We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Lodge Drive, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Simply Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Solon, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“golf, now!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

i love the smell of a golf course after a morning rain. i have been to this place 3 times, now, and have not been disappointed. the breakfast buffet is nice, i find the staff friendly, and i think the golf is great. i am not a very good golfer, and playing on a mountain does not help, but it is a beautiful course to play, for all skill levels, and i enjoy the challenge. plus, with family friendly tees, i can get the whole gang involved and that means a lot. give them a shot, so to speak, and let me know what you think

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

one of the best family resorts I have ever been. gorgeous grounds , something for everyone four golf courses.two swimming pools,horses,small zoo and more . we have stayed at Oglebay several times and are always sad to leave,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 724MICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was our third stay at Oglebay in the past year, and we were once again pleased and impressed with the facility and staff. Each time, we have stayed in a Queen Premium View room and it is just beautiful. So nice to sit on the balcony overlooking the lake and watch the deer! The food in the dining room is always delicious and the service is impeccable. Housekeeping gals are efficient and conscientious, and every staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. We did not visit the Spa this trip, but have enjoyed previous services there. We continue to recommend Oglebay to family and friends!

Room Tip: We can't speak to the traditional lodge rooms or cabins, but rooms overlooking the lake are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wow, what a dump. Stayed at one of the 'traditional' cabins for a week. Couldn't believe how funky, musty, moldy, and crappy it was. And for $1,200 a week! The wristbands to go to attractions at the resort are a joke...not even the employees can figure out where to get them, how to get them, and what you can use them for. Tried to get our money back after we purchased a voucher to get the wristbands (which if you don't pick up first thing in the morning....EVERY DAY, you are out of luck) and had to deal with rude, clueless and unbelievably smug jerks who didn't want to hear it. Finally talked to Charles, the manager, who told us he was new to the job, he understood our dilemma, but couldn't help us get a refund for these freakin wristbands. Also could care less on all of the complaints we had about the trailer/cabin we were staying in (duct tape holding the corner of the shower together, broken toilet, shower curtain not long enough and flooding the bathroom, 'patio' flooding when it rains, just to name a few) But he did tell us the good news is that we'll get an email when we get home that we can fill out and tell them our concerns...and they really do read them! How about dealing with people face-to-face and helping them out! Duh! I could go on and on, but to summarize: yuck, ripoff, dont bother. Family member was planning on getting married here but after this week.... No way!

Room Tip: Just avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Hotel Operations at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We were very disappointed to see your recent review. We strive to maintain very high standards in both the lodge and cottages and train our staff to deliver Legendary Customer Service. I apologize that your experience did not reflect that. Our wristband program is one of our most popular purchases by our guests as it allows you to enjoy most of the resort at a discounted rate for the entire day. We also have various levels of cottages from rustic to Estate House with corresponding price points. Perhaps during your next visit you would like to consider a Deluxe or Premium cottage for your family. It would certainly be our pleasure to be able to offer you the fantastic service that our resort is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensburg,pa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Very beautiful setting for a very relaxing weekend. The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. I am not a fan of buffets but must say I enjoyed the entire weekend of meals. The grounds are beautiful and plenty of activities for everyone. The entertain in the evening was great which was not advertised but we followed the music and glad we did.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have been going to Oglebay since I was a child and it never disappoints. It's a very beautiful venue no matter what the time of year. There's an activity for everyone even if its just strolling the beautiful paths. Room was clean and food was delicious. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the original "vintage" rooms and knew from experience it would be smaller and a bit dated when we made the reservation on line. Might be a good idea to let newcomers know this so they are not disappointed! I always recommend Oglebay to friends.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is newer or vintage. Vintage is fine but room is smaller and dated. A good value fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments and also thank you for recommending us to your friends. That is the best compliment we can receive. Stay tuned…plans are in the works for updating the original section of our lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The staff in the hotel ,the mansion, and the glass house very friendly and helpful, one of the staff members in the west spa not so much. She didnt talk to me,she seemed annoyed, and didnt even tell me she was done just got up and walked away, didnt explain about the drying times for nail polish or anything. Our table in the Glassworks grill was dirty when we were seated and our waitress spilled a little bit of my drink and didnt try to clean it just walked away. The Good Zoo was just a disappointment. The outdoor pool changing rooms were just gross and smelled. I just think for the amount of money we are paying we should be getting better services.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogsrcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on your stay at Oglebay. It was disappointing to hear that your service was less than exceptional as that is not our standard. We sincerely apologize. Your comments will be shared with our staff and we hope you will visit us again to enjoy a true Oglebay experience that will exceed you expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.2 mi away
The McLure Hotel
The McLure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Wheeling
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites WHEELING
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing