We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cute restaurant...definately worth the try!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Later Alligator

Later Alligator
2145 Market St, Wheeling, WV 26003-3819
304-233-1606
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 98 Restaurants in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Menu selections such as Nobody puts Baby in a Corner. Crepes of Wrath, and Wilbur goes to Venice are typical and will fuel your curiosity as well as tickle your appetite. Specializing in both savory & sweet crepes, Later offers specialty sandwiches, homemade soups and salads at affordable prices. A welcome surprise at this upscale cafe/bistro. WV Div. of Tourism award 2009 for unique eateries. Beer & Wine.
GRAND RAPIDS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a cute restaurant...definately worth the try!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I walk in to such a cute little restaurant and was not sure what to expect. When looking at the menu, I was very hungry and wondering if this was going to be good for a dinner for the rest of the night. It was!!! I ordered a Salmon wrap with cream cheese....oh goodness me it was good!! They had the purple corn chips to go with it and when asked if they had a salsa to go with them... they promptly brought out some very, very fresh made salsa. It was ok, so-so, tasted more like the beginnings of a chili base before it was cooked but, it was still good! I would definately try there again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    49
    10
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Deservedly Number 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A weekday lunch at "Alligator" was a delightful experience in every way. From arrival, through service, through checkout, everything was perfect.

The decor is vintage Wheeling, with antique (or near antique) items from old area businesses and landmarks. Dining areas are sectional, and spacing is comfortable, promoting easy conversation for diners.

Service was prompt and attentive. And the food was exquisite! The tomato bisque soup was good to the last drop. A turkey flat bread sandwich with brie and applesauce was healthy and tasty. (I tried to duplicate the recipe at home, but it just wasn't the same.)

Sometimes establishments' high rankings are puzzling, but Alligator's is well deserved. If only Alligator would open franchises from coast to coast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
1 review
“Delightful lunch, unique place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Traveling through Wheeling we stopped here for lunch. Located in an historic building in the historic center of old downtown, Later Alligator is intimate and warm with wonderful food, service & atmosphere. We had crepe dishes, a specialty of theirs, for our main dish and a desert (and lobster bisque), all of which were delicious. Also a small bar with quality selections. This is a delightful place for lunch or a leisurely dinner. We definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food/BAD service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Later Alligator for during a road trip from Ohio to NY. It seemed very sweet and cute. Their main dish was crapes, and we figured it would be a good quick meal.

They seated us outside. Two other groups arrived after us. We were finally served after two other groups. It was frusterating because we had driven so long, and now were waiting so long. After we placed our order we waited.....and waited....and waited. I finally asked our server and explained that we had many hours of driving left and had to leave soon. He confirmed there was an issue, and finally after a bit the food came.

Its a shame, since the food wasn't terrible, but it was some of the worst service I've seen in a while...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Delicious food, goofy service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good, I've never had a bad meal here. Sometimes the service is very slow even when the restaurant isn't busy. But the food always makes up for it. This isn't a quick place if you only have an hour lunch time like I do. I only go here when I know I have some extra time to spare. Very good chicken salad sandwich, called "Fowl Play". Love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Later Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Later Alligator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.