We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic rustic weekend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
DuBois, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic rustic weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I were in desperate need of a weekend getaway together. I had spent a weekend at the Wilson Lodge previously on a golf trip with friends and thought my wife would enjoy the experience. The lodge has a luxurious spa and great pool and fitness center. We enjoyed the Dinning room and the Lounge very much. The staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was excellent. The upkeep of this resort is exceptional, especially for such a large establishment.
Our package came with free breakfast buffet and it certainly was more than what most of us are used to as a free "breakfast". A chef to prepare made to order omelets and waffles, a spread of everything from healthy breakfast to the delicious assortment of breakfast meats and specialty dishes.
The resort has many beautiful golf courses and other great mountain side scenic opportunities.
The cost is a little more than we usually pay for a normal hotel room but the atmosphere and the treatment we received more than made up the difference.
Overall it was a great weekend which helped us both to relax and enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: We paid the extra money for a larger room and it was worth it. Next time I would book a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    122
    65
    35
    28
See reviews for
149
93
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bunker Hill, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Used the Bed & Breakfast package to meet up with a friend I haven't seen in forever. We had such a great time. The grounds and Wilson Lodge are fantastic. The entire area was still brown from winter, but I know it would be beautiful once it starts turning green and blooming. The food was fantastic and I can't say enough about the staff, always helpful and polite. Seeing deer is always a special treat. I can't wait to return with my husband to play golf.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the west side, so nice to sit there in the afternoon when it was still a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Oglebay to reconnect with an old friend and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at a cottage for 3 nights as family came & went for a mini-reunion of sorts. Surprised at how clean everything was when we arrived. Excellent value--a 4 bedroom/2 bath cottage is about the same price as a single room in the Lodge this time of year. We like rustic, and this is it! Wood panels, big fireplace (complete with a full box of firewood upon arrival), deer, and more deer. Did all our own cooking for meals--huge grocery store at the bottom of the hill nearby. Staff was very nice at check in/out. Don't be surprised to hear raccoons and see a spider or two. Kitchen is dated, but has everything you need. Used the game room, indoor pool, sauna, and hot tub in the lodge--all clean and warm. Our kids said this cottage was the best part of Spring Break. Will return next time meeting up with family.

Room Tip: Cottages in "A" area nicely spaced out so just enough privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Always a wonderful place to stay. Every season has it's beauty, even now when we are getting over winter - just seeing the deer laying around the grounds and standing on the courses, such a beautiful sight.Staying in the cottages is so enjoyable and all the facilities of the lodge are wonderful too. Always love to visit all the resort shops, merchandise is beautiful and fairly priced for what it is. Always so sad to have to leave!!

Room Tip: If you can use a cottage, they are so enjoyable. We have stayed in all the different rooms over all...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently stayed at Wilson Lodge for a professional conference. Beautiful Oglebay Park is a lovely location. I had paid the extra money for a premium room. It is well worth it. Fireplace in the bedroom, a mini fridge, sink and Keurig also. However, I drink only green tea and my husband likes hot chocolate. The hotel only provided coffee and black tea for the Keurig. I requested the others, but they were not available. The bathroom is very nice with a separate tub and shower. There is also a heated towel rack, which is great! The meal plan provided for five meals during the conference. The breakfasts were OK, but lunch and dinner were not very good. We ate two of our meals elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again, but only in the premium rooms. The older section of the lodge is in need of an upgrade.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a premium room. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The staff here are so friendly and really went out of their way to make the stay great. I took the time to visit the zoo, the garden store and museum area and walked to one of the golf courses. There seems to be something for everyone, but probably moreso in summer than in spring. The food in the lounge was iffy but all the other meals were amazing, especially the breakfasts.

The people in the room next to me could be heard very well (too well) through the adjoining door, so sleep wasn't too good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Resort is located in beautiful surroundings. There are many walking trails that wind around the grounds and hills. The breakfast buffet was very good. We had omelets made to order that were very good. At the Glassworks Grill the food was okay....pass on the vegetarian burger that was not made well at all. The West Spa is the highlight of the place. The staff is friendly and gracious and the atmosphere serene. They offer a variety of services and good practioners (ask for Katie). We stayed in an intermediate room which is a nice upgrade from the tradional room. it had a balcony overlooking an inside courtyard.

Room Tip: The intermediate rooms are sufficient with a bit better quality and location than the traditional ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.