We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful city park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oglebay Park

Oglebay Park
465 Lodge Drive, Wheeling, West Virginia 26003, Wheeling, WV 26003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Attractions in Wheeling
Type: Parks, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1,500-acre municipal park with a hotel, a petting zoo, swimming pools, a planetarium and museums.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful city park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Not many cities have such a beautiful facility and park as Wheeling has here. Many different activities to do and four beautiful golf courses to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    77
    31
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great for walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

tons of paved trails to walk through the area on. The outdoor pool + tennis was nice and everyone we encountered made the trip better. Not a grumpy/surly person to be found anywhere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our family rented a 6 bedroom cabin for our reunion. Lots of room and a big kitchen. Cabin was clean. Lots of activities to do around the park including swimming, boating, golfing, visiting the zoo, or just going for a walk. We saw quite a few deer during our walk. Parking got to be a bit tricky as we shared a parking area with the cabin next door who had already checked in the day before.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“well~kept grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

oglebay is a massive, rolling, well maintained park...we enjoyed strolling the flower gardens and people watching...several benches appropriately spaced for resting...enjoyed the history too...oglebay is a huge asset to wheeling...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great park with many activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The park itself is free to access and there is a lot of free parking around. I would call ahead before attending any activities as we found the some were cancelled but no updates posted. A lot to do here though, including swimming, skiing, golf, riding, woodland and paved walks. There is a variety of shops and restaurants as well. The mansion and the zoo are worth a visit, as is the nature center. And of course there is the lovely light display at Christmas time. Not to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oglebay Park also viewed

 

Been to Oglebay Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oglebay Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.