We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD IN A FUN ATMOSPHERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Summersville, WV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD IN A FUN ATMOSPHERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You can find my family and lots of friends at La Carreta just about every Friday night! The food is wonderful and the service is great! It's usually busy in the evenings but the staff does a great job of getting you seated quickly and bringing your chips and salsa out to the table. Orders arrive quickly and you can't go wrong with anything on the menu...I think we have tried everything!
The staff is friendly and helpful. Leave the fast food chains behind and give this delicious mexican food a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pass the Margaritis and Tecate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived today in Summersville after a 10 hour drive at our hotel, the Hampton Inn
( that is another review..the hotel treated us #1 from the moment we wlaked in ).
Prior to embarking on our trip to Myrtle Beach for the summer, we did some research and found this little "gem" La:Carreta.

Our server " Julio" greeted us at the door. walked us to our table and was always attentive to our requests/needs. Before you could say "the alamo" our margaritas were on the table. We tried both the frozen and on ice variety, both were not lacking tequila...very delicious. The Tecati beer was equally as delicious.

Our food was extremely flavourfull, hot and plentiful. For $7.50 the Fajitas/ Quesadillas were divine/ out of the is world. Happy to say we on our return trip back north we will be making another stop at this " north of the border " gem.

Happy hour is 4-7 Sunday to Thursday and lets jsut say with all the food we ate, plus the drinks we had I was pleasantly suprized our bill only came to $32.00.

OF NOTE: There is no cab service in Summersville , so if you choose to indulge in the libations as we did....please choose a hotel close by to walk. There is 2 hotels within a short crawl away. Our hotel was a bit farther walk ( under 1 km ), but it helped us walk off the enomous amounts of food we had for next to nothing.

Good quality service, no wait even though the restaurant was 3/4 full. If you are a lover of hot mexican flair,,,this is a great stopover and treat.

Once again hats off to Julio our server...he made the visit memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Second Visit One Year later was just as great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had talked to friends about this discovery on our way from Florida to Ontario, so I was looking forward to a repeat experience. We were not disappointed.
We were very tired after being held up by a terrible accident, so we were tired from our 13 hour trip.
We were seated instantly not far from several families whose sons were on a baseball team.
We were served some tacos in huge bowl accompanied by a homemade sauce.
We ordered the "Dinner for Two" which was a generous portion that we could scarcely finished.
The service was great although the waiter was kind of aloof at first.
We will return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fast and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived after a basketball tournament game with a group of about 14. The size of our party was no problem. The food arrived very quickly, and it was good. The service was very good, promptly re-filling nacho chips, salsa, and drinks.

The food was standard mexican fare, although I went away from my usual and ordered a dish pictured on the menu -- chicken and chorizo topped with white cheese... it was very tasty. I'd gladly order it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Good pseudo-Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you consider chop suey to be Chinese food or that Benihana serves great Japanese food, then you might call La Carreta Mexican. It's what you'd get in "Mexican" restaurants in the northeast, though no one from Texas or other border states will be fooled. This is not to say that there's anything wrong with the food - actually it's quite good - it's just that you should understand what you're getting. Of course, would you really expect genuine Mexican cuisine in a small West Virginia town?

The food is tasty, attractively prepared and presented, with large portion sizes. You won't leave hungry, in fact, there's a very good chance you'll take leftovers with you. Looking at the staff there, I think they actually are Mexicans, but have chosen to prepare their food as they think (probably correctly) people in this area would like it. Maybe that also explains the fairly slow and indifferent service.

Handy location in a large strip mall by the highway, close to hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.