We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good and better priced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Summersville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Summersville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Summersville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Still good and better priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I wrote a review of this Hampton about nine months ago. We stayed again last month on our trip to Florida. Everything I wrote before still applies as it did last year, so I won't repeat it. Except for one comment. Last year I said it was relatively expensive and a good choice for points. Well, this time the reverse was true. This was the least expensive Hampton in WV but the points cost was the same as elsewhere. I guess prices and points get reviewed and updated, or perhaps it's the season. In any case, don't assume - always check the alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    93
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
90
84
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

good place to stay free breakfast but clerk read items offered from a list he had which included scrambled eggs. No scrambled eggs tho, instead they were hard boiled, which was fine if they would not have been actlually frozen! I bit into one and got a chunk of ice in my mouth, finished my coffee and yogurt left hotel and went to McDonalds. Otherwise it was clean, staff was friendly and it was not in a secluded area of town, so we enjoyed the night we stayed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetser, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room was clean, but a little dated. Surprised to find an old tube TV still in the room, can't remember the last Hampton I stayed in that did not have a flat screen,not a deal breaker though. Close proximately to lots of food choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've never had an issue with this hotel and we've stopped a dozen or more times over the last couples years here on our way up north from Florida. Granted, the service isn't necessarily delivered with a smile and the breakfast sometimes leaves a bit to be desired but we aren't on "vacation" when we stop here so we overlook it. The rooms are dated but the beds are extremely comfy and it's clean. We've stayed in most of the hotels on this strip of hwy 19 in the Summersville area (when Hampton is sold out - which can happen often during heavy travel times and during the summer so beware) and Hampton is, by far, the most comfortable and the nicest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We left - it is not like the newer Hampton Inn's which are very good! We did ask to move rooms as they had put us next to the lift and ice machine but luckily they claimed not to have any other rooms free - this gave us the perfect opportunity to bail out. I shall certainly take note on tripadvisor in future when people warn about hotels being of the older variety - they really are not good!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

after long drive wanted some TV /food and a sleep. All channels were horrible quality picture..desk offered a room change but we had unpacked already and declined.Bedding is always great at Hamptons...bathroom door handle fell off in the morning...no Bags to Go at this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a good hotel, conveniently located near stores and restaurants. The hotel itself is a bit older, but the rooms are cleaned well, the beds are soft and the sheets are fresh.

The bathroom is ok, a bit dark and the shower looks a little dated. You'll see general wear and tear.

I thought the complimentary breakfast was pretty decent. My only big complain is that the evening front desk are not that attentive. You'll call the front desk and may not get a response, or they'll tell you they're too busy to drop something at your room for you. The morning front desk people also are not around 24-7. It can get annoying.

Otherwise, this is a good location to be near the lake, and not too far from New River Gorge.

Room Tip: There's no real amazing view here so the room location may not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at Hampton Inn Summersville, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We work very hard to keep our guests happy, so the positive feedback is great to hear. At the same time, it also lets management know what areas we need to work on.

We are an older hotel, but luckily we are in the works for a facelift. We are very excited for this, and can't wait to hear what the guests think of it. I have talked to my Front Desk about being at the desk more often. I understand how this can be very frustrating to experience. Please be confident that this is being worked on so other guests are not unsatisfied as you were.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We love having you here, and hope to see you again soon!

Have a great rest of the week!
Heather Somogyi
AGM, Hampton Inn- Summersville, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
24.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Address: 5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Summersville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.