We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food at a decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Restaurant details
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Summersville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food at a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

As a local, I have eaten here many times. Love the salsa and chips! The staff move quickly to get orders and drinks. Good food at a decent price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    24
    12
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Ontario
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“STILL AS GREAT AS BEFORE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

It has been a few years since we've eaten at La Carreta. Our positive opinion of the place has not been diminished by time. We enjoyed a very tasty meal there during our recent stay. Both the food and service remain outstanding and we consider it a place that we would stop at whenever possible... which is not always the case with highway eateries. La Carreta is a very good dining option especially for travellers who do not want to eat at just restaurants run by the major chains.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summersville wv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great good, great service, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great Mexican food that is consistent in tast each visit. Highly recommend tacos de carne asada. Azteca dip is the best dip you'll find anywhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It isn't the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It is acceptable Mexican fare, but if you are used to CalMex or TexMex you may be disappointed. The service is excellent; the staff is very attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We eat here everytime we are in Summersville!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My family and I absolutely love La Carreta. We are frequently in Summersville visiting family and have to go each time. The food is fantastic! The portions are huge and the flavor is great. I always have the chimichangas with beef tips and am always satisfied. The portions are so big we can split them between two people. The cheese dip is also a huge favorite. This restaurant is such a great place to go and always keeps us looking forward to our next trip!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;