We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where we will stay at Snowshoe from now on!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soaring Eagle Lodge

Soaring Eagle Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Soaring Eagle Lodge to your Saves list
Soaring Eagle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“This is where we will stay at Snowshoe from now on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second stay at Snowshoe for a long snowboarding weekend. The first time, my husband and I stayed at Rimfire (see my TripAdvisor review), which was convenient to the heart of the Village, but was also very noisy and had no on-site staff for any kind of assistance. So this year we were in search of a peaceful/restful, more upscale accommodation. We found exactly that in Soaring Eagle!

We stayed in #409, which was beautiful and looked exactly as pictured or even better. Check-in was seamless - we were greeted at the front desk and were offered assistance with our luggage. We found everything we needed in this perfectly appointed condo. The bed was comfortable, and I was actually able to get some sleep since I never heard a sound from another guest despite the busy weekend. Two of my favorite amenities include the heated parking garage with plenty of spots, and the locker room on the first floor to safely store your gear. South Mountain Grille restaurant is also on the first floor, providing a convenient place to grab drinks or a bite to eat. The hearth room is gorgeous and provides a warm meeting spot to get a drink or a nice place to sit with a good book. Just next door to SEL is a small ski shop, another bar/restaurant and also a lift ticket window, so while it's not super close to the main part of the Village, you're not completely remote either. And you're only a few steps away from several trails and the Soaring Eagle Express lift, so this truly is a ski-in-ski-out property. This is the only place I'll stay in the future.

I would only hesitate to recommend Soaring Eagle Lodge if you prefer to be in the midst of all the action. Getting to the Village shops requires either a long, cold walk, or a short ride on the shuttle. The enclosed/heated shuttle stop is conveniently right outside the SEL building, and the shuttles do come quite frequently. But if you're wanting to walk right outside and get to all of the shops and restaurants, this might not be the best choice. We highly prefer quiet, restful sleep over everything else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to snowshoe resort many times, but this was my first stay at Soaring Eagle. Its the newest development at snowshoe and they know how to treat you. I was greeted at the door by Erica and she gave me an explanation of where everything was. You park inside a heated garage. Unpacking your car inside instead of outside in the freezing weather is incredible. It's snowing here right now and I went downstairs to get a book out of my car in my pajamas. The lodge is beautiful and the main area is a great place to hang out when not skiing. A great place to relax and read a book. There are private storage lockers to store all your ski equipment and the slopes and ski lift are right outside the door. All the rooms have kitchens, but there is a restaurant downstairs that has great food. This place is very secure, You need a room key to get into the storage locker room or to get onto the elevator. Its also very quiet. I will stay here from now on when I visit Snowshoe.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room overlooking the ski slopes because its fun to see all the activity, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I simply cannot say enough positive things about our stay @ Soaring Eagle Lodge Unit 409. The unit is well appointed and clean. The view from the balcony is breathtaking especially at sunrise. The Hearth Room is a great place to read a book by one of the most beautiful fireplaces I have ever seen.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n va
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

a wonderful and inviting property. However, ...

Snowshoe builds their base from the village outward; consequently since the property is some distance from the village,there is a better than average chance of a shuttle ride to a lift. In addition, in cold temperatures it is just too far to walk to the village, pool, shops and dining..especially after a good meal and drinks.

Bottom line...although a good stay, it is just poorly located.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Soaring Eagle over Thanksgiving weekend. I woudn't call it great but it was definitely better than Seneca where we stayed last December. They still advertise it (along with Seneca) as the newest accomodations on the mountain and the sales reps claim that both are a couple of years old. They are not. I think both were built around 2007.

Soaring Eagle is still in good shape but not brand new. The unit we got was a "deluxe" studio. It was in much better condition than the one we got at Seneca (old and run down). The furniture was decent - used but not warn out. The matress was good and we managed to get a good night sleep. Our 5 year old slept on a pull-out couch and seemed happy about it. The sheets and towels were pretty warn out, so don't expect luxury there. We used our own blankets.

The kitchen was pretty decent - everything worked. We ate breakfast in the room and heated up lunch leftovers for dinner. The bathroom was okay too. The water pressure was pretty low but everything else worked.

When it comes to housekeeping at Snowshoe, don't expect much. They'll bring fresh towels and pick up trash daily but that's about it. I don't think there is any cleaning going on. I seriously doubt that anyone ever vacuums the floor or wipes any surfaces. The lighting in the bathroom was pretty low, so it's hard to judge how clean it really was. The bathroom flooring was dark stone tiles, so it was hard to see anything on it.

Again, compared to Seneca it was much much better but we also had lower expectations this time. The bulding has an underground heated parking but I think it would fill up fast during busy times, so don't count on it if you come here when the building is full. Ski lockers are on the same level with parking, so you don't have to drag your skis in the elevator like you do at Seneca. A big plus when you travel with kids who can't carry their own equipment.

Ski in/ski out was not available when we were there. Skiing was either at the main ski area off the village or in Silver Creek. There is a shuttle stop within a short walk from the building which is great when everyone in your party can carry their own equipment. If you have kids who can barely walk in their ski boots and you have to carry their skis in addition to yours, driving might be a better option. You can unload by the rental shop at the Expedition Station across from the kid's ski school carpet. They rent lockers for 7 dollars a day if you need to store your shoes and extra sweaters, pants, gloves, snacks, etc. for the kids. They also have restrooms. Parking can be a bit tricky. We parked at the parking lot just below the village which was open for general parking when we were there. Normally, it's a gated lot. I think your room key will get you in but I am not positive.

The restaurant at the Soaring Eagle was closed when we were there, so we ate at the village. There is a pizza place - our picky kid ate their cheese pizza. The Junction had a kid menu but our kid didn't want anything off of it.

There is no cell phone reception, so bring a phone card if you want to use your room phone. Wired internet worked some days. Talk to the person in the lobby if it doesn't - they might be able to help. They also have an internet kiosk in the lobby where you can look up weather or check your e-mail if you can't get your in-room internet to work.

A word of advice, it you are planning your first trip to Snowshoe, don't assume that room prices correspond with room quality. Those accomodations classified as deluxe by Snowshoe have nothing deluxe about them. Just lower your expectations and come prepared and you will enjoy your stay. We enjoyed it a lot more the second time around mainly because we didn't expect much. I would definitely stay again at Soaring Eagle especially if there is a ski in/out option. Otherwise, it's a bit of a logistical hassle especially if you travel with young kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked a one bedroom penthouse unit and it was great! We had underground parking, lockers, hot tubs and ski in ski out accommodations! We are returning at the end of the year and will rebook probably in February.

Room Tip: The studio units are spacious and seem to have just as much square footage as the one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were at Snowshoe this summer for a wedding trip. What a terrific place to visit. The town is beautifully situated at the top of a mountain and had many things to do in the summertime, including great mountain biking terrain. It must be great for winter skiing too. We stayed in a beautiful condo at Soaring Eagle Lodge (#404). The building is great with features like hot tubs, sauna and underground parking. And the 404 condo had unbelievable views. It literally has 180 degree mountain views and looked to us to be the highest condo in all Snowshoe. It was also gorgeous inside, with nice furniture throughout, large flat panel TV's in the living room and all 3 bedrooms and DVD/Bluray players. We did eat in a couple of nights and the kitchen had everything we could possibly need and (thank goodness for my kids) had free WiFi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Soaring Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soaring Eagle Lodge

Address: One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soaring Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring Eagle offers the most spacious luxury condos atop Snowshoe Mountain. The facility offers rental condominiums, all with full sized kitchens, gas fireplaces, balconies with spectacular mountain views, and private access to all building amenities. Amenities include underground heated parking garage, ski locker room, fitness room, sauna, outdoor hot tubs, and the Hearth Room. Ski-in/ski-out via the Soaring Eagle Express a high-speed quad lift, located steps from the locker room. The lodge has a Concierge and Bellman service team during the winter months for your assistance. The on-site restaurant, South Mountain Grille, offers contemporary American fare combined with warm and polished service.  A scratch kitchen, extensive wine list, and premium spirits contribute to an exceptional dining experience. Elk River Snowboard & Ski Rental Shop is also in the building, and very conveniently located near the ski locker room. Soaring Eagle Lodge is also available as a destination wedding venue during the Summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Soaring Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soaring Eagle Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soaring Eagle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;