Artisan Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Artisan Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.