We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip on the Broads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Boats

City Boats
Highcraft Marina | Griffin Lane, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0SL, England
44 (0) 1603 701701
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax Afloat A City Boat. We offer many ways to enjoy the Southern Norfolk Broads; why not be your own skipper for the day and hire one of our picnic boats? During the summer months our scheduled river trips operate every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (7 days per week during the school holidays) and relax whilst our skipper gives a live commentary. Refreshments available and cream teas can be ordered in advance, toilets also on-board. We offer private charter cruises for special events, eg. birthday celebrations, corporate events and wedding events. For those of you wishing to spend a relaxing few days or a week on the Broads we offer classic Broads cruisers.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Trip on the Broads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We hired a boat from here for the weekend-- we thought it was a good deal £125 for 2 nights..some really lovely places to stop along the Broads and have a bite to eat and a drink ..all in all a wonderful lazy 2 days break.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great trip on the river to the broads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The crew were very friendly and welcoming. Richard's commentary was interesting and just the right balance of history and nature with information about birds as we saw them including greater crested grebes and kingfishers. Cup of tea and a cake for £2 was delivered to our seats and the time flew past.
Back at our B&B seasoned Norwich visitors didn't know this was available and we only found it by chance so maybe more info to hotels and B&Bs would boost business. The boat is enclosed but visibility was good for most things.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very tourist type of thing lots of OAP's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

not realy recomended but if you want to see a little of the Broads its ok.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Halloween tour....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Telephoned in advance to join Halloween tour and really looking forward to it. Arrived at base to find no-one in attendance. Realised then that tours must set off from Riverside Road instead of Thorpe St.Andrew. Shame they didn't tell me that on the 'phone! Too late to be able to get from Thorpe to Riverside.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Had a great day on one of the electric day boats.
Staff were helpful & friendly, especially the bloke who showed us to our boat.
Went all the way into the fine city, & back.
Would definitely visit again.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Boats also viewed

 

Been to City Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Boats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.