We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of yBlac Talybont

yBlac Talybont
The Green, Talybont SY24 5ER, Wales
+44 1970 832555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Talybont
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great food here, best quality ingredients and the care the chef has for the food shows in what he sends out of the kitchen. Staff are lovely. This is not a fast food pub chain so if you want your food within 5 mins of ordering before getting impatient then probably not the place for you. Everything is fresh to order so there is sometimes a wait but it's always well worth it, and with a choice of well-kept ales and good wines available there are worse places to be than kicking back in the bar soaking up the laid back atmosphere chatting away to friends and family. Plenty of regulars through the door as well coming in for a drink and a chill out. Nice place to spend a long lunchtime or relaxing evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Set Lunch = Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on a whim, and weren't disappointed. Two courses for £9.95 or 3 for £13.95 was great value for money, and the food was excellent. The dining area is cosy and comfortable, and the bar has a range of local real ales to sample. We were particularly impressed with the prawn and spaghetti starter, and the 'waffle of the day' pudding, which came with banana, toffee sauce and honeycomb ice cream: delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked a table for 15 for a post-Christmas family lunch. We have visited on previous occasions for family get-togethers and have always appreciated the great food and welcome from the staff. We relaxed with drinks in the bar area by the open fire while our orders were taken. Later we moved to a large table in the attractive dining room. The service was very friendly and efficient and the quality and presentation of the main courses and deserts was excellent. A highlight was the raspberry and orange bread and butter pudding - fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Standards have slipped. Need a new chef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Disappointed. The portions have shrunk. The chef has lost his salt & pepper to season the food. The gravy was like water and the food was tasteless.

Not value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local pub doing lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A little intimidating as it's made up of small, though beautifully finished, rooms full of locals. We were given the option of opening a tab at the bar which proved very useful as we had a few pints of well poured and stored ale/cider (unlike some other pubs nearby who's ale was well below par). Food was lovely, if a bit rustic. Good for a quiet night out without high expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed yBlac Talybont also viewed

Been to yBlac Talybont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage yBlac Talybont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.