We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place just got Better!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Wheeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Wheeling to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Wheeling
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points Package
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Wexford,Pa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place just got Better!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This Hampton Inn is in a great location to stay when visiting Oglebay Park Festival of Lights and/or enjoy time at the Casino / Race track @ Wheeling; Both just a few mile away.. I have stayed here a few other times, but was impressed with their new indoor Pool area. Nice pool, Steam rooms indoor and outdoor Hot tubs.
This Hampton is very well maintained and mangaged. As I was leaving, they were cleaning the outside of the windows with a Boom truck ( in December).. Amazing...
Always someone around with a smile and looking to give assistance if needed.. I will visit again!!!

Room Tip: Book this place in advance - it fills up often..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    68
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
223
155
25
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madeira, Ohio
Level Contributor
244 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We recently visited this property for a one night getaway to meet some family half way. This recently renovated property was a delightful surprise! The lobby was very warm and inviting and included a cozy fireplace area and a beautiful fish tank that kept amazing my kids. There is hot apple cider and freshly baked cookies to welcome you in the afternoon. The breakfast buffet was the best I have seen at the Hampton Inn in a long time and the attendants stayed on top of keeping everything well stocked on a busy Sunday morning. We spent hours in the aquatic center, it is beautifully designed and very family friendly. Indoor & outdoor hot tubs were a pleasant surprise and enjoyed by all of us! We can’t wait to return in the summer so the kids can play in the outside water area and we can enjoy the nice fire pit area. The rooms were updated and very comfortable and each employee that we met went out of their way to help us and make sure we enjoyed our stay.
Just one word of caution if you go during the holiday season, make sure you have a GPS or ask the hotel staff for some alternate routes because the traffic back up from the Oglebay light display can be horrendous on a Saturday night. Outside of that this was a perfect stay – thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just visited this hotel with my family for a night. We were so impressed. The hotel has been completely renovated. Amazing pool. Indoor and outdoor hot tub too! The pool has fun water features. The kids and adults loved it.
Outside, they even have a fire pit at night. Very nice on a cool December night.
The lobby has a fireplace. They have nice extras like snacks and boardgames. There's also a gorgeous salt water fish tank with a book explaining each fish in the tank.
The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable. Super clean too. We had a king sized bed and a pull out sofa for our son. Even with the hotel sold out, it was nice and quiet.
We were impressed by the staff. Lots of friendly faces making sure that everyone is comfortable and enjoying their stay. And of course, the included breakfast is always good.
Wheeling is a convenient location for us to meet up with relatives. Oglebay resort apparently has an amazing light display for Christmas. We didn't go as the traffic was unbelievable. We heard that people spent 2 hours in traffic just to see the lights.
Plenty of restaurants in the area. Cabelas is fun to visit as well. The shopping plaza was very crowded with holiday shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My Wife and I spent oct. 20th in the Hampton Inn Wheeling .This Inn was fantastic,the help was friendly,efficient,and very effective.The room was very clean,accesessable,and very relaxing.The breakfast area clean ,well stocked and the best meal we have ever had at Hampton.I have been a Hiltons Honors gold card member for years #392259577 and have stayed in raleigh,nc . greensburg ,pa. and others in missouri and Pa. This staff and its owner and operator Robert R.Hitchman are to be congratulated on a job well done.Jennifer Tiano was very pleasant and helpful.The eating area associate does an outstanding job also.In summary we were very happy we decided to stay over nignt and we will be BACK!!!!!!!!.
Thank You
Frederick Westcoat #392259577

Room Tip: 2nd. Floor Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

For the prices, few complaints can be had about this recently renovated property. The highlight of that renovation has to be the jaw dropping indoor/outdoor aquatic center. I've seen less fancy pools in Vegas! The pool itself is outfitted with a number of waterfall, bubble, fountain features. The center is complete with mens and ladies steam showers, indoor and outdoor hot tubs and a number of accessible features. The location is very convenient as well.
My only gripe is the ventilation regularily introduced cigarette smoke to our non-smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The staff at the Hampton was very helpful and friendly. The garden area was relaxing especially with the gas fire pit lit up. Parking was a little tight. They could use a few more parking spaces. The room we were in was very clean. The aquatic center wasn't open yet when we went, but it looks like it is going to be really nice. Breakfast was yummy! When we go back we are going to stay in the same room. I would recommend this hotel/room for anyone who wants a relaxing night away!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
238 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

this is a very nice place in a depressed area, so that being said - certain things come with the territory (i.e security guard in parking lot) - also that you're getting into the south, it starts becoming tobacco city --- i.e. this was our first hotel at the end of a 3 week road trip that there was no penalty for smoking in a non-smoking room, thus our non-smoking room smelled of smoking (or more the spray used to cover up the smell) - we wanted to enjoy the outside fire pit (but everyone around it was smoking) --- the hotel is nice once you get past this -- a little better breakfast than most chains -- looks like the aquatic center is coming along.....

our tip for dining - get away from the chains and try "later alligator" downtown by centre market -- a bit of brightness in a drab place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
1.5 mi away
The McLure Hotel
The McLure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Wheeling
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
#1 of 12 in Saint Clairsville
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wheeling

Address: 795 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#1 Business Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Wheeling is a one of a kind property, consistently rated as one of the top Hampton Inn's in the Country. Our hotel features: A beautiful outdoor teak garden with a fire pit, lush greenery and fountain. An indoor - outdoor Aquatic Center featuring an indoor pool with interactive features, steam showers, two hot tub spas and a splash deck with a tipping bucket tree. There is also a 600 square foot fitness center, our "On the House" hot breakfast bar that includes hot items and waffles daily, free high speed wireless internet and 102 newly renovated guestrooms featuring "Cloud 9" bedding and microfridges! All of this within two miles of both Oglebay Park and the Wheeling Island Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.