We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stop for Overnight Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Summersville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Summersville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Summersville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stop for Overnight Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The room was clean and basic. The complmentary breakfast was decent and typical for a Hampton Inn. All of the staff we talked to were friendly and helpful. It is a good room for travelers using U.S. Route 19 through central West Virginia. There is nothing special about this motel nor is there anything wrong with it.

If you are travelling in the summer time, you will likely need a reservation. The motel seems to sell out quickly, especially on weekends when white water rafters come to the New River and Gauley River areas. We learned this from past expierences, when we were unable to find a room in the entire area during our travels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
68
66
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Friendly check-inn, welcome package for silver/gold members was not handed out, but that is -unfortunately- the rule, rooms have a good size, beds are very comfortable,
close to the Hwy, overall a quiet Hotel, but watch out for rooms located to the pool side, some are very close to the pool instalations (pump etc) some are directly facing these,, and some roms may have some vibrating noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed one night on our way home from Fla. It was the only hotel in the general are that had what we wanted, queen size beds, free breakfast and a hotel pool. The whole holte fealt dirty and dated. It had a southwest feel to the hotel which I did not understand. The rooms smelled a little, we brewed coffee at midnight to try and mask the smell. The breakfast was pretty good with our choice of eggs and waffles, as well as cereals, oatmeal and danishes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed here while whitewater rafting, not many choices of hotels close to the river, this was by far the best. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable ,and the breakfast was adequate. I really couldn't find anything to complain about this hotel. I usually won't stay in hotels that have smoking rooms in them but this one didn't have any odor of smoke anywhere in the hotel. Service was great, when I come down next year this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I booked thru Expedia and asked for ground floor next to exit beings we have a pet and a king non smoking room. I told the lady on the phone to make sure we absoulty get what I asked for, she called the hotel to confirm it. After hours of traffic tie ups and 8 hrs. later we arrived. The front desk said they were booked and just had a 3rd floor room, which was way down the hall. And 2 double beds and smoking room. We were irrate, and there was nothing he could do. I even booked this stay 3 days in advance. For this we will never believe any booking operators, no one honors their word. And we will never stay at any Hampton Inn for all the inconvience they caused us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I arrived at 2:00 am ask for late check out it was no problem...fair size lot to get semi in..this is an older place, matress was great...people were great...rooms starting to show its age... many stains on recliner,light out in bathroom...room was dimly lit ...carpet was starting to show a little wear..all in all it wasnt a bad place to stay by no means just not quite up to par with many of the Hampton Inns I have stayed in...biggest downfall was business center was located in conference room which was occupied with a meeting when I was wanting to check my e-mail.( I guess I should buy a laptop)...not bad ...not great...but Ok...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I have yet to find a poor quality Hampton Inn. We were driving to Florida and needed a place to stay for the night. The Hampton Inn in Summersville was our choice. The hotel was up to date, the rooms were clean, and the staff were very nice.

It was still cold and the pool was closed. I was an outdoor pool and it looked ok (it was covered) although it was not very large.

Hampton Inn’s always have a continental breakfast and the one in this hotel was good. The normal fare, cereal, fruit, muffins etc. The hot selection was bacon and omelettes.

We will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Address: 5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Summersville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.