We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of my favorite restaurants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Acropolis

Cafe Acropolis
331 Mcmillion Dr, Summersville, WV 26651-1019
304-872-0254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
WV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely one of my favorite restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I travel quite a bit and have eaten at lots of nice restuarants and Cafe Acroplis is still one of our favorite restaurants. If you ask for more olives and feta for your salad they will gladly accommodate! The eggplant is the best you will ever eat, I love mine with their garlic and olive oil spaghetti. The dessets are huge, homemade and SO delicious!!! Also if you go on your birthday they give you a free dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is good but far overpriced, the service excellent, the decor somewhat ordinary. The outside seating area is a nice idea (though a bit tired), but the noise from the highway below make for a less-than-pleasant dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wemlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice, romantic and very good service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The lamb chop dinner was excellent - $29.95 for three chops with risotto and oven roasted potatoes plus a Greek salad. My wife and I split the dinner and it was more than enough for the two of us.
The bread was stale and nothing more than ordinary. The salad was nice but it came with just one kalamata olive which we thought was ridiculous. Why would you skimp on something like that? In addition to the dressing and the feta, the olives are what makes it Greek!!
We did feel a bit rushed when we were not even halfway through our salad when the entrée was served. The wine prices are on the expensive side for what are merely mediocre choices ($7.50 per glass and $31+ for a bottle).
The staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank urkidding24689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaraunt in town!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The food is a bit pricey, but the portions are big....well worth the price. Friendly atmosphere, great owners, and very tasty authentic Greek food. The owners are from overseas near Greece. The products are fresh and the desserts are homemade!!!!! Go in jeans or dress up for a date. In the summer eat outside under a lattice of grapes they use in their place.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but too pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food here is good and this is one of the few places you can get Greek food in the area. The menu is a mix of Greek and Italian. I would say it is overpriced for what you get. The salad is small and mostly iceburg lettuce, you get a few slices of bread with the meal, and the portions are average. It's a nice break from chain restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anglyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing