We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Mexican Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Madison, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

During a weekend stay in Summersville, my husband and I ate at the La Carreta. It is an ordinary Mexican restaurant with little more to offer than the regular Mexican meals. There's plenty of staff that mostly congregate in the back laughing and talking. We were seated by a messy table that looked like the staff sit there during slow periods. The table was never cleared while we were there. The decor was old and worn. My husband's dish was served in a skillet and was swimming in grease. I ordered a side order of mushrooms. When the mushroom came, they were almost black.

La Carreta is one of those restaurants where you eat there today in passing a town, and tomorrow it will be forgotten. The restaurant doesn't make for much of a dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Even with 8 adults, sangria, and beer, our pre-tip bill was <$100! No one walked away hungry, either.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The menu offers so many items to choose from I don't know how the kitchen manages! We have eaten at La Carreta a couple of times during our over night stays on the way to South Carolina. The service is excellent and the quality of the food good. (Although I would stay away from the beef). The restaurant has a modest decor and is obviously targeting budget minded customers.
If you like mexican food then you will love this place. As a bonus, they have a happy hour from 4 to 7 Sundays through Thursdays.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ordinary food, combined with a tired, worn decor don't make for much of a dining experience. Give it a miss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent food at a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

As a local, I have eaten here many times. Love the salsa and chips! The staff move quickly to get orders and drinks. Good food at a decent price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.