We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast & Furious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Restaurant details
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Ottawa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fast & Furious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We recently stopped here for dinner, and thoroughly enjoyed the food!

This is a very simple restaurant - styled with the Mexican theme. Nothing fancy here. But the service is fast & furious! Food is served very quickly - including nachos and salsa before the meal. We have been going to Mexico for many years, and so this was a nice reminder of the food we enjoy there and were missing. The meals we had were tasty, hot and plentiful. AND Thursdays to Sundays they have happy hour between 4-7!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate here while vacationing on the Summersville lake. There aren't many restaurant options there but we are glad we found this place! The food was authentic Mexican food and it was all packed with flavor! I got the enchiladas Maria's with steak, grilled peppers and onions and they were very flavorful and filling. They also came with lettuce, tomato, and guacamole. For our appetizer we got the Chile con carne and it was delicious! Every table also comes with free chips and salsa. The atmosphere is just a very casual restaurant, don't expect anything fancy. But if you want some great food at a cheap price we definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mexican with atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very strange pictures of Jesus on the wall with eyes that look through you creeped me out. Liked the food, but had to take it back to our room. Crowded in the evening. Did I mention the creepy - follow you around - pictures?!?!?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BEST MEXICAN AROUND!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is the best Mexican food around Summersville. We are never disappointed when we go here and we go quite often. The staff is so friendly and the service speedy. The food is delicious and can't be beat! They also have the BEST sweet tea! I highly suggest you try it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quick stop en route to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We tried this after researching non-chain restaurants en route to the beach. Service was prompt and they kept our chips and salsa refilled. It was a little dated, but the food was okay. For a family of four - the bill was under $30 including tip - which was great. Food was average Mexican - nothing spectacular, but good for quick stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.