We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find in West Virginia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Acropolis

Cafe Acropolis
331 Mcmillion Dr, Summersville, WV 26651-1019
304-872-0254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A rare find in West Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Cafe Acropolis is a unique addition to the commonplace fare that dominates this part of West Virginia. The setting is quaint (though road noise may intrude) and the menu is broad enough to accommodate many interests and sensitivities.
Service: When we visited, the wait staff was not fully Greek-competent or confident with flaming dishes.
Price: Though Cafe Acropolis is certainly worth many visits, its price point is a bit above its food and service quality.
Hours and location: Also, be careful with your planning--the restaurant is closed Sundays and Mondays. Fortunately, car navigation devices can locate the site.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No longer a favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have often traveled the 20 plus from Fayetteville or Oak Hill to Cafe Acropolis in Summersville.
It used to be reasonable in price. On a visit in late July 2014, we found the food to be mediocre and the price to be far too high for the amount and quality of our dinner. The retsina was the best part of the meal!
Now we have to find other dining venues.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat! Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We LOVE to eat here. It is a special treat! The food is AMAZING and the service unbeatable. I HIGHLY recommend the Greek salad and the house dressing is delicious. It's a little pricy but well worth it. Also the owner and chef usually come to check on the customers! Go eat here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Strictly a fast food option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Traveling home from Buffalo, NY (the home of wonderful food) we tried the Acropolis as an option to the chain restaurants populating Summersville. Although the building was charming and our server very attentive the food was very overpriced. Twenty dollars for a small salad and 2 manicotti with some rice and lackluster sauce should be rated as a $$ meal in the listings. Disappointing when you are a good cook at home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, WV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently had dinner at the Cafe Acropolis and though we live nearby our budget doesn't allow us to eat there often. The atmosphere is very nice and the service is great. There is a lovely outdoor seating area with a grape arbor but there's not much of a view as the highway is just below. The noise from the highway does take away from the romance of the patio.
The food is very nice with a good variety on the menu. The greek salad was delicious!
The owner did come out to check on us and our dinner which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Acropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.