We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Prepared At All” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoney's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
US Route 19, Summersville, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 24 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gloucester, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Prepared At All”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to Shoney's for the Father's Day buffet, and we were not impressed. They were very busy and understaffed. We paid around $16 per person for a subpar buffet that didn't have a very wide variety of food. The rolls were burned and tasteless, the mashed potatoes were dry, and the fried chicken was overly salty. They couldn't keep plates or food at the buffet, so we had to wait every time we wanted to go back to get refills. Not to mention, the two fathers in our group didn't even receive their free Father's Day cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

30% Recommend
    0
    4
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, Shoney's hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Shoney's has become a regular stop whenever we are traveling down US 19, and I've never been disappointed.

Once again, the staff was very friendly and welcoming, and made us feel very comfortable.

Food was very good, and a wonderful selection on the buffet.

Shoney's in one of two 'chains' that we will look for when traveling, and this one has become a favorite stopping point in West Virginia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmvale, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a good buffet!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was looking forward to a Shoney's buffet as I remembered them to be an excellent buffet. Well, I found out they are all not created equal. We were there at 6pm on a recent Sunday night. It was not very busy. People were just starting to enter for dinner. Salad ingredients were fine, however, gravy had heavy film on it from not being stirred, fried chicken was only slightly warm, meatloaf was cold and dried out, niblets corn had sat warmed so long that they were soggy, what my husband thought was chicken tenders turned out to be some kind of fish..ugh. There were no names to indicate what the food was. Very little to choose for dessert. I guess it wasn't all bad...at least the buns were good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nothing great...nothing not-so great. Typical Shoneys. The buffet area was a bit nasty looking as there were so many people 'grazing' around it (we do not eat buffet!)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We happened on this Shoney's while trekking from Western NY to VA. We have been to others in the country and knew that we would probably get a decent meal. We were looking for something quick and not too heavy. We found it! We also had a chance to look over the buffet bar. It was unbelievable. We wished that we had more time and were looking for more to eat. Everything on the buffet looked very appetizing and was at the proper temperature.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;