We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top pick for Snowshoe Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soaring Eagle Lodge

Save Saved
You added Soaring Eagle Lodge to your Saves list
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soaring Eagle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A top pick for Snowshoe Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Fantastic amenities and extremely clean and new. Complimentary lockers for guests and a small market for the basics. Discounted equipment rental to guests. Outdoor hot tubs were not packed with people. Fitness center and sauna were well maintained and orderly. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Heated parking under the lodge was a nice touch. The hearth room was comfortable and has two large wood fireplaces. We stayed in unit 408. Very nicely decorated and did not have the feel of a typical vacation rental. We will rent again. [-] Would recommend to anyone interested in a vacation rental on Snowshoe Mountain.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toddwack_1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed with friends at their condo (#409) which they rent out too. We were amaxed from the moment we walked in. The kitchen is large, stainless steel and grainte - - everything you need. The bathroom was huge. We slept on the pullout, which was very comfortable for a pullout. Balcony was great too - with a nice view. The condo's have 3 great hottubs - only used by the building. Within the building is the restaurant Ember - offering a trendy place to eat. The best part was the ski slope was literally right out the door - with a lift dropping you at that point. We found the whole Snowshoe are easy to manuver around with the free buses. We ate many times in the village - which had a great selection of mountain foods. Overall, this is the place we would prefer to stay going forward since it is so new and has easy access to skiing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beach,va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Platinum location so I thought it would be the best. The Hearth was great for the parents to hang out and have a cocktail. Embers resturant was great as well. The room had a ways to go. No water pressure in the shower, the DVD player in the room was broken, there was popcorn in the pull-out sofa when the kids got ready for bed, could not find the covers and no book to tell where things are found, not enough hooks on the walls or in the bathroom for holding coats etc., locker storage unit was broken
The location was perfect for the slopes.
For almost $400 a night I would have thought the room would have been first class

NO CELL PHONE SERVICE EXCEPT FOR ATT> This is a must in this day and time

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

This is a fairly new (I believe it's 2 years old) condo/hotel in a small ski resort in the West Virginia. The building and rooms are nice and new, staff are courteous, have a very nice lobby with fireplace and tv.

I believe the management company is Intrawest and I have stay at many Intrawest manage ski resorts on the west coast of US and Canada. I also have no idea what other hotel is like for this ski area.

The day we got there we can not check in until 5pm, and we have no idea where to park our cars that are full stuff. There is also absolutely no late checkout allow.

Once we checked in, we need keycard to go to anywhere at anytime, including lobby, elevator, garage, even the main entrance. For a so call platinum level place there charges $800+,per night, if they worry about security they should hire more personnel and security camera instead of treating their guest like a criminal the front door.

There are lots of kids in this place when we are here around New Year Holiday, so it's a failr noisy around, and because the entire building is wood construction, you can hear all the kids jumping around above and next to your place.

This is the first time I ski on the East Coast and honestly I am not impress with the entire ski area. We were here because my wife's families live on the East Coast. For the price I would much prefer any ski resort in the Western US or Canada.

  • Liked — Fairly new and nice building
  • Disliked — keycard entry everywhere at all time, no late check out.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We were looking for a nice place to stay - and found it with Soaring Eagle. My main concern is that this is the only "platinum" rated place to stay at Snowshoe - but does not really approach that level for several reasons listed here.

1. Rooms are big but dark...seems like the lamps are in all the wrong places - and smaller wattage bulbs than what the lamps suggest, for some reason.

2. A big deal is made about "concierge" service, but there is little that they actually do when you manage to reach one. They mostly seem to apologize for various shortcomings. They are also pretty good at putting up little signs around the place telling you what not to do - a minor annoyance but not something you would expect to see at an upscale hotel.

3. Don't count on being connected. Although a flyer in the room told you how to connect to ethernet, our concierge told us, apologetically, that it was "broken". Wi-fi also does not work in the rooms - supposed to work in the lobby but hit or miss most of the time. As visitors to Snowshoe know, there is no cell phone coverage on the mountain. If that is OK, then no problem. Families these days, like ours, use phones to stay in touch with each other on vacation.

4. It is expensive, some rooms costing over 800 a night. Next time I'll go back to some of the other properties we have stayed at before.

5. The Hearth (touted as private wine bar for guests) - is just a section of the lobby with couches. Sometimes a guy shows up behind the bar to serve - his white wine selection consisted of two choices and he was barely able to ring up a purchase which, oddly, cannot be charged to your room.

Overall disappointing for the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Way too expensive for what was offered
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We decided on Snowshoe for our first ever, romantic ski weekend together. It was about a 5hr drive from DC, but well worth it. Check-in went smoothly, despite the very chilly temperatures and then we were very pleasantly surprised with the quality and decor of our room. We stayed in a studio in the Soaring Eagle Lodge that was brand new and we were very happy with the room, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and snow-covered mountains, a living room with seating and a TV, and an alcove with our bed, then a full kitchen with dishes, a dish washer, a stove top, fridge, the works.

Downstairs in Soaring Eagle is a restaurant called Ember, the food was amazing, the ambiance was modern, chic and truly made you forget you were at a ski resort altogether. If you're up to it, you can walk right out of Soaring Eagle and head down the slopes. The main village of the resort is accessible by shuttles which we found to be convenient, even with skiis and gear. The main village has lots of restaurants and shops and the main lodge as well as lots of lodging units. We did one ski lesson, which was very helpful as we were novices. We also took a snowmobile ride that actually took you onto the ski slopes after they were closed, which was exhilerating.

All in all, Snowshoe was a beautiful resort, that surpassed our expectations and gave us a weekend we will never forget.

  • Liked — It has a range of lodging options and restaurants at all price points.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

We stayed at the Soaring Eagle Lodge at Snowshoe Resort in WV Jan 26th-29th and absolutely LOVED IT! We have stayed at a lot of places at Snowshoe (i.e. West Ridge Homes, Snowcrest, Mountain Lodge and Highland House). If you have the extra money Soaring Eagle is well worth it. Nice and clean, ski in ski out, with everything you need right there. Hot tubs are amazing, big cushy down comforters on all the beds including one for the kids on the pull out couch! Huge master bath and king size bed. The only disappointment was that the wine bar was closed during our stay! We love Snowshoe and always come back year after year!

  • Liked — Had all the comforts of home and more.
  • Disliked — Wine bar not open during our stay.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soaring Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soaring Eagle Lodge

Address: One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soaring Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring Eagle offers the most spacious luxury condos atop Snowshoe Mountain. The facility offers rental condominiums, all with full sized kitchens, gas fireplaces, balconies with spectacular mountain views, and private access to all building amenities. Amenities include underground heated parking garage, ski locker room, fitness room, sauna, outdoor hot tubs, and the Hearth Room. Ski-in/ski-out via the Soaring Eagle Express a high-speed quad lift, located steps from the locker room. The lodge has a Concierge and Bellman service team during the winter months for your assistance. The on-site restaurant, South Mountain Grille, offers contemporary American fare combined with warm and polished service.  A scratch kitchen, extensive wine list, and premium spirits contribute to an exceptional dining experience. Elk River Snowboard & Ski Rental Shop is also in the building, and very conveniently located near the ski locker room. Soaring Eagle Lodge is also available as a destination wedding venue during the Summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Soaring Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soaring Eagle Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soaring Eagle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.