We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid. Enter at your own risk!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Wheeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Wheeling to your Saves list
Knights Inn Wheeling
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   949 Main Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrid. Enter at your own risk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Two words to begin with: Bed Bugs!
This place doesn't even deserve the one star rating. At first, from the front entrance to the elevator things seem to be ok (if you do not notice all the trash and junk cluttered behind the glass of the first floor space). While in the elevator, we had to stop on the second floor for another person who rode with us to exit the elevator. First thing that jumped to my attention there was the filthiest floor carpet i've ever seen anywhere... I thought it might get better on our 4th floor. When the elevator got there, it made such a jump and wobble that i really got worried about it going down. The carpets outside the elevator on that floor did not prove to be any better than on the second.
Once i made the way to the room (it's a motel type of setting with room access from the shared balcony) the stuffy, slightly smelly and allegedly non-smoking room was a bit dirty and disappointing. Dead carcasses of different bugs that someone had killed before were still clinging to the ceilings and the walls. There was electrical outlet uner the table that looked to be make-shift and absolutely unsafe (with the hole in the floor visible and the wires coming out of the electrical box). Oh, and the iron in our room was missing the plug (as in only wires sticking out of it).
Once i took the bed spread off the bed i noticed yellowish stains on the bed sheets. After separating the sheets to check out the one on the bottom - i spotted tiny crawler... - It was a bed bug! After demolishing the bug between the key-cards, i gathered up my bag and went downstairs to take all my stuff to the car (not interested in bringing any bugs home with me) and to complain to the clerk downstairs.
The Lady at the front desk seemed to get really concerned with what she was told and offered to check on the issue and at the very least to get new sheets (like that would solve the problem). After she called the maid (to no avail) she decided to look for clean linens herself and came up empty handed, but saying she'll take care of the problem.
I had to leave to meet my friends elsewhere and stayed out quite late. When i came back (tried braving the elevator for the last time - all other times after that i used the stairs) i noticed that the bed was freshly made, but after peeling back the bed-spread noticed the familiar yellow stains i noticed earlier in the same spots. Needless to say i did not end up even sleeping here and went to spend the rest fo the night at the casino with friends.
Oh, yeah - and if you do decide to check the place out for yourselves - notice the trailer parked semi-permanently in the parking lot with the "TOXIC" HazMat placards on it. - Not even kidding. And notice all the trash you can see from the balcony on the roof of whatever it is on the first floor of the building.
Bottom line - it was the WORST hotel/motel experience ever - even when compared to a Russian college dorm. Enter at your own risk and even then - try not to take the elevator.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here!!! Owners should be arrested for the conditions they keep this place in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    5
    21
See reviews for
5
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is so GROSS!!!! words can not even explain it. the room is dirty, bathrooms have not been cleaned ever i think. The rooms smelled horrible. We came in to town for one night and there was some event going on and all the other hotels were booked so we ended up here. The elevator was broke. It had a sign that said "only 2 ppl int he elevatir at the time if more people ho in it will break, you will be stuck. mangement is not resp!" I mean really?!?!?!?!?! We went to the casino and came back to the room around 1 am. Our smoke detector was going off. We called the front desk and they said some would be up. After 6 phone calls no one came up and my husband went to the front desk and we had to move to a diffrent room a 3 am!!!! REALLY!??!!??! The next room was just as bad. the bed spread was dirty and had born holes and stains all over it. We didnt even shower in either one of the bathrooms because the tub was scary. There def. were some questionable ppl around the area. So we didn't sleep well. We were up and out of the room at 7 am. We paid 100 dollars. I would have slept better in my car and not wasted 100 dollars. This palce isnt worth 10 dollars. Beware this hotel is the WORST place ever. Dont stay here!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We paid a litle over $100 for one night, for three adults. There was a big event in the area, so rooms were scarce and we decided to take a chance. Big mistake! The room was FILTHY- we didn't take showers because it was so bad, and didn't walk around barefoot because the carpet was sticky in some spots. And, there was a crack in the ceiling over one of the beds that leaked.

The "continental breakfast" consisted of a family size box of Frosted Flakes, a gallon of milk sitting out with no ice or refrigeration, and plastic bowls. When we complained about the lack of cleanliness, the desk clerk told us they don't usually rent out those rooms!

Horrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco, IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

If you are looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it but if you want a clean non chain hotel close to plenty of history this is your place. Our family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms on the third floor and were quite happy with our stay. The outside of the building needs paint but our rooms were freshly painted and very clean and quiet. I didn't care for the flat sheet used as the fitted sheet (maybe I'm a violent sleeper but I just get tangled up) but the tv remote worked (an oddity for a hotel room) and there was plenty of hot water and great water pressure in the bathroom. The staff was also exceedingly helpful. The hotel is right on the edge of the beginning of National Road and the Victorian section of Wheeling. The view of the bridge at night is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotham City, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed here for 4th of July 2010 weekend to visit an old friend who now lives here. Hes actually probably one of the "undesirables" one of the other reviewers referred to.

Negatives: Its crummy and alittle dirty but not as bad as the other reviewers say, and to them I say, you just aren't hanging around enough crummy hotels lady. Stayed in WAY worse places than this. Not a place for kids + women but I wouldn't say they'd leave this place mentally scarred. The manager, Amed (i think) is sufficiently competent. His assistant, "Dick Clark" (he swears thats his real name) is umm, well lets just say hes a nice guy and trys. Its an average motel thats kind of been let go a bit. The biggest negative is that its overpriced.

Positives: Great location in the heart of downtown Wheeling, free parking, wifi, quiet, good views, color TV, perfect for single guys, traveling salesmen, construction workers, perverts, and escaped mental patients. Decent security so you probably won't get raped here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Please note that I have NEVER rated a hotel "terrible" on TripAdvisor - so I really mean it.

I did not choose this hotel. I read the poor reviews prior to staying here and hoped they were over-exaggerating about how bad it would be. It's safe to say the reviews were accurate - the Wheeling Inn was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The Inn is located in downtown Wheeling, which looks as if it were once a thriving small city. There's not much going on anymore - I walked around looking for a place to grab dessert at around 10:00pm on a Friday evening and save one bar there was nothing open. Many of the buildings were boarded up and there were "undesirables" wandering the streets.

The room at the hotel was absolutely filthy, from the drapes to the carpet to the bathroom. Luckily, I was prepared and brought my own sheets. Half of the lights in the room did not work, making the vibe even more creepy. There was also a strange, musty smell. My partner was concerned about the safety of the area (and please note that we live in a major city and are not overly cautious), so we did not sleep well.

I must say, despite all of the problems we had at the Wheeling Inn, the staff was very kind and friendly. The Inn does have a wonderful view of the bridge and could certainly have potential with a major renovation. I hope someone puts money into rehabilitating this hotel. It deserves it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

If you are looking for a four star hotel maybe you should move on. If you'd like a decent
place with potential and friendly staff, this is it. I was on a bit of a ghost hunting tour. The
staff was very helpful. I had a corner room which looked out over the river and had a great
view of the supspension bridge built in 1848. (yes, 1848) It is still traveled on. The
restuarant is currently closed but there is constuction going on. Yes, the place needs it.
It's clean and quiet though. Please try the restuarant across the street. Nothing fancy, but
the food was great. There aren't a lot of nice friendly places like this left. Please enjoy...
Yes, you can catch a cab to the Casino here for around 3 bucks. The town looks like it has come on hard times but there is a LOT of history here and it's very close to the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Wheeling

Address: 949 Main Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Wheeling 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheeling Inn Hotel is a 5-story riverfront motor lodge hotel with exterior corridors. We offer outstanding amenities. The hotel is located nestled alongside the Wheeling Suspension Bridge, offering amazing night time views of the bridge and the Ohio River. The hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Wheeling just a short 8/10th of a mile to Wheeling Island Casino and racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Best Western Wheeling
Wheeling Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.