We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay here if you have to” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Wheeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Wheeling to your Saves list
Knights Inn Wheeling
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   949 Main Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Only stay here if you have to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were late into town and got the last room, probably the worst room. Smoking. Poor linen, poor towels. Breakfast was coffee and juice and pretzels. However. the owner was very helpful, and said that one day he would renovate it to its former glory!

Wheeling is a poor shadow of a once grand town, So reminiscent of much of rural America. Industry left, and nothing else to do for work. The new shale oil miners come in from out of town. Locals not qualified and are not employed. So sad.

Room Tip: I dont think that there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    5
    23
See reviews for
5
6
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had to stay here after everything else in Wheeling and Moundsville was booked. Nasty rooms and unsafe areas. Bathroom was a nightmare. It had stains on the floor that could be easily cleaned with bleach. Also found a dirty shirt laying in the bathroom floor. It's like house keeping totally skipped my room. Housekeeping should be fired. You would be better off driving to the next city.

I do have to say that the lady @ the desk was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is horrible! We were refered to this hell hole after all other hotels were booked. we thought paying 80 dollars a night..it would be at least halfway decent...WRONG!!!! It was the dirtiest nastiest. most unsanitary place i have ever been to! The room smelled the floors and carpeting were filthy! The halls and stairwells were utterly disgusting. The elevator was just as bad...we wouldnt even attempt to ride it. the lamps...the electrical outlets...all unsafe and definately a fire hazard. the place should be CONDEMNED! not to mention the customer service was horrific. the hotel staff (all two of them i seen) were rude and unpleasant! I would not reccommend this place to even my worst enemy! Just horrible!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorfville, Alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is quite possible the most filthy, horrible, third world flop house dump of a hotel in America. This place is horrific. I wouldn't be surprised to find a dead body under the bed. I would literally sleep in my car rather than stay in this hell hole. This place is awful in every way. STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

the worst place I stay during my trip from West cost to Est cost. The elevator was a trash can. The 3rd floor hallway was terrible (see the picture). The room was ok for me because I had no other choice but my wife would prefer sleep in the car. Terrible place but very nice people at front desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Looks like pictures I've seen from cities that were bombed.
Beer bottles and cigarettes all over the hallway.
AND there were not sheets on one of our beds.
Plus, it was not cheap!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Two words to begin with: Bed Bugs!
This place doesn't even deserve the one star rating. At first, from the front entrance to the elevator things seem to be ok (if you do not notice all the trash and junk cluttered behind the glass of the first floor space). While in the elevator, we had to stop on the second floor for another person who rode with us to exit the elevator. First thing that jumped to my attention there was the filthiest floor carpet i've ever seen anywhere... I thought it might get better on our 4th floor. When the elevator got there, it made such a jump and wobble that i really got worried about it going down. The carpets outside the elevator on that floor did not prove to be any better than on the second.
Once i made the way to the room (it's a motel type of setting with room access from the shared balcony) the stuffy, slightly smelly and allegedly non-smoking room was a bit dirty and disappointing. Dead carcasses of different bugs that someone had killed before were still clinging to the ceilings and the walls. There was electrical outlet uner the table that looked to be make-shift and absolutely unsafe (with the hole in the floor visible and the wires coming out of the electrical box). Oh, and the iron in our room was missing the plug (as in only wires sticking out of it).
Once i took the bed spread off the bed i noticed yellowish stains on the bed sheets. After separating the sheets to check out the one on the bottom - i spotted tiny crawler... - It was a bed bug! After demolishing the bug between the key-cards, i gathered up my bag and went downstairs to take all my stuff to the car (not interested in bringing any bugs home with me) and to complain to the clerk downstairs.
The Lady at the front desk seemed to get really concerned with what she was told and offered to check on the issue and at the very least to get new sheets (like that would solve the problem). After she called the maid (to no avail) she decided to look for clean linens herself and came up empty handed, but saying she'll take care of the problem.
I had to leave to meet my friends elsewhere and stayed out quite late. When i came back (tried braving the elevator for the last time - all other times after that i used the stairs) i noticed that the bed was freshly made, but after peeling back the bed-spread noticed the familiar yellow stains i noticed earlier in the same spots. Needless to say i did not end up even sleeping here and went to spend the rest fo the night at the casino with friends.
Oh, yeah - and if you do decide to check the place out for yourselves - notice the trailer parked semi-permanently in the parking lot with the "TOXIC" HazMat placards on it. - Not even kidding. And notice all the trash you can see from the balcony on the roof of whatever it is on the first floor of the building.
Bottom line - it was the WORST hotel/motel experience ever - even when compared to a Russian college dorm. Enter at your own risk and even then - try not to take the elevator.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here!!! Owners should be arrested for the conditions they keep this place in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Wheeling

Address: 949 Main Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Wheeling 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheeling Inn Hotel is a 5-story riverfront motor lodge hotel with exterior corridors. We offer outstanding amenities. The hotel is located nestled alongside the Wheeling Suspension Bridge, offering amazing night time views of the bridge and the Ohio River. The hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Wheeling just a short 8/10th of a mile to Wheeling Island Casino and racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Knights Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Best Western Wheeling
Wheeling Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.