We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soaring Eagle Lodge

Soaring Eagle Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Soaring Eagle Lodge to your Saves list
Soaring Eagle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked a one bedroom penthouse unit and it was great! We had underground parking, lockers, hot tubs and ski in ski out accommodations! We are returning at the end of the year and will rebook probably in February.

Room Tip: The studio units are spacious and seem to have just as much square footage as the one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were at Snowshoe this summer for a wedding trip. What a terrific place to visit. The town is beautifully situated at the top of a mountain and had many things to do in the summertime, including great mountain biking terrain. It must be great for winter skiing too. We stayed in a beautiful condo at Soaring Eagle Lodge (#404). The building is great with features like hot tubs, sauna and underground parking. And the 404 condo had unbelievable views. It literally has 180 degree mountain views and looked to us to be the highest condo in all Snowshoe. It was also gorgeous inside, with nice furniture throughout, large flat panel TV's in the living room and all 3 bedrooms and DVD/Bluray players. We did eat in a couple of nights and the kitchen had everything we could possibly need and (thank goodness for my kids) had free WiFi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a lot of reasons, but there also some aspects of this property—and Snowshoe as a whole that you need to be aware of.

We took a three bedroom, two bathroom condo in the Soaring Eagle complex. It was very nicely furnished, and eight of us were quite comfortable. There are three outdoor jacuzzis attached to the property, which is nice after a day of skiing. There is also the great room near the front desk to hang out in. It is 3-4 stories high, paneled in wood, with a large wood-burning fireplace, flat screen tv, and a wine bar that opens after 5.

The location can’t be beat. It is right at the top of the mountain, so you can literally ski out from the complex. You don’t even have to take the lift. You are at the top of the mountain, so you just put on your skis and GO. We had advanced and beginning skiers in our group, and this was fine for everyone. There is a black run going straight down the hill, but there is also a green run traversing the hill. So everyone’s happy. The rental facilities are directly across from the complex, and rental equipment can be returned at any location on the mountain. There is night skiing in the Silver Creek area until 9 pm. You would need to take a (free) shuttle to get there.

When you stay at the Soaring Eagle, you park your car in the underground *locked* complex. In fact, the whole idea of the Soaring Eagle is security, capital S. You are given card keys to use, and you will need them to access:

--the door into the property
--the elevator
--your hallway, if you are on the ground floor
--the locker room area
--your room
--the Jacuzzis

In other words, you’ll be using these keys all the time. And for whatever reason, these cards are constantly malfunctioning. I recommend that when you check in, you get one for each member of your party, and then a few extras. We had members of our party out skiing whose cards stopped working, so they couldn’t get back into the condo at lunch. Well, why didn’t they just use their cell phones? Glad you asked!!!

Snowshoe is in a National Quiet Zone, because it contains the National Radio Astronomy Observatory. There is *no* cell phone reception—not even with AT & T (other posters have mentioned this, but it isn’t true—eight of us had AT & T and no one got reception. I got a glimmer once and sent a text, but it failed to send.)

I recommend that if you have a group that you want to stay in contact with, you use walkie talkies.

That means there is also no wi-fi. Now, personally, I see this as a positive. If I take my darling children skiing, the last thing I want them to be doing is texting friends and staring at screens. A break from the internet is a good and healthy thing. Be aware though, that you can request cables from the front desk (free) and hook up your computer for internet if you need it. Sigh.

A word about the staff. They were incredibly helpful. There was literally not enough they could do for us. Extra keys? No problem! You haven’t checked in? Let me open up the garage—I’ll run right down. We asked for extra towels and trash bags, and a hefty bag full of them were delivered to our door within the hour. We also asked for a potholder, as there wasn’t one in the condo, and it was there very quickly. The staff are responsive, quick, and helpful.

A word about groceries. Soaring Eagle no longer has a grocery (this is as of 2012). They used to, but the restaurant changed ownership, and they closed the grocery. The closest place to buy groceries is 30 minutes away. And they don’t sell wine or beer there. So, BYOB.

All in all a good stay—one I would repeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Although the lift outside the lodge was not opened due to mother natures uncooperation, it would have been an awesome place to stay if there were snow. You slip on your skis or grab your snowboard, walk out the locker room and you are on the slopes. We did use the buses to get to the runs in the village and all bus drivers were very courteous. Enjoyed spending our Christmas there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The best location at Snowshoe .... for me. Let me explain. I really value being able to ski right out the back door onto the type of terrain that I enjoy. Soaring Eagle is at the crest of the abundant black diamond territory accessed by the Soaring Eagle lift, and you don't have to wade through the long lift lines elsewhere but once or twice per day. You ski right out onto Widowmaker or Camp 99, for instance.

The lodge itself has a beautiful and soaring wood-paneled common area. The fires crackle at night and you can have drinks and food there as well. The studios and apartments are quite nice, and the ones we have rented have had excellent views as well. You may encounter the usual missing light bulb or leaky faucet. It is a rental facility, after all.

My regret is that Ember restaurant, which used to be located right in the building, is no longer there.

For people who really want the action of the village, Soaring Eagle might feel a bit out of the way. For me, I positively did NOT want the action of the village. The quiet of Soaring Eagle and the easy ability to go to Ember for dinner made an ideal environment. I have not been back since Ember closed, so I can't speak about that restaurant's replacement.

Lastly, Soaring Eagle has underground parking, which I find very useful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Loved the place. We had a studio apt and had a great time. The people were super nice and did anything to make our stay great. Cant wait to go back..From Alabama

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Ive been staying at various Snowshoe properties for 20 years and Soaring Eagle was by far the most luxurious and best staffed Ive seen. Make sure to take advantage of the wonderful Hearth room for evening cocktails with Jimmy the excellent bartender. Embers restaurant is far and away the best restaurant on the mountain and the hot tubs, locker room and the units themselves remind me of the best properties in Vail and Aspen.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soaring Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soaring Eagle Lodge

Address: One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soaring Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring Eagle offers the most spacious luxury condos atop Snowshoe Mountain. The facility offers rental condominiums, all with full sized kitchens, gas fireplaces, balconies with spectacular mountain views, and private access to all building amenities. Amenities include underground heated parking garage, ski locker room, fitness room, sauna, outdoor hot tubs, and the Hearth Room. Ski-in/ski-out via the Soaring Eagle Express a high-speed quad lift, located steps from the locker room. The lodge has a Concierge and Bellman service team during the winter months for your assistance. The on-site restaurant, South Mountain Grille, offers contemporary American fare combined with warm and polished service.  A scratch kitchen, extensive wine list, and premium spirits contribute to an exceptional dining experience. Elk River Snowboard & Ski Rental Shop is also in the building, and very conveniently located near the ski locker room. Soaring Eagle Lodge is also available as a destination wedding venue during the Summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Soaring Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soaring Eagle Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soaring Eagle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.