We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Save
You added Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Birdie Golf Package
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Parma Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Easy Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took an impromptu 3 day get away from Cleveland to Wheeling. Its an easy drive south on I-77 from Cleveland, just over 2 and 1/2 hours. Traffic light and scenery pretty.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were given our room and soon discovered it was a very long walk from parking. My husband has health problems so I went back to registration and we were given a different room slightly closer to parking. The room, even with the upgrade to intermediate was adequate. No refrigerator, no guide to television channels and the air conditioner sounded like a small jet on take off. The bath tub showed some mildew and dirt seemed ground into the safety treads on the bottom of the bath.

The staff is exceptional and cordial. Food at the restaurants was good, nice try on the vegan choices, but not stellar.

The best thing about the resort is the variety of things to do; a small zoo, museums, both indoor and out door pools. The scenery is breath taking, fresh and bright and green!!!

Don't hesitate to make your needs known when you make a reservation, it will eliminate little glitches to an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Staff is super helpful, call to make your reservation, it can eliminate little aggravations. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we hope you will plan another getaway with us! We offer several different room categories in various price ranges so please discuss your needs and budget with one of our reservation specialists so we can find the right room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    168
    72
    44
    31
See reviews for
210
152
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The rooms are quite tiny but comfortable, but the setting and activities make Oglebay a winner. Our small family group of six encountered family after family enjoying the Good Zoo, the mini golf course, the playground, the paddle boats at the lake, and swimming and splashing in the delightful indoor pool. The chocolate fountain at the buffet dinner was icing on the cake for the little ones.; for us grandparents, the glass museum was a treat after the younger family members had left. Some of us are vegetarians or vegans; we found limited dining options, not even soy milk at the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were very pleased with our stay We ended up with one of the premium rooms because the regular rooms were sold out. And it was worth the extra money. Advice for other travelers: Opt for the upgrade and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visited Oglebay and stayed at Wilson Lodge for a family reunion. This is a wonderful place to visit for a family with children of all ages. Our group had children ranging in age from four to eighteen years old, and everyone had something to keep them busy. I recommend purchasing one of the hotel packages that includes breakfast and the park activities.

Over-all the lodge is great. The architecture was beautiful, and the grounds are nicely cared for. The rooms are what you would expect in a lodge, but have the modern amenities you would find in most hotels; even a small refrigerator. The indoor pool was nice and there were activities like crafts for the children, afternoon tea, and even a movie night outside.

Our group played two of the championship golf courses, and the par 3 course. The courses were in great shape and challenging. As a lodge guest you receive a discount on the greens fees and the par 3 was included as part of the family package.

Unfortunately there were a few things that were a little disappointing. The room appeared very clean at first, but unfortunately I was looking for one of my sons toys under the bed, and it was painfully obvious that the housekeeping staff is not taking time to vacuum the area between the edge of the bed and the box frame, and there was mold growing on the shower curtain. These seems like simple items that should not be overlooked, especially in this price range.

The other disappointment was the food. With the exception of breakfast, which was great, the rest of the food was not very good. I expected the restaurants to be a little overpriced, like any hotel, but the quality was not very good considering the price. There was also a new bartender who was clueless on how to make the daily drink special, which is understandable, but he did not take the initiative to find out how.

Other than these few exceptions, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Wilson Lodge to a friend and hope to return someday in the future.

Room Tip: Purchase a package that includes breakfast and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to post your comments, both good and bad, as your comments tell us what we are doing right and what areas need improvement. Please be assured that our Housekeeping staff is held to the highest industry standards and the cleanliness of all guest rooms is a priority, and we apologize that we fell short. We hope you plan another getaway with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Oglebay needs to hang the Help Wanted sign out. The grounds are beautiful and the cabins very acommodating, but just about any interaction with staff disappoints.

Our family booked three cabins and two hotel rooms recently. My daughter and I checked into a hotel room with her small baby. We were told that we had to lug all of the stuff up two different elevators and down a couple of halls to get to our room. We were tols there were no bellman. Later we find out there were people who could have helped us-why did the front desk not know that?

Our room was tiny and stale smelling, and the bathroom walls had visible mold. We had a nice balcony but the windows did not open, and there was not screen on the balcony door. We had to run the less the adequate air conditioning unit even though it was quite pleasant outside.

Restaurant service was slow and spotty. Dirty dishes were left in stacks on the breakfast buffet set ups-very unappetizing. I had iced tea with a bug in it. When I sent it back the server seemed surprised that this was objectionable.

Some of the waitstaff were very sweet but they had no clue. Important breakfast skills include prompt coffee refills-I think these folks were just not trained.

One night gathering in a lounge in the Wilson Lodge we found that room service dishes and covers had been shoved under a couch. Who knows how long they had been there?

C'mon Oglebay you deserve better trained staff than this!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are noisy-try to get in a less trafficked area. Stay away from the ice room-peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
So sorry to hear about your disappointing visit to Oglebay and we have discussed your comments with our staff. It is always our goal to provide legendary customer service and create a memorable experience for each and every guest and we apologize that we fell short. We agree that training is important and continue to improve our training methods. It is our sincere hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took advantage of the Family get away package and it was our first time here. I was displeased when we arrived and we were not given any information about what was included in our package until we went back down to the lobby to see if our second room was ready and I had to ask about it. Today was our first full day at Oglebay and it started off very poorly. Oglebay advertises for family reunions but it seems like they can not even accommodate a family of 5 adults and 3 children. It was very disappointing when we all went to breakfast at 8:30 and did not get seated until around 10. Reason is because we had a family of 8 and the hostess crossed our name off the list by mistake and never took responsibility for the mistake no matter how many times we went up to explain that something was wrong. We ended up having to sit at separate tables, but thank you to our waitress who cleaned of a table next to us, that she did have to do, and let the other part of our party sit at that table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I came to stay here for a short getaway. The rooms were clean and decent and we were able to get two rooms that attached which was a plus. However, the beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. I suggest you bring your own pillow! What we were extremely disappointed with were the on site restaurants. We went for dinner the first night and were told we had a forty-five minute wait, that was fine except for the restaurant was EMPTY! Getting our dinner and check seemed to take forever yet there were multiple wait staff just hanging out. We even heard the manager criticize the hostess right in front of us. It was very unprofessional. Things went from bad to worse at breakfast the next day. We put our name in for a table and the hostess called a few families in front of us, when we inquired about it, we found out she crossed off our name from the list. The hostess promised to put our name back on the list and we would be next, yet once again she seated multiple families with the same size party who had only been waiting a few minutes. Once we were finally seated we discovered the restaurant was not even close to being full. We also requested a refrigerator for our room. They were quick to send one up but it was dirty on the inside. Overall, I have not been impressed and I still have another night to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Food & Beverage Director at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are terribly sorry that you were less than satisfied with your dining experiences while staying with us. We work hard to minimize the waiting period for our busy restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments as they enable us to better understand our guests expectations and help to improve our seating process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Route 88 North, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.