We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok breakfast bar, slow service. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoney's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
US Route 19, Summersville, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 24 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok breakfast bar, slow service. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were camping at Mountain Lake Campground and decided to eat at this establishment on our way home. The breakfast bar was ok, however, some items were empty and none were refilled during our time there. Our waitress never brought silverware so I had to personally approach another waitress to hand me some. It was an ok visit. Would revisit establishment but will check the buffet next time before eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“CHANGE YOUR STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stop here every year on our way to and From visiting family in Ga. This year had to be the worst experience. We stopped for dinner on our way home. There were three managers sitting on their butt flirting with the high school age waitresses. The buffet was disgustingly filthy, food everywhere, everything was overcooked and dried out. NO salad or dressings, this placed just sucked. We sate two tables from the managers and all they did was sit there and complain about working there. On was flirting with a high school employee telling her he wanted here to bring in her saxophone so he could see here lips around it???? REALLY !!?? IF you want to experience a total waste of money and ruin your vacation, stop at this one for dinner. The food sucks, the managers are terrible, and the waitresses are uncaring kids. Thank you Shoneys we will now be stopping at a different halfway place at the half way point for food. It was so bad I would have been happier with a hamburger from McDonalds to go !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We can't address the buffet, but the menu items we ordered here were--to put it politely--unpalatable and inedible. The staff--well, it was like the place was staffed by castoffs from The Addams Family. We won't go through these doors again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Poor in every way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have tried this place over the years because of proximity to hotel after a long day on the road. We always leave saying this is the last time but give them another chance on future travels simply because of location. This time we are done for good. Have never found a Shoneys that was anything but extreme mediocrity at best. This location has a long history with us of poor quality and service. We have walked out in the past when the salad bar ingredients looked like they were fished out of a dumpster. We have had instances of being treated like we were imposing upon the host/hostess by coming in to dine. We have had inattentive servers also. This last time there we entered an almost empty restaurant and stood waiting to get take out cartons for the salad bar. The shift manager asked the designated hostess to help us and she ignored her. The manager got us our cartons and we proceeded to salad bar. As usual the quality was not good but it was not literally garbage. We found the shredded cheddar to have a spot of mold on it. We politely pointed it out to the salad bar tender who was the same lazy one who walked away when asked to serve us. Instead of replacing the cheese she said in a very nasty rude tone to take it up with the manager. she removed the bad cheese and we noticed the ice in the buffet station was melted. No wonder the food was going bad. We were tired after a long trip and decided to risk getting sick just so we could eat and relax in our room. At the register the manager that appeared to be the only employee working asked if things were OK. We told her how rude the server was and at least she gave us our salads free, and luckily we did not get sick. After we got to our destination we called this restaurant to complain to a higher manager. We got the same manager on duty that evening and she said that nasty, lazy, rude employee was fired over this incident. In spite of a free meal and the well deserved firing of a poor employee we will never set foot in a Shoneys again. I do not know how this chain stays in business. This location is among the worst of a bad chain. This place rates poor in every way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the dinner buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I was coming here after a long day in West Virginia expecting a great dinner on the buffet but instead there was fried chicken and everything else Breakfast I was not impressed at all I eat breakfast for breakfast not for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 
Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.