We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly a fast food option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Acropolis

Cafe Acropolis
331 Mcmillion Dr, Summersville, WV 26651-1019
304-872-0254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Erwin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Strictly a fast food option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Traveling home from Buffalo, NY (the home of wonderful food) we tried the Acropolis as an option to the chain restaurants populating Summersville. Although the building was charming and our server very attentive the food was very overpriced. Twenty dollars for a small salad and 2 manicotti with some rice and lackluster sauce should be rated as a $$ meal in the listings. Disappointing when you are a good cook at home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summersville, WV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently had dinner at the Cafe Acropolis and though we live nearby our budget doesn't allow us to eat there often. The atmosphere is very nice and the service is great. There is a lovely outdoor seating area with a grape arbor but there's not much of a view as the highway is just below. The noise from the highway does take away from the romance of the patio.
The food is very nice with a good variety on the menu. The greek salad was delicious!
The owner did come out to check on us and our dinner which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Definitely one of my favorite restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I travel quite a bit and have eaten at lots of nice restuarants and Cafe Acroplis is still one of our favorite restaurants. If you ask for more olives and feta for your salad they will gladly accommodate! The eggplant is the best you will ever eat, I love mine with their garlic and olive oil spaghetti. The dessets are huge, homemade and SO delicious!!! Also if you go on your birthday they give you a free dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is good but far overpriced, the service excellent, the decor somewhat ordinary. The outside seating area is a nice idea (though a bit tired), but the noise from the highway below make for a less-than-pleasant dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice, romantic and very good service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The lamb chop dinner was excellent - $29.95 for three chops with risotto and oven roasted potatoes plus a Greek salad. My wife and I split the dinner and it was more than enough for the two of us.
The bread was stale and nothing more than ordinary. The salad was nice but it came with just one kalamata olive which we thought was ridiculous. Why would you skimp on something like that? In addition to the dressing and the feta, the olives are what makes it Greek!!
We did feel a bit rushed when we were not even halfway through our salad when the entrée was served. The wine prices are on the expensive side for what are merely mediocre choices ($7.50 per glass and $31+ for a bottle).
The staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Acropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.