We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Restaurant details
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fast and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived after a basketball tournament game with a group of about 14. The size of our party was no problem. The food arrived very quickly, and it was good. The service was very good, promptly re-filling nacho chips, salsa, and drinks.

The food was standard mexican fare, although I went away from my usual and ordered a dish pictured on the menu -- chicken and chorizo topped with white cheese... it was very tasty. I'd gladly order it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    24
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Good pseudo-Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you consider chop suey to be Chinese food or that Benihana serves great Japanese food, then you might call La Carreta Mexican. It's what you'd get in "Mexican" restaurants in the northeast, though no one from Texas or other border states will be fooled. This is not to say that there's anything wrong with the food - actually it's quite good - it's just that you should understand what you're getting. Of course, would you really expect genuine Mexican cuisine in a small West Virginia town?

The food is tasty, attractively prepared and presented, with large portion sizes. You won't leave hungry, in fact, there's a very good chance you'll take leftovers with you. Looking at the staff there, I think they actually are Mexicans, but have chosen to prepare their food as they think (probably correctly) people in this area would like it. Maybe that also explains the fairly slow and indifferent service.

Handy location in a large strip mall by the highway, close to hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Handled a group of 20 couple of us with no problem, whils keeping the rest of the restuarant happy.
Place is busy, food was very good.
I gad shrinp taco's, my wife had gotten fish taco's.
With such a large group of us, I believe we ordered very many things on the menu.
Everyone was very happy.
The waitress ran alot just for our group, and as demanding as we were with beer's, mixed drinks, salads, dinners and deserts I thought she did a great job.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food! Wonderful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

La Carreta has the best queso dip I've ever tasted! We always order it to dip our chips in instead of just the salsa. They have great food and great prices! Great service also.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follansbee, WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This restaurant was very accommodating of our large group of 9. The food was great, and our cups were never empty. The servers were very friendly and helpful in explaining the menu items. We will definitely eat here again! :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.