We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let The Name Fool You” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park

Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park
Rt. 2, Summersville, WV 26651
304-872-0825
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Battlefields, State Parks
Attraction Details
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't Let The Name Fool You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When one reads "Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park," he or she may think it's akin to Valley Forge in Pennsylvania. While there is historical significance it's really not like that. I went there just to check the place out. There are trails you can hike, well marked and maintained, that take you to overlooks of the Gauley River canyon. They also have facilities for softball, picnics, and other activities. The only refreshments available in the park come from a single vending machine near the rest rooms. The park's location less than two miles from the beach and campground at Summersville Lake makes it feasible to do both this and that in one day trip. If you budget your time wisely, you could even get down to the New River Gorge Bridge the same day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful area, nice picnic and restrooms. Very nice (new) overlook as well, with ample seating. Historical value,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good views of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a couple trails that had great views of the river. It's one of those places that I hope to visit in the fall with the changing of the leaves.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love Carnifex!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I remember visiting Carnifex with my family as a child, so this park holds a special place in my heart. Now that I'm married with a child of my own, we enjoy taking day trips to the park to picnic, hike, play, and visit the historical Civil War site. There is a museum, cannon, graves, etc at the park, which is a great & fun way to teach children about Civil War history. You can hike to the river, where you may see some kayakers playing in the rapids. There is also a really nice overlook to view the river and mountains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston wv
1 review
“what a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had so much fun at the driftwood cottage. The place was stocked with firewood, even starter wood, it was clean and well-stocked with everything. The view was beautiful and we really enjoyed the hot tub. Good prices, very clean and the owners are wonderful folks!
Margaret Darling

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park also viewed

 

Been to Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.