We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowshoe, WV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soaring Eagle Lodge

Soaring Eagle Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Soaring Eagle Lodge to your Saves list
Soaring Eagle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Snowshoe, WV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Although the lift outside the lodge was not opened due to mother natures uncooperation, it would have been an awesome place to stay if there were snow. You slip on your skis or grab your snowboard, walk out the locker room and you are on the slopes. We did use the buses to get to the runs in the village and all bus drivers were very courteous. Enjoyed spending our Christmas there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The best location at Snowshoe .... for me. Let me explain. I really value being able to ski right out the back door onto the type of terrain that I enjoy. Soaring Eagle is at the crest of the abundant black diamond territory accessed by the Soaring Eagle lift, and you don't have to wade through the long lift lines elsewhere but once or twice per day. You ski right out onto Widowmaker or Camp 99, for instance.

The lodge itself has a beautiful and soaring wood-paneled common area. The fires crackle at night and you can have drinks and food there as well. The studios and apartments are quite nice, and the ones we have rented have had excellent views as well. You may encounter the usual missing light bulb or leaky faucet. It is a rental facility, after all.

My regret is that Ember restaurant, which used to be located right in the building, is no longer there.

For people who really want the action of the village, Soaring Eagle might feel a bit out of the way. For me, I positively did NOT want the action of the village. The quiet of Soaring Eagle and the easy ability to go to Ember for dinner made an ideal environment. I have not been back since Ember closed, so I can't speak about that restaurant's replacement.

Lastly, Soaring Eagle has underground parking, which I find very useful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Loved the place. We had a studio apt and had a great time. The people were super nice and did anything to make our stay great. Cant wait to go back..From Alabama

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Ive been staying at various Snowshoe properties for 20 years and Soaring Eagle was by far the most luxurious and best staffed Ive seen. Make sure to take advantage of the wonderful Hearth room for evening cocktails with Jimmy the excellent bartender. Embers restaurant is far and away the best restaurant on the mountain and the hot tubs, locker room and the units themselves remind me of the best properties in Vail and Aspen.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We have stayed at Soaring Eagle for the past 3 ski seasons, a few times each year since they opened. Since then the conceirge has been replaced with a very friendly and helpful woman. Great rooms, various sizes for whatever your lodging needs may be. You can book from the owners directly on vrbo or other such website- our preference and highly recommend this for saving $ and better service! or you must book with Snowshoe directly which will definately result in a different stay overall. Snowshoe's bookings are very black and white, no room for personal service but if you lack time or cannot find a specific unit to fit your needs I suppose this is the way you'd have to go. Booking through the owners (we've stayed at 2 different units) has always worked perfectly, smooth and any (very few) issues were always remedied immediately!!!
Once the remote didn't work but within 5 minutes we had new batteries waiting at our door and another time there was a lack of dish soap which was just mearly overlooked and delivered immediately. Nothing to complain about overall. This could happen anywhere and so long as they remedy it- even better!!!
Hot tubs are very nice, 3 to choose from. Workout facilities, dedicated massage room and sauna are all kept clean. The Hearth room is cozy even in it's expansiveness. In a stay last January (when there were more guests in the area) they had a local band play and served drinks as well. Very fun! Other times you can sit by the roaring wood fire place and just enjoy a game or good book. Heated garage is a wonderful amenity not found at many other location on the mtn. Rooms are equiped with nice appliances in the full size kitchens and most basic utensils, pots and pans to make eating a few meals at home a breeze. We've stayed all over the US and Canada and are more pleased with the selection they offer in the kitchen!! Good job Soaring Eagle! there is even a blender and a crockpot which is wonderful after a long day skiing to come home to a ready meal. Just a few steps from the lodge is the bus stop so you're never far from a short trip down the mtn to the main village. The Soaring Eagle express lift is just outside your door as well. So when it's running it's even easier to come 'home'! A ski rental shop, Mtn Top Check-In (you must go there to gather your keys if renting from Snowshoe, and also stop by there if renting from an owner if you get in past 10pm), a restaurant called Ember, and a Marketplace for getting a few bites to bring home are all in the building or just next door for your convenience.
In regards to other reviewers...."no cell phone service" No where on the Mtn is this possible except with the carrier ATT and that is only during certain times and select locations. That's not Soaring Eagles fault. If you can't handle being without cell service for a few days you might try another mtn altogether. They do all offer phones and our internet has always worked perfectly to help keep you connected. Also, the key cards must be used all over the building and garage. If you have seen some of the people that "sneak" into other lodgings over the mountain you would appreciate having to keep your card available a few extra times a day. It's also a great thing because you never have to worry about people just loitering around getting everything soppy and smelly during the winter at your cozy clean lodge. Or taking up all the heated parking when it's bone chilling outside. Not to mention it keeps 'others' not staying at SE from lounging in the wonderful and private, clean hot tubs. Key card access is also needed to get to the lockers where your ski gear can be stored in a locker with a combination provided to you at check-in.
A few other plus's is the no-smoking policy throughout, Gas Fireplaces in the rooms, Flat Screen TVs, lots of wood and Mission style furniture, Cozy warm colors throughout rooms and guest areas, and Views from the decks just off every room! A few deers and bears have been sited throughout the months and always look to enjoy their time stopping at Soaring Eagle!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Fantastic amenities and extremely clean and new. Complimentary lockers for guests and a small market for the basics. Discounted equipment rental to guests. Outdoor hot tubs were not packed with people. Fitness center and sauna were well maintained and orderly. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Heated parking under the lodge was a nice touch. The hearth room was comfortable and has two large wood fireplaces. We stayed in unit 408. Very nicely decorated and did not have the feel of a typical vacation rental. We will rent again. [-] Would recommend to anyone interested in a vacation rental on Snowshoe Mountain.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddwack_1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed with friends at their condo (#409) which they rent out too. We were amaxed from the moment we walked in. The kitchen is large, stainless steel and grainte - - everything you need. The bathroom was huge. We slept on the pullout, which was very comfortable for a pullout. Balcony was great too - with a nice view. The condo's have 3 great hottubs - only used by the building. Within the building is the restaurant Ember - offering a trendy place to eat. The best part was the ski slope was literally right out the door - with a lift dropping you at that point. We found the whole Snowshoe are easy to manuver around with the free buses. We ate many times in the village - which had a great selection of mountain foods. Overall, this is the place we would prefer to stay going forward since it is so new and has easy access to skiing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soaring Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soaring Eagle Lodge

Address: One Soaring Eagle Blvd., Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soaring Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring Eagle offers the most spacious luxury condos atop Snowshoe Mountain. The facility offers rental condominiums, all with full sized kitchens, gas fireplaces, balconies with spectacular mountain views, and private access to all building amenities. Amenities include underground heated parking garage, ski locker room, fitness room, sauna, outdoor hot tubs, and the Hearth Room. Ski-in/ski-out via the Soaring Eagle Express a high-speed quad lift, located steps from the locker room. The lodge has a Concierge and Bellman service team during the winter months for your assistance. The on-site restaurant, South Mountain Grille, offers contemporary American fare combined with warm and polished service.  A scratch kitchen, extensive wine list, and premium spirits contribute to an exceptional dining experience. Elk River Snowboard & Ski Rental Shop is also in the building, and very conveniently located near the ski locker room. Soaring Eagle Lodge is also available as a destination wedding venue during the Summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Soaring Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soaring Eagle Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soaring Eagle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.