We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilson Lodge Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Foliage Package
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wilson Lodge Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This resort is a great weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the work week. The lodge is rustic in appearance, but the rooms are all furnished in up-dated modern furniture. The meals offered in the grill and the sumptuous breakfasts in the dining room make the visit perfect. We did not care for the "platter meals" offered for an evening dining meal. Shuttle service is great, delivering guests to all attractions. I especially enjoyed touring the "mansion house" and walking through the beautifully landscaped gardens. There is a zoo, outdoor as well as indoor swimming, and a golf course for those so inclined. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: ask for rooms not too distant from the elevators....it's a long walk to the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    186
    76
    46
    31
See reviews for
241
171
7
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Several people had been surprised we planned on spending four nights here. I started to worry our stay would be too long! It wasn't! There is so much to do here even for a teenage son. We did the Segway torus which I highly recommend. Included in our package was free miniature golf, the par 3 course which we did five times! Also free was pedal boats and swimming in large outdoor pool. We also enjoyed taking walks and my son loved the candy store. We are a family that can find lots to do and this was the place. We will be back. It's great for a long weekend but also a Sunday through Thursday stay as well. You won't be bored. The breakfast buffet was the best ever and the Glassworks diner was great as well! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Oglebay has a lot going for it. The golf courses are well maintained, scenic and well run. We did not play the Billy Goat Crispin Course, although it looked like it could be a fun, wild ride on its fairways. The grounds are impeccabily maintained. Flowers are everywhere. Swimming pool is huge, but it has a Municipal Pool atmosphere. Our one complaint was the housekeeping. They don't change the linens daily. The bed was just thrown back together, never really even made to look like there was any effort to make a fresh, welcoming room. Sunday night they did have live music, but other nights there was really no entertainment or much to do. Take the kids for a visit to the on site zoo

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Hall, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Everything at Oglebay is top notch, from the rooms to the food to the service and the shopping. Great place for a special occasion or just to get away. Beautiful grounds, excellent walking and fitness trails. The spa is awesome.

Room Tip: The view from lakeside is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We rented a cabin for the week and truly enjoyed the resort. Great detail and care was taken to make the grounds well manicured. The pools (indoor and outdoor) were also well maintained. We rented the Juniper cabin for the week and it was perfect for my family of 7. Nice vacation, tons to do for both adults and kids!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed a peaceful night's rest on our way to Fallingwater in PA. It was a comfortable night with pleasant views and atmosphere. We were not there for the leisure activities, but for a quiet stop with interesting history. It met our expectations.

Room Tip: Our handicapped room (630) was a long way from the elevator. We are not handicapped, but if a perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived and were worried because of the full parking lot and 10 minute check-in line. I don't know where everyone went - but we had both indoor (small) pool and outdoor (HUGE) pool to ourselves, etc. We got the summer fun package that included the zoo/museum/breakfast. The breakfast was second only to the Burlington Marriott breakfast buffet and that's saying quite a bit.

The zoo was just enough for an afternoon. They had a story time/s'mores cookout each night we were there. We were busy without being "pushed through" so it was wonderful.
anyway.
The hotel is VERY large and because of the elevation changes in the area - you'll spend lots of time walking just around the hotel for breakfast/game time/pool/etc.

Rooms were a bit dated but acceptable. You don't stay there for the hotel room.
Plan on staying put at the hotel once you're there - it's pretty far to get off the property and back into town (45 minute RT to Kroger).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
3.9 mi away
The McLure Hotel
The McLure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Wheeling
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
No photo provided
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
9.7 mi away
Days Inn St. Clairsville
Days Inn St. Clairsville
#5 of 12 in Saint Clairsville
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.