We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel, location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Wheeling

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Wheeling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wheeling
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel, location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This Hampton Inn is better than most. The hotel is in a great location and the staff is the best. They have a nice outdoor seating area with a fire display and plenty of parking. Best choice when in Wheeling.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for that fantastic review! It is great to hear from a Tripadvisor Top Contributor. I'm so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations!
I get really excited when I read that an experienced traveler like yourself called our staff: "the best", That is high praise indeed! We have a great team and we are very proud of the service level that they provide guests like yourself.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will stay with us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    54
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
148
107
22
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

As all Hampton Inns (Hilton owned) are, this one is particularly friendly, accommodating, and very clean. Hamptons are all we use if available, even if we might need to drive a few more miles. Plus with Hilton Rewards, we get some awesome deals.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for that great review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings with us. Feedback is essential in our business. I'm so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Thanks also for your very kind comments about the Hampton chain in general. I'm a big fan of the Hampton chain, but having worked for them for 23 years, I'm not exactly impartial. It is exciting to be the #1 ranked Hampton Inn in the world. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the level of service we provided.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will continue to be loyal Hampton Inn guests and that you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Could not have been happier with my stay at Hampton! Great value, super clean too! I worked out at the fitness center every day I was there. The free coffee was great and always full. The rooms large, had internet, fridge and micro wave. Both came in handy for eating my dinner left overs, this is a welcome trip cost cutter!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for that great review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations!
Thanks also for mentioning the value our hotel offers. We offer more unique amenities than any Hampton Inn that I am aware of, but more importantly we strive to offer a higher level of service, I'm pleased that you felt we did so.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will stay with us again soon, and often. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in wheeling, W. VA. It was very convenient to many sights as well as easy to locate from 70E. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. The manager's dinner was great and lots of the staff were around checking in with guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for that very nice review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Location, location, location! It's the #1 factor when choosing a hotel to stay at, but usually not mentioned in reviews. Thanks for mentioning our location, which I believe is the best in Wheeling. Not only are we just 1/4 mile from !-70, but within walking distance to several restaurants and close to all area attractions.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us again soon, and often! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans City, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel does far more to make for a pleasent stay than most resort hotels. Very clean, great staff and the ammentities are wonderful for the frequent traveler. Pool/water zone is amazing. Fitness equipment is in good condition. Monday night is a special treat for guests. Food was great. They handled a capacity crowd (I was in town for a business conference) without a hitch. Close to Wheeling attractions and Pittsburgh. Great place for business or mini vacation.

Room Tip: Stay on a Monday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks for that wonderful review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It was really great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, that is our #1 goal!
I also would like to thank you for mentioning our Manager's Reception. As you mentioned in your review, we cook a full meal for our guests every Monday night. I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy it!
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit again soon (maybe even on a Monday!) Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a very clean hotel and the roomaccommodations were out of this world. Every one of the staff was friendly. Loved the stay. The rooms were good size and bathroom was very big. Name brand soap, shampoo and conditioner, lotion the whole 9 yards which was very impressive. Provided things for technology support. Very impressed with the over all stay. Would def go back and stay here. Only negative is the parking. The parking lot was kind of far away and on a hill. This would definately not keep me from going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for that wonderful review! I'm so glad that you felt it was an "excellent stay"! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks also for calling our accomodations "out of this world"! I don't hear that one too often. I was also pleased that you enjoyed our new bath amenities. They really are a step up in quality from what we used to have. Thanks for noticing!
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Friendly, welcoming staff throughout the hotel - desk, breakfast, security, maintenance, housekeeping. Very comfortable room. Aquatic center a special treat - rain shower, hot tub, pool, sauna. Very complete breakfast service. We missed the regular Monday evening complimentary cookout dinner. We are repeat visitors over a 5 year period.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
First of all, thanks for being a repeat guest, over a number of years. We really appreciate your loyalty, not only to the Hampton brand, but to our location specifically. Thanks also for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything!
It was especially nice for you to refer to our team as friendly and welcoming, and our pool as a special treat! I will certainly share your comments with our staff at our next team gathering.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will return to visit us again very soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wheeling

Address: 795 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Wheeling 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Wheeling is a one of a kind property, consistently rated as one of the top Hampton Inn's in the Country. Our hotel features: A beautiful outdoor teak garden with a fire pit, lush greenery and fountain. An indoor - outdoor Aquatic Center featuring an indoor pool with interactive features, steam showers, two hot tub spas and a splash deck with a tipping bucket tree. There is also a 600 square foot fitness center, our "On the House" hot breakfast bar that includes hot items and waffles daily, free high speed wireless internet and 102 newly renovated guestrooms featuring "Cloud 9" bedding and microfridges! All of this within two miles of both Oglebay Park and the Wheeling Island Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.