We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum

Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum
71 Asylum Drive, Weston, WV 26452
304-269-5070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 attractions in Weston
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: More European castle than American hospital, this former insane asylum offers customized tours. e.g. Museum Tour, Civil War Tours, Asylum Treatments and History and the Paranormal. This Gothic National Historic Landmark holds 130 years of American history’s dark side.
1st Floor (45 min) - $10.00Learn about the pioneers of humane treatment for the mentally ill while visiting the first two wards for the patients and see the Civil War Section of the hospital. Hear about the gold robbery that helped West Virginia become a state and how being a border state affected the area.$10.00All 4 Floors plus the first floor of the Medical Center (90 min) - $30.00This tour includes all of the first floor tour experience plus, step back in time to the 1935 fire that destroyed four wards of the Asylum. Visit the doctors' apartments, nurses’ quarters; Ward F where the most deviant of patients were kept, and explore the first floor of the Medical Center. Learn the history of medical treatments performed in asylums as well as how this facility helped the local community through two wars and the depression.$30.00The Civil War Tour (75 min) - $25.00Celebrate the West Virginia Civil War Sesquicentennial at the Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum. Step back in time on this walking tour of the Asylum and the grounds. The historic community holds fascinating stories of Civil War raids, gold robberies, and remarkable citizens. Trace the footsteps of men who went on to lead our country as presidents. Identified on the Civil War Trails map as a vital location during the conflict, this is an excellent stop on a state wide Civil War excursion. Tour Availability is subject to weather conditions.The Cemetery and Farm Tour (70 min) - $25.00Enjoy an open air wagon ride while learning about therapeutic labor, the process of purchasing and developing TALA's land, the Farm, coal mine, struggles to obtain water, and more. Also explored is the history of the three cemeteries of patients located along the tour route. Tour Availability is subject to weather conditions.Combination Tours:Cemetery and Farm Tour Combo – (3 hours) - $50This tour includes the Four Floor Tour and the Cemetery and Farm TourTour Availability is subject to weather conditions. Civil War Tour Combo – (3 hours) - $50This tour includes the Four Floor Tour and the Civil War Tour. Tour Availability is subject to weather conditions. Paranormal Tour Combo – (3 hours) - $55This tour includes the 90 minute daytime Paranormal Tours (Sat. 1, 4, and 6pm and Sun. 1 and 4pm) and either the Civil War Tour or the Cemetery and Farm Tour. Tour Availability is subject to weather conditions Daytime Paranormal Tours (1.5 hours) - $35This is the daylight version of our paranormal tour given only on Saturdays at 1:00 pm, 4:00 pm, and 6:00 pm and Sundays at 1:00 pm and 4:00 pm. This is a guided tour of the hottest spots in this 242,000 sq. foot Asylum. Tickets for these tours can only be purchased in person and are first come first served. Photography Tours - (4 to 8 hours) - $100/$150Check out the campus on a semi-guided photo tour with access to most of the buildings on campus.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Touring the Lunatic Asylum was a hi-light of a trip to Weston. We had discussed touring the Asylum for years and finally had the oppurtunity. The Asylum pre-dates the Civil War, the stone workmanship is incredible. Very interested in takeing a ghost tour or attending the haunted house in October.
The tour guide could have provided more information and actual stories of what occurred in the asylum instead of relying so much on questions from the tourists.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVTOURlover, General Manager at Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit! We really appreciate your support of TALA. Maybe you can come back soon an experience the tour with another guide. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    51
    15
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Made a day trip and it was definitely worth it. My family is from Weston, and went back to find out my grandfather actually worked there. Great piece of history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing and Creepy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I came to Weston specifically to visit this facility. It did not disappoint. The tour was extensive and the guide was dressed as a nurse. They offered flashlight tours at night but it was creepy enough during the day. The history of the place is amazing and eye opening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVTOURlover, General Manager at Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your tour of our facility! We do try to be as factual on the tours as possible, and as we learn new information we update our tours. I will assure you that our paranormal tours are just as respectful to previous patients as the historic tours. Each year as we preserve and restore new sections of the facility and we hope you can visit again soon to see what coming up next!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“History done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Man, it's hard to see these sorts of things done well, historically, and sensitively, and the TALA really did it.

First, they saved an amazing building from abandonment. The others in this style are all disintegrating. They've chosen to restore it to its original condition with the color schemes it originally came in. While I am sure the ESP or Paranormal tours ARE a bit more exploitative, the regular tour showed nothing but respect for the patients. I would say they were a little too eager to point out how much the patients loved it--to the point where it was weird and defensive.

I took the 4 floor tour and was happy with it. I do like the large variety of tours available. They have one for photographers which gives people extra time in all the rooms. If this had been available on the day I was there I might have taken it, although they don't give you the regular tour. I wish we would have been able to take a look around the cemeteries with or without the tour. Basically I wanted MORE!

The 4 floor tour took you to a lot of places that still appeared abandoned. If you like urbex and want a legal place to do it, this is it.

I think it's really savvy that they have haunted houses and metal concerts here. What a great venue for these things in such a cool building. It also funds the restoration.

I did find all the ghost stuff pretty cheesy in the gift shop and was glad they didn't try to talk about that stuff in the normal tour.

The tour guides dressed as nurses was GREAT. The patient art section at the end is worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro, West Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quick Historical Tour--Lots to See!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very interesting structure if you're into architecture. This is the second-largest cut sandstone building in North America. Absolutely sprawling and just what you'd expect with lots of history, creepy stories and historical details that are better than fiction. Hundreds of lobotomies performed in a day--all with an ice pick! The tour guides (all women) are dressed in the nurses' uniforms of bygone eras--the day we were there it was the 1930s. Don't miss the permanent art collection, done by the unfortunate thousands who passed through the doors with such unfortunate conditions as 'disobedient to parents, gamblers, disobedient to husbands', etc. Children with what we now know to be ADD or ADHD were sent here and lived out their lives her-if you can call it a life once the lobotomy was performed . . . .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum also viewed

 

Been to Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum to your Saves list