We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic rustic weekend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Escape Package
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
DuBois, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic rustic weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I were in desperate need of a weekend getaway together. I had spent a weekend at the Wilson Lodge previously on a golf trip with friends and thought my wife would enjoy the experience. The lodge has a luxurious spa and great pool and fitness center. We enjoyed the Dinning room and the Lounge very much. The staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was excellent. The upkeep of this resort is exceptional, especially for such a large establishment.
Our package came with free breakfast buffet and it certainly was more than what most of us are used to as a free "breakfast". A chef to prepare made to order omelets and waffles, a spread of everything from healthy breakfast to the delicious assortment of breakfast meats and specialty dishes.
The resort has many beautiful golf courses and other great mountain side scenic opportunities.
The cost is a little more than we usually pay for a normal hotel room but the atmosphere and the treatment we received more than made up the difference.
Overall it was a great weekend which helped us both to relax and enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: We paid the extra money for a larger room and it was worth it. Next time I would book a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    182
    74
    46
    31
See reviews for
230
169
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunker Hill, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Used the Bed & Breakfast package to meet up with a friend I haven't seen in forever. We had such a great time. The grounds and Wilson Lodge are fantastic. The entire area was still brown from winter, but I know it would be beautiful once it starts turning green and blooming. The food was fantastic and I can't say enough about the staff, always helpful and polite. Seeing deer is always a special treat. I can't wait to return with my husband to play golf.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the west side, so nice to sit there in the afternoon when it was still a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Oglebay to reconnect with an old friend and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at a cottage for 3 nights as family came & went for a mini-reunion of sorts. Surprised at how clean everything was when we arrived. Excellent value--a 4 bedroom/2 bath cottage is about the same price as a single room in the Lodge this time of year. We like rustic, and this is it! Wood panels, big fireplace (complete with a full box of firewood upon arrival), deer, and more deer. Did all our own cooking for meals--huge grocery store at the bottom of the hill nearby. Staff was very nice at check in/out. Don't be surprised to hear raccoons and see a spider or two. Kitchen is dated, but has everything you need. Used the game room, indoor pool, sauna, and hot tub in the lodge--all clean and warm. Our kids said this cottage was the best part of Spring Break. Will return next time meeting up with family.

Room Tip: Cottages in "A" area nicely spaced out so just enough privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Always a wonderful place to stay. Every season has it's beauty, even now when we are getting over winter - just seeing the deer laying around the grounds and standing on the courses, such a beautiful sight.Staying in the cottages is so enjoyable and all the facilities of the lodge are wonderful too. Always love to visit all the resort shops, merchandise is beautiful and fairly priced for what it is. Always so sad to have to leave!!

Room Tip: If you can use a cottage, they are so enjoyable. We have stayed in all the different rooms over all...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently stayed at Wilson Lodge for a professional conference. Beautiful Oglebay Park is a lovely location. I had paid the extra money for a premium room. It is well worth it. Fireplace in the bedroom, a mini fridge, sink and Keurig also. However, I drink only green tea and my husband likes hot chocolate. The hotel only provided coffee and black tea for the Keurig. I requested the others, but they were not available. The bathroom is very nice with a separate tub and shower. There is also a heated towel rack, which is great! The meal plan provided for five meals during the conference. The breakfasts were OK, but lunch and dinner were not very good. We ate two of our meals elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again, but only in the premium rooms. The older section of the lodge is in need of an upgrade.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a premium room. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The staff here are so friendly and really went out of their way to make the stay great. I took the time to visit the zoo, the garden store and museum area and walked to one of the golf courses. There seems to be something for everyone, but probably moreso in summer than in spring. The food in the lounge was iffy but all the other meals were amazing, especially the breakfasts.

The people in the room next to me could be heard very well (too well) through the adjoining door, so sleep wasn't too good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Resort is located in beautiful surroundings. There are many walking trails that wind around the grounds and hills. The breakfast buffet was very good. We had omelets made to order that were very good. At the Glassworks Grill the food was okay....pass on the vegetarian burger that was not made well at all. The West Spa is the highlight of the place. The staff is friendly and gracious and the atmosphere serene. They offer a variety of services and good practioners (ask for Katie). We stayed in an intermediate room which is a nice upgrade from the tradional room. it had a balcony overlooking an inside courtyard.

Room Tip: The intermediate rooms are sufficient with a bit better quality and location than the traditional ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
3.9 mi away
The McLure Hotel
The McLure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Wheeling
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
9.7 mi away
Days Inn St. Clairsville
Days Inn St. Clairsville
#5 of 12 in Saint Clairsville
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.