We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel - Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Motel - Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My family has been coming to this motel, before it was EconoLodge, since 1997 as a stop off point on our vacations to Florida from Ontario. They have continued to maintain and upgrade the rooms decor and amenities over the years. The washrooms are clean with full linens. Shower heads and water flow excellent. Furniture is in good condition and kept updated. Beds, linens and pillows are great.
The location is quiet and is next door to a DQ and across the street from Burger King. An in town Pizza Hut is a minute drive on Broad Street. A good selection of restaurants and gas stations are within a mile drive. They have a small but well maintained breakfast nook for a quick morning get away meal.
The front desk staff has always treated us with professionalism and a great attitude over the years. They have always accepted the hotel saver coupons without hesitation which I appreciate.
The only negative is that the floors are carpeted over the original floor boards which can result in 'squeeking' from patrons walking above if you are in the first or second floors.
Overall for the room cost value for the EconoLodge Summersville is excellent. We will continue to provide them with our business for future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed the stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
19
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lackawanna
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

the room was very spacious. and those BED PILLOWS--OMG--the best ever. I even asked
the check-out fella where "they" bought 'em. he did not know. very comfortable as well as the king sized bed. nice couch and matching chair added to the decor.
clean too.

Room Tip: dairy queen in front of the econo lodge. makes this an extra special place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the comments. We really appreciate the feedback,
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Needed a place to stay for the night while traveling so stayed here. Very nice for the price! Staff very friendly. Room clean. Had frig, microwave, coffee pot & free continental breakfast. Pet friendly (had our dog) for an extra charge. We would defiantly stay here again!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for Your feedback. we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in December, and I couldn't be more pleased. Great value, clean, HUGE rooms, and as an avid traveler, I found the value, cleanliness, and staff to be outstanding. Will be back. A+

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge for your recent stay in Summersville.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor. It’s the world’s largest travel site, helping millions of visitors every month plan the perfect trip.

Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Econo Lodge the next time you're in Summersville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The EconoLodge sign out front had me wary but we were tired and ready to stop rather than push on to the New River Gorge bridge in the rain. Glad we did.
Rooms were larger and better equipped than expected, including microwave and refrigerator. All was clean and neat. The low price fooled me. The breakfast was the only thing that was below the standards of the major chains but with rooms that cost about half the price there's no complaints. The place is a great bargain.
Definitely added to the list for future trips through the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ,

Thank you for taking the time to Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
General Manager
Econolodge summersville
3048726900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

While our room was updated, clean & comfortable, I found some of the desk staff rude. ie: when asked about refilling the juice/milk pitchers during breakfast time, the answer was "when it's gone, it is gone". Very poor continental breakfast. Since they have changed hands, they have stopped serving the sausage gravy & biscuits, along with fresh cereal, bread, dispensing of milk & juice instead of 1 pitche. .What they serve now is extremely limited, & stale.

Room Tip: Our room was nicely updated on the first floor near the Dairy Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this property for a night while on our way to the New River Gorge Bridge, Fayetteville, WV. The property is pretty decent and right on the US Highway 19 and a short drive from the New River Gorge Bridge. The Rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. The only issue we had was with the Air Conditioner. Even in an always on mode it kept switching on and off but otherwise we had a very comfortable stay and overall very satisfied with the Rooms and the value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.