We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoney's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
US Route 19, Summersville, WV 26651
304-872-6785
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 24 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Most meals down the center of the menu include their food bar, so that's a plus. They take a very long time to prepare anything you order that is not at the food bar. The food at the food bar is ok..Not great. If you're looking to feed a family very cheaply and leave full, this is the place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Employees goofing off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This place to put it nicely was not very good. Food was not very good and to make things worse employees were goofing off. We had to wait five minutes to be seated because employees were goofing off. Also the resturant can not cook as I received the worse Baked spgettheti ever. This is just a place not to visit in Summersville go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok breakfast bar, slow service. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were camping at Mountain Lake Campground and decided to eat at this establishment on our way home. The breakfast bar was ok, however, some items were empty and none were refilled during our time there. Our waitress never brought silverware so I had to personally approach another waitress to hand me some. It was an ok visit. Would revisit establishment but will check the buffet next time before eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“CHANGE YOUR STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stop here every year on our way to and From visiting family in Ga. This year had to be the worst experience. We stopped for dinner on our way home. There were three managers sitting on their butt flirting with the high school age waitresses. The buffet was disgustingly filthy, food everywhere, everything was overcooked and dried out. NO salad or dressings, this placed just sucked. We sate two tables from the managers and all they did was sit there and complain about working there. On was flirting with a high school employee telling her he wanted here to bring in her saxophone so he could see here lips around it???? REALLY !!?? IF you want to experience a total waste of money and ruin your vacation, stop at this one for dinner. The food sucks, the managers are terrible, and the waitresses are uncaring kids. Thank you Shoneys we will now be stopping at a different halfway place at the half way point for food. It was so bad I would have been happier with a hamburger from McDonalds to go !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A dozen of us showed up unannounced and were seated together right away. The buffet had something for everyone from the toddler to the senior in our family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.