We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“repeat stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“repeat stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have traveled this route many times in the past number of years and have stayed at seveal hotels in the area. This was our second stop at this particular best western, and we were not disappointed. Warm and friendly staff. Easy to find, easy to register and check out with only one slight criticism. My bed was lumpy and hurt my hips. The other bed was just fine. All in all a nice stay with a good breakfast and great coffee. Thank you, we would definitely return to this best western. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: no preferences on the rooms. Ours was on the third floor each time, but there is an elevator, so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just have used it for an overnight stopover. It is a nice, clean and quiet place to stay. It does advertise free wi-fi but we found that only worked in the lobby and not the room. However, a complimentary breakfast is served and parking is free. Honest and dedicated people.Yes I would recommend it to my friend. Thanks.

Room Tip: There is a Dairy Queen and Burger King just steps a way, although did not check the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nina m, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley-on-thames
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We used this motel for an overnight stop over and to be honest I would suggest that's its best purpose. I don't know the area but I would suggest there are better places to stay nearer the lake if you want to stay for a few days.
The motel is situated just off the main highway and the traffic noise was minimal. Our room was on the second floor and we did have a lot of luggage so it was a little awkward as the elevator was tucked away in a corner. Having said that the room was spaciuos and very clean. It had tv, microwave, fridge and coffee machine. The beds were comfortable and the staff friendly. It does advertise free wifi but we found that only worked in the lobby and not the room. However, a comlimentary breakfast is served and parking is free.
This place is functional and met our needs and I have stayed in a lot worse./

Room Tip: Good for a stop over
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 304-872-6900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Nina McCune
Manager
BEST WESTERN Summersville Lake Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as a "base camp" for adventures in WV. The hotel was nice - what I expected from a Best Western. The room was large and had plenty of room. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the heater worked, the fridge-microwave-coffee maker came in handy, and the bathroom was clean with a nice shower. All of the linens were in good condition and clean. We had no problems with the WiFi in our room.
The free hot breakfast was good and included a "hot pancake oven" that made pancakes that were much tastier than some of the food produced with the usual "waffle machine" some hotels utilize. We had a first floor room and did not notice any noise from the street (Route 19). We enjoyed dining at Bob Evans and a local place on the other side of Summersville Lake,

Room Tip: We were in Room 101, right next to the Dairy Queen. Heard some noise from people on the 2nd floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I would have given them a 4 if the WiFi had worked in the room - we could only connect in the tiny lobby, despite trying with an iPad, an iPhone AND a netbook. The room was a good size, and - unusually for a chain motel - smelled fresh when we went in. The bed was comfortable but I found the pillows hard and lumpy so I didn't sleep that well. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was a bit of a squeeze getting the luggage cart through the entrance and into the elevator. Although we didn't hear any noise from the highway, we did get disturbed by other guests who left the hotel early, simply because we were right over the parking lot. Breakfast was free, and about par for the course in a chain motel. Good location just off US 19, and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

As my daughter and I were just driving past on our way home from Florida, we booked this hotel online, just for its location.
Its a very basic hotel, old. Its at the very south end of the town, but there's not much to Summersville. There are a couple of restauants, some basic shopping, but at least there was a Dairy Queen right next door!
Be careful looking it up. We were given the wrong address and the girl at the desk said she's heard that many times before. Its across from the Burger King on Hwy 19.
The rooms again, very basic. They had just painted or plastered and the room smelled of it. We dealt with it as it was just one night passing through.
The price was ok but I would have really booked elsewhere. Spend the extra $10 and book something else. It was ok but thats it.
The continental breakfast was very basic but a bowl a cereal, a juice and yogurt was enough to get us on our way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summersville hotels

Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not a Holiday Inn Express by any means, but a nice place at a reasonable price, with all the usual things, including a large room with a COUCH to sit on while watching TV. Dairy Queen next door for quick snacks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.