We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain

Save Saved
You added Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   PO Box 10, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for a reunion this past weekend. It was a little hard to find in the fog and rain of the arrival day as there's only a sign from one direction on Snowshoe Drive. We had a deluxe double condo with two full baths, a nice large living area and kitchen area. Both king beds were comforatable and the condo well appointed. Our room looked over the area where the mountain bikers start off on their plunge down the hill and the ski lift. There is no wifi in the room, but they provided a hard wire connection. (I think some condo owners have wifi, but not all). Beware the cell phone coverage is very spotty. I had ATand T in the main area, but not in the room. My family w Verizon had none. It's something to do with a radio silence area, having to do with a large research radio telescope near by. The resort area is really great! Included in the reservation was the use of the ski lifts, all the watercraft activities at the lake at the bottom of the hill and a small (kids) climbing wall and bungie. We had dinner at a number of the local restuarants and found them very good. The best activities are the hiking and trails in my book though, and they are free. There is an extra charge for the zip line. There are activities for additional price like horseback riding and segue tours, but make sure to book early as these sell out. The resort offers a all inclusive pass for an additional $150, but you'd have to book and get booking on a whole lot of the activities to make it worth it. We found the included fun pass with the lake, hikes, mountain biking and events at our reunion more than enough! There is free parking, but it's across the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Allegheny Springs several times. I was a little less enthusiastic about our unit this time, but the rooms are privately owned so I should have remembered to reserve the unit we had previously. My son was intrigued by the VCR. We were there for a blues, brews and BBQ festival, and it was fun to watch everyone from our balcony. $200 per night for a junior studio was steep, but we received free fun passes that covered a surprising number of activities both in the village and at the lake. And Allegheny has its own pool, so you don't have to fight the crowds at the main Split Rock pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at Allegheny Springs for a Reunion, and found my room 244 recently decorated and very spacious--2br, each w/2Q, 2bath, den with a fold out couch and more seating, and a real dining area with a spacious table. I did not cook, but the kitchenette seemed well stocked and there was a large fridge. I visited in the summer, but I think I would have been very happy with the room for a winter ski trip with four kids, or even another couple with kids and all the ski gear. Desk staff were very courteous and the two lounge areas were great for meeting/greeting and even for an evening sing-along. Since this accommodation consists of private condos and is not a hotel, I did miss the option of a guest message board for making contacts. I would definitely choose Allegheny Springs over the other accommodations I saw near the Village area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (144, 244, etc.) facing the mountain have a green view of the top of chair lifts and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Snowshoe touts this as their "luxury" hotel. I would place it in a much more average category, similar to Comfort Inn, Hampton Inn, etc. Clean, but certainly not luxurious.

We rented a one-bedroom. Fully functional kitchen. Fold-out sofa in the living room was adequate for the small kids, but an adult certainly wouldn't want to sleep there, especially after a long day of skiing. Separate bedroom was nice as it allowed us to stay up and read after the kids went to sleep.

As stated previously, this is in no way a luxury hotel. Very average and mundane fit and finish. Linens are of pretty low quality. Very clean, though.

The hotel touts a year-round outdoor pool. Supposedly heated to 89 degrees in the winter. The pool was freezing in late March. I'd estimate the pool temperature to be in the upper sixties, maybe low seventies. I didn't see a soul get in during our entire stay. The hot tub was nice, though. Just don't promise your kids a pool in the winter or they'll be very disappointed.

Bellhops completely unwilling to help with luggage, etc. Front desk not overly helpful either.

Location is great with true ski-in/ski-out. If needed rentals are downstairs. Nice ski lockers come with the room.

Be prepared for a lack of communications which could be good or bad depending on your vacation goals. Apparently some limited ATT cell service, but absolutely no other cell service from any providers. No calls, no text, no data. Shockingly there is no wi-fi in the rooms. Maybe the only hotel on the face of the planet that doesn't have wi-fi. They do provide an ethernet cord and jack in the dining area which wasn't too convenient for us. Obviously the ethernet cord doesn't help at all if you are planning on using your Ipad or cell for data. Disconnecting from the world can be good on vacation, just be prepared.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family stayed at Allegheny Springs in a 2BR suite, and we found it fairly spacious, well appointed and clean. Our biggest complaint was the noise. Our neighbors woke us up in the middle of the night with their noise, and the crowd in the jacuzzi was quite loud as well around midnight (even though the pool supposedly closes at 10 p.m.). I wish Snowshoe would have separate lodgings (or at least portions of properties) designated to families (or just for those who want a more quiet stay). Otherwise, I wish Allegheny would have been a bit more strict about ensuring guests were not noisy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When we got to the hotel, our room wasn't ready so they gave us a voucher to get dinner. They were really kind and actually apologetic for not being prepared. Once we got into our room, it still wasn't completely clean (oreos and eye drop packets were on the floor in the bedroom). However, the rest of the place was clean and didn't smell (we've had problems with the smell at Expedition Station). Our room faced the pool and village. We were there during Ball Hooter Spring Break so they were having concerts in the village. They were good about making sure the noise was done at a descent hour. The front desk staff were always polite and welcoming. They made sure to make us feel special and went out of their way to tell me about how good my kids had been that week. The ski lockers are not very convenient to the rooms as you have to go outside then back in again but it's not a deal breaker. We are just used to Expedition Stations locker room. Allegheny's lockers were easier to maneuver and had places to sit down. Not to mention that they are right at the exit of Ball Hooter lift. You can even get to the Hootenanny trail to get to Soaring Eagle lift without having to go across the entire mountain. You are, also, in easy access to Split Rocks pool (but you have your own pool), Starbucks, shops and Junction Station). We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were looking for a last minute trip to the mountains and this exceeded my expectations. Great facilities and great family activities that were included in the stay. Everything was in walking distance from our hotel room. The lake activities and hikes were my favorite and the kids enjoyed the treasure hunt. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain

Address: PO Box 10, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located slopeside, adjacent to the Ballhooter Lift, Allegheny Springs features standard rooms, studio, one, two and three bedroom units offering high quality furnishings and amenities including internet access. Units feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplaces and balcony (standard units do not have kitchen, fireplace or balcony; junior studio units do not have a full kitchen, and only a select few of these units will have fireplace or balcony.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegheny Springs Condos At Snowshoe Mountain Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.