We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an "on-the-road" motel, much better than average” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Summersville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Summersville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Summersville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Choose Your Room!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“For an "on-the-road" motel, much better than average”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here while driving to Florida and it was very nice. So much better than the cheaper motels we stayed in during other trips. Granted it was more expensive but we got a decent price from expedia.

It seems quite new, well maintained and spotless. Check-in was quick because we were the only ones at the desk at the moment. The breakfast (included) was also better than we have gotten at cheaper motels ... excellent coffee too.

As we get older we tend to want a bit more luxury (and less noise) than you get from the cheaper chains so we usually go to a Hampton Inn or Best Western. This Hampton was one of the nicer ones of the five or six we have stayed at. We never heard any noise from the hallway or the room above; perhaps we were just lucky OR familes with kids stay at the cheaper places. Whatever the reason, we got a good night's sleep.

Very nice room, nice furniture and bathrooms, very clean, comfortable beds, etc.

Some other review said this was the best motel in WV ... I don't know if that's correct but I rated it as a five star .... and it was every bit as nice as the best Hampton Inn in other states.

Room Tip: If you do not want people in a room above you, stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice, clean rooms. Friendly staff. The breakfast was great! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls, canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a perfect distance from Savannah or Charleston if you are travelling North. The rooms are clean and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good. Ask for King Bed Room which has more room and a desk

Room Tip: ask for King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

West Virginia is a beautiful state with wonderful, down-to-earth people. But it's a poor state to stay overnight because of its relatively high prices for rooms and the non-existence of 100% smoke-free properties. Unfortunately, you really have little choice on the route between the Great White North and Florida. Summersville is just about in the right location. Most people hate this town because of its primary source of income: consecutive predatory speed traps.

If you must stay in the area, this Hampton is a good choice. Half the third floor is given over to smokers, so we chose to stay on the non-smoking second instead. Often this situation can be a problem because smoke drifts in through the bathroom vents. Here, no problem whatsoever. Same with noise - there was absolutely none.

Overall, a fairly typical Hampton: comfortable beds, good size rooms, very clean and well-maintained. Far superior to the choices down the road in Beckley. But somewhat pricey in comparison to similar Hamptons elsewhere. This would be a good time to use your points.

Room Tip: Unlike most places, the front desk has maps, so they can show you where the rooms are. They're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at this site twice on our trip to and from Florida as it is a convenient distance from home, 8 hours of highway driving. The hotel itself is about 100 metres from the highway turnoff. This seemed to break our trip into more manageable chunks, with the first and last day just on the road. The Inn iteslf is similar to other Hamptons, with a large king size room with a couch and coffee table. This space enabled us to re-pack in preparation for the temperature change in both directions. The washroom is very spacious. The hot breakfast in the morning is typical of many other chains these days, but let's remember, Hampton started this pleasant trend in the hotel industry...good going Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olegar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Hampton Inns can usually be relied upon for the most comfortable beds after a long drive. This one was no exception. It's a little ways off of highway 19, which mean you have to get back in the car to find dinner. We have stayed at several hotels in Summersville, and this may be the best. Unfortunately the heating unit wouldn't warm up and blew cold air on a chilly night. I'm sure the staff would have gotten us another room or sent someone to fix it, but we were to tired to complain, so we just snuggled in our comfortable bed. It wasn't horrible.

Internet, cable TV and complementary breakfast were all excellent.

And for hotels everywhere, we need electrical outlets next to the beds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madinpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILTON
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed 1 night on our return from Florida to home. It was one of the few places in town that allowed you to stay in a non-smoking room with a pet. Accomodations were good and very clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Room was fair size with a table and 2 chairs to eat our take out dinner. Hampton sits back from Route 19 so it was pretty quiet in our room. They did give us a room next to the outside door for ease with the dog. This could be an issue if they were busy and lots of people were coming and going.

Lots of restaurants within the general area (we had to drive to Applebees - about 2 mins). Breakfast was better than the normal continental breakfast, included omelets, etc. My complaint was the price - $95 to stay in a room from 7 pm to 7 am. We have stayed in the Sleep Inn in the area previously and will probably take a chance on a smoking room at $70 for our 12 hr stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crazydaisy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
24.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Address: 5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing