We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend Get-a-way for your family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Save
You added Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off overnight stay!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Willoughby, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Winter Weekend Get-a-way for your family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I wrote an itinerary for a weekend getaway to Oglebay Park in Wheeling, West Virginia and thought I'd share it with you. It's for the Festival of Lights in December. I love how beautiful the landscape is there and how nicely decorated it is for Christmas to say the least. This is a package with free breakfasts and a free car pass to see the 6 miles of Christmas light displays! Print this out and be on your way!

Your Oglebay Itinerary!

Saturday December

3:00 Check In at Wilson Lodge (You should receive a Map, Festival Lights Car Pass, use your Room Key for free breakfasts each morning)
Drive to The Bissonnette Gardens
Your first stop will be Carriage House Glass Museum pay $10.00 (includes both museums)
(there's glass blowing downstairs every half hour) and the Glass Gift Shop
Next stop at the Visitor Center and watch the history of Wheeling, WV (restrooms here)
Farmhouse Sweets & Treats Shoppe is a must!
Just outside the Visitor Center lies the magical Christmas Tree Garden with 30 live trees decorated in colored lights. Situated in the center is the Nativity Display.
The red brick walking path leads to the Greenhouse, Palm Room and Garden Center Gift Shop.
The final stop on the tour is the Mansion Museum. Drive back to Wilson Lodge

6:45 Reservations at Wilson Lodge's Ihenfeld Dining Room (Buffet $28.95 Adult, child free)
After dinner, head upstairs to 2nd Floor to the Hickman Lounge to see Santa ($5.00 photo) and listen to singer at 7:00-10:00 Free buffet of Hot Cocoa, Hot Cider and cookies etc.
Drive through Festival of Lights in your car. Set radio station for Holiday Music.
Pool for Swimming and Jacuzzi is open from 6:00am-11:00pm (they also have a game room)
They have a fabulous Spa also. Get a massage, facial, pedicure, manicure etc.


Sunday Dec.

Swimming and Jacuzzi open from 6:00am-11:00pm (bring your own towels)
8:30 or 9:00 Breakfast Buffet at Wilson Lodge Ihenfeld Dining Room (Show Room Key)
Drive to Schrader Environmental Center The Center includes several wildlife, nature and environmental education exhibits, including a 15,000-square-foot butterfly and wildflower exhibit and the A.B. Brooks Discovery Trail -- four miles of well-maintained interpretive trails. The EarthTrek Exhibit Hall presents the story of the earth through three dimensional exhibits and techno features. It also includes a Children's Awareness Area, the W.E. Stone Theater and the Bird Cafe where one can watch birds "up close and personal."
Head back to your room for 11:30 Nap. Order Pizza (takes an hour) from Pizzabay ($17.50 - three toppings and Pepsi)

1:00 or 1:30 Drive to the Good Zoo and get a map inside. I suggest going to the Red Barn outdoors first. (Outside zoo is only open to 4:00) You may be able to ride the C.P. Huntington Train around the zoo with weather permitting or just walk it. It's not that big.
Go inside the Good Zoo after because they're open late.
Inside you will also visit a large Model Train exhibit.
Go to the Benedum Theater Laser Show (15 min.) free.
Afterwards, go to the back patio and watch The Light & Music Extravaganza (plays every 20 min.)

6:00 or whenever Dinner (It takes 11min. 4.6miles to get there) at Uncle Pete's Restaurant (outside of Oglebay Park) Lobster Bisque is to die for! Great Ribs, Smoked Chicken, Wings, Philly Cheese Steak, and Rueben are also raved about. Map it! Attn: Could miss it easily!
Drive through Festival of Lights in your car. Set radio station for Holiday Music.
Back at Wilson Lodge go upstairs to 2nd Floor to Hickman Lounge - Singer from 7:00-10:00
Free buffet of Hot Cocoa, Hot Cider and cookies etc.
Don't forget to pick up your pottery in the morning!!


Monday Dec.16

Go swimming!
8:30 or 9:00 Breakfast at the Ihenfeld Dining Room (Show Room Key)
Pick your pottery up at Schraders!!!
Take a nap at 11:30
Stop at the Resort Shop downstairs and get a souvenir (I got a shot glass!)
Visit the Horses at The Stables
Watch the snowboarders at the Ski Area
Eat/Drink at The Grill at Speidel Golf Club (excellent soup and sandwiches, wines, beer, coffee, cocoa) has big beautiful Christmas Store and Pro Shop
Late checkout at 2:00!
Head home! "Hope you have a great time with your family!"

Room Tip: We stayed in a Premier room that had a beautiful fireplace and was the newest on the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing! Your itinerary is the perfect guide for enjoying this magical season. We hope you will visit us during one of our other beautiful seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    169
    72
    44
    31
See reviews for
210
154
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

In July, we decided to do the Holiday Light's Tour thus booked a one room package that included the buffet breakfast. Arrived to seemless check-in and we bought trolley tickets for the 7:30p.m. tour. We also had 6p dinner reservations in the dining room. Once I opened the hotel room door (in the1966 addition) I thought it was a step back in time to a Ramada Inn room from 1963. The carpet, the drapes, small size of the room, the one person bathroom hallway, bedspreads and pillows with large chunks of foam. Arrived at the dining room at 6p. Told the waiter we had to be out for the 7:15p trolley tour. Stated it was no problem. Four of us were in our dinner party. One ordered the blackened grouper and three the porkchop and all with a baked potato. Dinner arrived at 7p, the butter wouldn't melt on the baked potato's! The grouper and two of the p. chops were partially consumed as all were mediocre at best. Had 15 min. to eat to make the trolley. The dinner memory greatly impacked my breakfast experience also. We charged the meals to our rooms and it took the office 1.5hrs that morning to get our final bill correct. Light show was great, gift shops are very nice,and they had nice holiday decorations in the lodge but we suggest you stay and eat offsite. The costs incurred for the one night getaway were not not anywhere equal to the value received. We and our friends will not to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Food & Beverage at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, both good and bad, as we like to know what we are doing right and what areas need improvement. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges at our lodge and the larger premium guest rooms may be more to your liking. Should you change your mind and decide to return, and we hope you will, one of our reservation specialists would be happy to provide details on room types and work with you to find a room that suits your tastes and fits within your budget. We apologize that your dining experience fell short of your expectations. During the Festival of Lights, the Ihlenfeld Dining Room is very popular and generally takes two hours to dine. Our Executive Chef’s passion is to provide our guests with the best quality menu items available. The seasonally changing Ala Carte menu has a newly added small plate section that is very popular. The Festival of Lights buffet is packed full of creative salads, entrees, and desserts from our pastry shop, and is designed to please a wide variety of tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stopped at Oglebay on our way home from a trip to an Antique and collectables trip to Ohio, and since I had always wanted to stay at Oglebay..we stopped and decided to stay (we were tired driving). The rooms with the Fireplaces were all gone, but the smaller room was just fine for the two of us. We had stayed at Lodges of this Era and the room was the size they were then,,I feel that changing them too much would take away some of their charm. We enjoyed the porch outside our room and listening to the birds. We ate a late supper in the Bar/Lounge and enjoyed it and we also had the Breakfast Buffet which was outstanding when we were there, so many wonderful things to try.

Room Tip: Try going in the Spring for a less hectic but wonderful experience and then go again to see the Ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! The holiday season at Oglebay is a truly special time, and perhaps one of our most beautiful seasons, and we are delighted that you chose to stay with us during this magical time of year. Thank you very much for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights along with another couple for the Festival of Lights. The lights were ok but I'm not sure what would attract the droves of people who line the roadway. They simply weren't that good. The hotel I would characterize as average. Nothing over a descent Holiday Inn room to be sure. The restaurant was a real disappointment. I ordered a steak off the menu rather than the buffet and it was overcooked and laden with a mystery sauce that tasted like bottled barbeque sauce. Everyone else did the buffet but no one was overly impressed.

The service at the bar was OK if you were at a table. We sat at the bar one night and you nearly had to throw things at the 2 bartenders to get served (it was NOT crowded). We got the feeling they just wanted us to leave. On our second evening we dined at an offsite restaurant since no one in our group wanted to return to the one at the lodge. For the prices charged I considered the overall experience to be a poor value. We couldn't justify making this an annual trip but if we return we'll look into other accommodations and just drive up for the lights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Oglebay, especially your disappointment in the Winter Festival of Lights. Just last month the show was rated by Yahoo Travel as one of the seven most spectacular winter lighting displays in the country and we are proud to report that 95% of nearly 20,000 comments cards from visitors rate the Festival of Lights good to excellent. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges at our lodge and the larger premium guest rooms may be more to your liking. Should you decide to return, and we hope you will, one of our reservation specialists would be happy to provide details on room types and work with you to find a room that suits your tastes and fits within your budget. We were also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in our restaurants as our Executive Chef works hard to bring the latest trends in taste and presentation to our guests, and it is always our goal to provide legendary customer service. We apologize that we fell short and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I just returned home a few hours ago from a very expensive and disappointing trip to Oglebay. I booked online as a birthday gift for a friend. We arrived at Wilson Lodge to a long line of people waiting to check in, after a 15 minute wait we got our room key and headed to freshin up...what a joke. We walked into our room and the first thing I noticed is that it smelled, strike 1. I went to the restroom and the toilet seat was VERY loose, hmmm . I washed my hands and the sink drained VERY slowly, bathroom.....strike 2. Went for a walk to look at the shops, they where nicely decorated but pricey. It was time for dinner and it was either 28.95 each for a buffett dinner or the bar scene for dinner, we chose the bar and had an average at best dinner once again over priced. We took the lights drive which was nice during which we stopped at the laser zoo show again 10.00 each to get in to see a 15 minute light show and a few animals. We had seen enough and if it where not for the fact that we had already paid 147.00 for a 1 night stay we would have left!!!! After a not so quiet night we woke and where ready to leave but since the breakfast was included in the price we figured we should eat before we left....this was a mistake!!
We arrived at the breakfast buffet to a women who seemed confused at the seating podium. After a short conversation with her staff we where seated, the view was nice but that is where the experience went south. The orange juice craft remains on the table from the customers before you and they just keep filling it, I found this strange. The waitress showed up after we waited 8 minutes to ask us what we wanted to drinkt and told us to go to the buffet. When we came back to our table the drinks where there but we needed ketchup, there was no waitress to be found. Finally I went to a busboy and he gave me ketchup, still no waitress. After finishing our plate of food guess who shows up, yep the waitress, we ask her for 2 glasses of water, they never did show up!!! Strike 3!!! This place is a tourest trap, over priced and in need of an overhaul. I have alread told several of my friends to BEWARE!!!!!!!Once was enough!

Room Tip: beware of smelly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Hotel Operations at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We were very disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay. We work very hard to provide each of our guests with a fantastic experience from the time they walk in the door until the time they leave. To hear that you did not enjoy any parts of our stay with us is concerning. I do hope you will reconsider and think about visiting us again. Summer is a beautiful time here at Oglebay and we would welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

First let me say that niether myself or my family stayed at the resort. We only drove throught the so called festival of lights. Which I may add was a 90 minute drive each way. Very, very disapointed!! We sat in traffic for over an hour just to get into this place, and that would be perfectly fine if there was something nice to see. A display about every 1/8th of a mile, and most of them were just a stationary light display or atree with a few strings of lights on it. They advertise all these little shops, bonfire, zoo, and train display, but of course they were all closed. If your advertising to be open until 11:00 pm then everything should be open!! All Im going to say is what a waste of MONEY< TIME AND GAS never again. Oh yes the charge $20.00 a car to see nothing!!! Dont waste your money!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the Winter Festival of Lights as we work very hard to keep the show as one of the top-rated holiday light shows in the country, and we are proud to report that 95% of nearly 20,000 comments cards from visitors rate the Festival of Lights good to excellent. The show has 80 larger-than-life displays, many of them animated, and was just last month rated by Yahoo Travel as one of the seven most spectacular winter lighting displays in the country. As promoted on our website, the lights are on Sunday through Thursday until 10 pm and Friday and Saturday until 11 pm. Hours for the zoo, dining and the eight specialty shops are also on our website. The Winter Festival of Lights does not have an admission fee but we do stop visitors and ask for donations as Oglebay is a non-for-profit municipal park and contributions are used for maintaining and upgrading the light show and park facilities. All donations are appreciated but any visitor that elects not to contribute is still welcome to enjoy the show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Looking for somewhere special to bring our family on Thanksgiving we found Wilson lodge and their Festival of Lights online so we booked a premium room ( complete with fireplace and two queen sized beds )

When we arrived my wife approached the front desk to ask if this was where she should check in she was told: " hang on I am filing" when the woman behind the desk was done my wife gave her the print out she had kept and was told that we purchased a premium room but they don't have any. Then she offered my wife the choice between a fireplace and no roll always and an intermediate room with with two roll aways. My wife told her we would figure things out with the two full sized beds and call for a roll away if we needed one later.

When we saw how small the "intermediate" room was with our three boys we. I went down to see if they didn't have anything at all bigger. When I spoke with the same woman she actually chastised me for booking online. ( way to throw your own people under the bus) this time a manager over heard and offered to walk room to room and try to see if there was anything better he could give me. I realized it was a gesture more to appease me but he seemed to genuinely care.

In the morning the person who checked me out was was went out of his way to talk to me and tried to salvage our experience .

So here is the run down of my 18 hours there

1. Glass works grill: the service was poor. They were to concerned with the score of the Cowboys game then filling my empty coffee cup.

2. Festival of Lights: amazing, our kids will be talking about it for a long time! Nativity alone was worth the trip.

3. The little giftshop next to the nativity is worth going back to the next day great candy store and nice hot sauce selection ( I collect me)

4. The breakfast Buffett: this was off the hook talk about some serious breakfast and the guy they had Bussing tables and filling coffee should be teaching customer service to the staff that guy was professional positive and attentive.

It is clear that the hotel reads these reviews and try's to respond to any concerns. You have a great facility with some managers who really seem to care but the message is not making it to several of your entry level staff. Get off the computer stop doing damage control and inspire people to take your tradition seriously.

Room Tip: Don't book online ( apparently)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Front Office Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We appreciate your constructive feedback and it is taken very seriously. We apologize that our intermediate rooms were not conducive to your family needs. The Winter Festival of Lights is our busiest season and our larger rooms tend to book up the fastest. We also apologize for the breakdown in service as we work hard to maintain exceptional customer service in all areas during this busy season. We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed the light show and the Farmhouse Sweets and Treats Shoppe, and we hope you will visit us again and notice our improvements as we take great pride in our traditions including first-class customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.