We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of my favorite restaurants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Acropolis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Acropolis
331 Mcmillion Dr, Summersville, WV 26651-1019
304-872-0254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
WV
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Definitely one of my favorite restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I travel quite a bit and have eaten at lots of nice restuarants and Cafe Acroplis is still one of our favorite restaurants. If you ask for more olives and feta for your salad they will gladly accommodate! The eggplant is the best you will ever eat, I love mine with their garlic and olive oil spaghetti. The dessets are huge, homemade and SO delicious!!! Also if you go on your birthday they give you a free dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summersville, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is good but far overpriced, the service excellent, the decor somewhat ordinary. The outside seating area is a nice idea (though a bit tired), but the noise from the highway below make for a less-than-pleasant dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice, romantic and very good service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The lamb chop dinner was excellent - $29.95 for three chops with risotto and oven roasted potatoes plus a Greek salad. My wife and I split the dinner and it was more than enough for the two of us.
The bread was stale and nothing more than ordinary. The salad was nice but it came with just one kalamata olive which we thought was ridiculous. Why would you skimp on something like that? In addition to the dressing and the feta, the olives are what makes it Greek!!
We did feel a bit rushed when we were not even halfway through our salad when the entrée was served. The wine prices are on the expensive side for what are merely mediocre choices ($7.50 per glass and $31+ for a bottle).
The staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Restaraunt in town!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food is a bit pricey, but the portions are big....well worth the price. Friendly atmosphere, great owners, and very tasty authentic Greek food. The owners are from overseas near Greece. The products are fresh and the desserts are homemade!!!!! Go in jeans or dress up for a date. In the summer eat outside under a lattice of grapes they use in their place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good but too pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food here is good and this is one of the few places you can get Greek food in the area. The menu is a mix of Greek and Italian. I would say it is overpriced for what you get. The salad is small and mostly iceburg lettuce, you get a few slices of bread with the meal, and the portions are average. It's a nice break from chain restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Acropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.