We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summersville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
106 Merchants Walk Shopping Center, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Summersville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night in September of 2012 while traveling. Changed room because first room was not clean. Second room wasn't much better. Old carpet and bedding and floor needed a good vacuum. Had to call front desk for missing items in bathroom. Pool was OK but hot tub was not hot, it was cold. What's the point! Wouldn't stay here again unless they update. Staff was OK, always apologetic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tried to make a reservation online but couldn't specify a king size bed. Called to make a reservation but got there and found out our room didn't have a refrigerator which we needed for medication storage. I've stayed at Country Inn and Suites a lot and this was the first time I didn't get a fridge. Didn't even think to ask over the phone about it. Just goes to show you that you have to always ask for what you need. Our room was a nice size and clean but very noisy. The hotel is in a shopping center and you could hear all of the road noise. We use earplugs but if you didn't, you'd find it too noisy. It was an ok place to stop on our way down south. Next time we'd stay in the Country Inn in Beckley, much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here from Aug 17 to Aug 21the staff was very helpful we were looking for things to do and Felish helped even looking up phone numbers and asking the next day about our day out. I would say even if it is an older Hotel the staff and and Service was great. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have stayed here several times before but my stay 8/2/12-8/5/12 was far below par. The desk staff acted like I was interrupting her and usually sit down behind the counter where she could not be seen. Things were the that clean. The internet did not work most of the time. The pillows and towels were very old thin and seemed to be very rationed. I had to ask for additional pillows and towels. The towels were so old and thin it took two each use. There is only one place, end of the hall first floor, where I could get ice and refreshments. Although breakfast was small the person taking care of the line was very good and really worked hard to keep it up. The staff working cleaning the rooms acted like it would kill them to smile or say good morning. This is my home town and I only get to visit once a year -- what a shame.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

From time of reservation, staff and management were abrupt and rude, providing minimal assistance to out of town travelers. Room was not ready at 4pm despite published 3pm check in. Staff members on cell phones, no uniforms for housekeepers, putting their personal conversations above guests questions was just first impression. Upon receiving our room found no towels, hair all over bathroom, cracked coffee pot, thermostat falling off wall, burn marks on comforters. When bringing it to the attention of the staff, it was as if it was an inconvenience to ask for these items to be corrected. The only positive note was that Felicia at the Front Desk was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
On behalf of the staff and management I would like to say how sorry I am for the concerns that your had during your stay. These things should have never happen. Again I am sorry and I hope that in the future you will give us another change to provide you with the service that our guest deserve.

Thank you for your time and bringing this to my attention.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Country Inn on June 30, 2012--the night after a massive storm came through the region. We drove into the area from NE Tenn not knowing the severity of the storm the night before. Once we learned of the storm and knew that so many people were without power, we tried to call the hotel but were unable to get through. We wanted to cancel our reservation and continue travelling to our next destination thinking that the few resources available could be better used locally. The hotel was one of the few places in the area with power, and they would not allow us to cancel our reservation. They then told us that we couldn't check in at 6:15 p.m. despite the fact that the check-in time is 3 p.m.! Sorry, but you can't have it both ways!! We counted 16 emergency power trucks in the parking lot and met one local family who had just lost their home. Shame on the corporate greed of this company!!! On top of this, our room was not ready for occupancy. The concrete sidewalks outside are in need of repairs. The outside door locks on the hallways were not in working order and were unlocked (despite signs indicating that they should be locked at all times). Exterior trash cans were overflowing. The breakfast was mediocre at best. There is a lot of street noise as the hotel is sandwiched between an access road and a large strip-mall parking lot. A lot of concrete surrounds this hotel. We travel often through this part of West Virginia, and we will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel seem to be noisy--both access road side and parking lot side. We listened to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I'm sorry for the problems that your experienced during your stay. I know it was a huge inconvenience to you for the power outage and other things going on at the hotel during storm.We tried to accommodate our guests the best that we could during this very difficult time.
Again we apologize for the not being able to provide the service that you expected.

Thank you for your time and bringing this to our attention.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 times (Aug 2010 & Aug 2011) on our way back from vacation in North Carolina. It is very clean & well-maintained property with quite decent breakfast area, friendly staff and great location. I recommend this hotel as a safe stop during long trips. There are few restaurants around as well as Walmart Supercentre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Summersville Hotel
Country Inn And Suites Summersville
Country Inn & Suites Summersville Hotel Summersville
Country Inn Summersville
Summersville Country Inn
Address: 106 Merchants Walk Shopping Center, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Summersville)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville to your Saves list