We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loose Bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Brandy Station, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loose Bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything about our stay at this Best Western was average and acceptable for an overnight stay except the poor condition of the bed. The mattress cover and fitted sheet on one of our beds was so old and worn out that they wouldn't stay in place. I woke up the next morning with the mattress cover off the mattress and wrapped around my body.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed the motel in the mountains. Everything was very enjoyable.. Our son is handicapped and we requested a room on the ground level and it happened. There was snow in the area as storm Sandy had shown it,s presence before we arrived.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The sheets and towels are of the highest quality and always clean. The room interior is much better than the appearance from the street.

Little bit of sticker shock. I was driving solo and not sure if I would arrive on the friday or the saturday. Make sure you book on line! The on line rate was under $50. It was over $100 when I grabbed the second last room Saturday night.

But I had a very nice sleep it was clean and comfortable and I had not slept well the night before in the moldy econolodge!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book on line in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have traveled this route many times in the past number of years and have stayed at seveal hotels in the area. This was our second stop at this particular best western, and we were not disappointed. Warm and friendly staff. Easy to find, easy to register and check out with only one slight criticism. My bed was lumpy and hurt my hips. The other bed was just fine. All in all a nice stay with a good breakfast and great coffee. Thank you, we would definitely return to this best western. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: no preferences on the rooms. Ours was on the third floor each time, but there is an elevator, so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just have used it for an overnight stopover. It is a nice, clean and quiet place to stay. It does advertise free wi-fi but we found that only worked in the lobby and not the room. However, a complimentary breakfast is served and parking is free. Honest and dedicated people.Yes I would recommend it to my friend. Thanks.

Room Tip: There is a Dairy Queen and Burger King just steps a way, although did not check the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley-on-thames
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We used this motel for an overnight stop over and to be honest I would suggest that's its best purpose. I don't know the area but I would suggest there are better places to stay nearer the lake if you want to stay for a few days.
The motel is situated just off the main highway and the traffic noise was minimal. Our room was on the second floor and we did have a lot of luggage so it was a little awkward as the elevator was tucked away in a corner. Having said that the room was spaciuos and very clean. It had tv, microwave, fridge and coffee machine. The beds were comfortable and the staff friendly. It does advertise free wifi but we found that only worked in the lobby and not the room. However, a comlimentary breakfast is served and parking is free.
This place is functional and met our needs and I have stayed in a lot worse./

Room Tip: Good for a stop over
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as a "base camp" for adventures in WV. The hotel was nice - what I expected from a Best Western. The room was large and had plenty of room. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the heater worked, the fridge-microwave-coffee maker came in handy, and the bathroom was clean with a nice shower. All of the linens were in good condition and clean. We had no problems with the WiFi in our room.
The free hot breakfast was good and included a "hot pancake oven" that made pancakes that were much tastier than some of the food produced with the usual "waffle machine" some hotels utilize. We had a first floor room and did not notice any noise from the street (Route 19). We enjoyed dining at Bob Evans and a local place on the other side of Summersville Lake,

Room Tip: We were in Room 101, right next to the Dairy Queen. Heard some noise from people on the 2nd floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.