We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Very accomodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Summersville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Summersville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Summersville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel! Very accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed here twice now and every time it gets better.Tracey and Sean at the front desk were very helpful with recommendations and making sure I got the right room type. The rooms are a great size and the bathrooms are in perfect condition. The breakfast always had plenty of food with a variety each day.
In terms of location, it's near the majority of the businesses in Summersville. A mile or so away from the wal mart, a bunch of food places and an emergency room 2 miles away ensures that you don't have to travel far for necessities.
In terms of proximity to the lake, it's about a twelve minute drive. Not as good as some of the camp sites, but not getting rained on during a storm more than makes up for that. We had a great time at this Hampton Inn and I would highly recommend it to anyone in the Summersville area.

Room Tip: Top floor has smoking rooms so if you want a high floor book one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    59
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
58
60
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stopped in Summersville en route to the NC coast and decided to stay at the Hampton Inn because of its convenient location and reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel was everything you'd want from a "stop along the way" establishment: friendly staff, well maintained, comfortable bed, nice bathroom with good towels, good water pressure in the shower, good wireless connection. Although the hotel is right by the edge of the highway, I was not bothered by road noise. Absolutely nothing to complain about, and a lot to like! Also, the breakfast was especially nice--something I really appreciate before getting on the road for a long day's drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at Hampton Inn Summersville, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to share your recent stay with us! I'm very glad you enjoyed it! My staff works very hard to meet every guests needs and more. We always appreciate the positve feedback we receieve. Please come back and stay with us soon, we love having you here!

Thanks again, and have a great rest of the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stopped in West Virginia on route to South Carolina.
Hampton Inn provides an excellent value accommodation with clean facilities and a free breakfast.
It is certainly worth planning your trip to stay a reliable and reasonable hotel like Hampton Inn.
Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your room in advance and check for discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stopped here on a return trip from the south based on our previous experiences at Hampton Inns. Overall the hotel is not bad however it is somewhat dated. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Not that it really affected us but I found it odd that at the front doors to the building there were no handicap assists on the doors- thank goodness though they had a sign advising everyone that no CONCEALED weapons are permitted! I am sure this is probably a regional thing but I found it mildly amusing! All in all, not a bad stay at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was going to stay at *ahem* a different hotel in Summersville because of their spring $50 travel card promo, but when I discovered that they had no kings non smoking left, (plus from the look of that particular property) I headed up to the good old Hampton. I was accommodated even though the hotel was near totally full. It met my standards, though it isn't the nicest hampton I've been in but at midnight, in the fog, after driving from Tampa Fl I was just glad to get a clean comfortable room for the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed 1 night traveling from NY to Florida. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds... Nice morning breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night in April 2012 while in the area for a business meeting. I was booked for a king room but was provided a room with two double beds for a rate of $75 per night.

The property is located adjacent to a four lane highway on the north end of Summersville. While in a business oriented area there are no restaurants within walking distance. The building appears to be a second generation Hampton construction, likely from the mid 1990s.

The exterior of the property is clean and well maintained. Adequate parking is available and the lots were well lit. Access to the lobby was troublesome as the property lacks automatic doors. Carrying luggage, a laptop and business items while opening two sets of doors can be a little difficult. I have not encountered this at a hotel in years.

The lobby area, and the entire interior for that matter was clean, but could use a serious remodel. A 1990s western teal colored motif was everywhere. Huh? I thought this was West Virginia, not western New Mexico.

I utilized the echeck-in service and it was flawless. I was not welcomed as an HHonors Gold member by the clerk but there was a small note written on my room key envelope. This is inconsistent with the brand and its pledge to loyal customers of the Hilton family of properties.

Elevator service was noted to be prompt and the cabs were found to be clean. Interior hallways to the sleeping rooms were noted to be well lit and clean as well.

The sleeping room was found to be clean and neat with all electrical appliances in good working order. Temperature control was easy to manage and the HVAC was quiet. Bedding was of the quality expected for the brand and price point.

The bathroom was noted to be of good size. It was clean, well lit and towels/bath amenities were found to be as expected.

Breakfast was a little below the expectation for a Hampton as the typical variety was lacking and the quality did not seem to be there. The employee working the breakfast area spoke to no one and seemed uninterested in customer service. This is strange for the brand as they usually place, warm, talkative staff members in these areas.

Check-out was effortless as all charges were appropriate. The front desk staff were found to be polite and friendly. I was thanked for my business and invited back.

This property is a little below average for the Hampton brand. However, options are limited in this small community. Given my experience in whole, I would stay there again, but certainly not anxiously look forward to it.

Room Tip: To be able to pay for your room, avoid the Summersville PD speed traps. They are everywhere in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Address: 5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Summersville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.