We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Summersville
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The EconoLodge sign out front had me wary but we were tired and ready to stop rather than push on to the New River Gorge bridge in the rain. Glad we did.
Rooms were larger and better equipped than expected, including microwave and refrigerator. All was clean and neat. The low price fooled me. The breakfast was the only thing that was below the standards of the major chains but with rooms that cost about half the price there's no complaints. The place is a great bargain.
Definitely added to the list for future trips through the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ,

Thank you for taking the time to Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
General Manager
Econolodge summersville
3048726900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

While our room was updated, clean & comfortable, I found some of the desk staff rude. ie: when asked about refilling the juice/milk pitchers during breakfast time, the answer was "when it's gone, it is gone". Very poor continental breakfast. Since they have changed hands, they have stopped serving the sausage gravy & biscuits, along with fresh cereal, bread, dispensing of milk & juice instead of 1 pitche. .What they serve now is extremely limited, & stale.

Room Tip: Our room was nicely updated on the first floor near the Dairy Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this property for a night while on our way to the New River Gorge Bridge, Fayetteville, WV. The property is pretty decent and right on the US Highway 19 and a short drive from the New River Gorge Bridge. The Rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. The only issue we had was with the Air Conditioner. Even in an always on mode it kept switching on and off but otherwise we had a very comfortable stay and overall very satisfied with the Rooms and the value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I presenting my BW Reward card, the staff advised that the location was sold & card not honoured. The room had no cups for the coffee maker & the continental breakfast on display appeared old. Disappointed.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summersville hotels

Fairmont WV
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were generally pleased with everything, especially the service and friendliness of the staff, and the coffee was AWESOME!! However, even though we reserved a SMOKING room, the room had an extremely strong smell of smoke. Just needs to be deodorized more aggressively. One of us is a smoke and one of us is not. We reserved a smoking room because of the time of year and the chance that the weather would be very cold.

Otherwise, we will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There was a minor problem with the TV and morning breafast pancake making machine but we were given a discount on the room which was appreciatted. We did not have to ask for the refund, it was given to us when we mentioned the problem.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy Station, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything about our stay at this Best Western was average and acceptable for an overnight stay except the poor condition of the bed. The mattress cover and fitted sheet on one of our beds was so old and worn out that they wouldn't stay in place. I woke up the next morning with the mattress cover off the mattress and wrapped around my body.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.