We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST BEST WESTERN STAY.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Guelph
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE WORST BEST WESTERN STAY.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I presenting my BW Reward card, the staff advised that the location was sold & card not honoured. The room had no cups for the coffee maker & the continental breakfast on display appeared old. Disappointed.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont WV
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were generally pleased with everything, especially the service and friendliness of the staff, and the coffee was AWESOME!! However, even though we reserved a SMOKING room, the room had an extremely strong smell of smoke. Just needs to be deodorized more aggressively. One of us is a smoke and one of us is not. We reserved a smoking room because of the time of year and the chance that the weather would be very cold.

Otherwise, we will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There was a minor problem with the TV and morning breafast pancake making machine but we were given a discount on the room which was appreciatted. We did not have to ask for the refund, it was given to us when we mentioned the problem.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy Station, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything about our stay at this Best Western was average and acceptable for an overnight stay except the poor condition of the bed. The mattress cover and fitted sheet on one of our beds was so old and worn out that they wouldn't stay in place. I woke up the next morning with the mattress cover off the mattress and wrapped around my body.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed the motel in the mountains. Everything was very enjoyable.. Our son is handicapped and we requested a room on the ground level and it happened. There was snow in the area as storm Sandy had shown it,s presence before we arrived.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The sheets and towels are of the highest quality and always clean. The room interior is much better than the appearance from the street.

Little bit of sticker shock. I was driving solo and not sure if I would arrive on the friday or the saturday. Make sure you book on line! The on line rate was under $50. It was over $100 when I grabbed the second last room Saturday night.

But I had a very nice sleep it was clean and comfortable and I had not slept well the night before in the moldy econolodge!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book on line in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have traveled this route many times in the past number of years and have stayed at seveal hotels in the area. This was our second stop at this particular best western, and we were not disappointed. Warm and friendly staff. Easy to find, easy to register and check out with only one slight criticism. My bed was lumpy and hurt my hips. The other bed was just fine. All in all a nice stay with a good breakfast and great coffee. Thank you, we would definitely return to this best western. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: no preferences on the rooms. Ours was on the third floor each time, but there is an elevator, so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.