We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit One Year later was just as great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Second Visit One Year later was just as great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had talked to friends about this discovery on our way from Florida to Ontario, so I was looking forward to a repeat experience. We were not disappointed.
We were very tired after being held up by a terrible accident, so we were tired from our 13 hour trip.
We were seated instantly not far from several families whose sons were on a baseball team.
We were served some tacos in huge bowl accompanied by a homemade sauce.
We ordered the "Dinner for Two" which was a generous portion that we could scarcely finished.
The service was great although the waiter was kind of aloof at first.
We will return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fast and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived after a basketball tournament game with a group of about 14. The size of our party was no problem. The food arrived very quickly, and it was good. The service was very good, promptly re-filling nacho chips, salsa, and drinks.

The food was standard mexican fare, although I went away from my usual and ordered a dish pictured on the menu -- chicken and chorizo topped with white cheese... it was very tasty. I'd gladly order it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Good pseudo-Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you consider chop suey to be Chinese food or that Benihana serves great Japanese food, then you might call La Carreta Mexican. It's what you'd get in "Mexican" restaurants in the northeast, though no one from Texas or other border states will be fooled. This is not to say that there's anything wrong with the food - actually it's quite good - it's just that you should understand what you're getting. Of course, would you really expect genuine Mexican cuisine in a small West Virginia town?

The food is tasty, attractively prepared and presented, with large portion sizes. You won't leave hungry, in fact, there's a very good chance you'll take leftovers with you. Looking at the staff there, I think they actually are Mexicans, but have chosen to prepare their food as they think (probably correctly) people in this area would like it. Maybe that also explains the fairly slow and indifferent service.

Handy location in a large strip mall by the highway, close to hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Handled a group of 20 couple of us with no problem, whils keeping the rest of the restuarant happy.
Place is busy, food was very good.
I gad shrinp taco's, my wife had gotten fish taco's.
With such a large group of us, I believe we ordered very many things on the menu.
Everyone was very happy.
The waitress ran alot just for our group, and as demanding as we were with beer's, mixed drinks, salads, dinners and deserts I thought she did a great job.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food! Wonderful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

La Carreta has the best queso dip I've ever tasted! We always order it to dip our chips in instead of just the salsa. They have great food and great prices! Great service also.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.