We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain to your Saves list
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   PO Box 10, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good except for noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family stayed at Allegheny Springs in a 2BR suite, and we found it fairly spacious, well appointed and clean. Our biggest complaint was the noise. Our neighbors woke us up in the middle of the night with their noise, and the crowd in the jacuzzi was quite loud as well around midnight (even though the pool supposedly closes at 10 p.m.). I wish Snowshoe would have separate lodgings (or at least portions of properties) designated to families (or just for those who want a more quiet stay). Otherwise, I wish Allegheny would have been a bit more strict about ensuring guests were not noisy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When we got to the hotel, our room wasn't ready so they gave us a voucher to get dinner. They were really kind and actually apologetic for not being prepared. Once we got into our room, it still wasn't completely clean (oreos and eye drop packets were on the floor in the bedroom). However, the rest of the place was clean and didn't smell (we've had problems with the smell at Expedition Station). Our room faced the pool and village. We were there during Ball Hooter Spring Break so they were having concerts in the village. They were good about making sure the noise was done at a descent hour. The front desk staff were always polite and welcoming. They made sure to make us feel special and went out of their way to tell me about how good my kids had been that week. The ski lockers are not very convenient to the rooms as you have to go outside then back in again but it's not a deal breaker. We are just used to Expedition Stations locker room. Allegheny's lockers were easier to maneuver and had places to sit down. Not to mention that they are right at the exit of Ball Hooter lift. You can even get to the Hootenanny trail to get to Soaring Eagle lift without having to go across the entire mountain. You are, also, in easy access to Split Rocks pool (but you have your own pool), Starbucks, shops and Junction Station). We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were looking for a last minute trip to the mountains and this exceeded my expectations. Great facilities and great family activities that were included in the stay. Everything was in walking distance from our hotel room. The lake activities and hikes were my favorite and the kids enjoyed the treasure hunt. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked into Allegheny Springs on Sunday night to Friday. We booked through VRBO for Monday - Friday, but decided to come up a day early. The staff at the Hotel were terrific, they let us book in for 1 night prior to our VRBO stay, the concierge meet all our needs. As far as available grocery stores, I would recommend you come prepared for meals unless you intend to eat out everyday. We did eat out at the Sunset Cantina, It was wonderful, food was quick, and tasted terrific. We also eat out at the Fox Fire Grill, we were not impressed, the food took forever to come out, and it was extremely busy. After a full day of MOW MOW the POW POW, we were very hungry. As far as Allegheny Springs goes, night 1 we booked a regular hotel room on the Mountain side top floor, it was terrific, very clean room, great view of the mountain. The 1 bedroom vrbo we booked from Monday - Friday, was on the first floor facing the pool, actually only steps to the pool, this came in handy at night. ONLY complaint, it is too noisy for our family, I could hear the voices of my neighbors above us and beside. I would highly recommend booking your stay from a ski point of view from Monday to Friday, the lift lines were not busy and the skiing was awesome, 6 inches of fresh powder. Great for the East coast. If you are booking and have a larger group, I would recommend Black Bear Crossing, it is truly an upscale spot, and in Feb it is ski in/ski out. It is missing the pool, but your balconies have a hot tub. "private hot tub" Overall, Allegheny was good, comfort wise, beds did not meet our expectations, firm, not enough pillows, kitchen was what you would expect in a hotel style condo, limited. It meet our needs for this ski trip, but in the future I will be back to Black Bear Crossing.

Room Tip: I would recommend top floor unit here, facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a great time at snowshoe, but the front desk staff at allegheny springs made many mistakes. When we first checked in, they said my credit card was declined. After checking with my bank, we realized the card was entered with an incorrect expiration date by the front desk staffer. After this initial embarrassing moment and struggling to contact my bank on a weekend, we tried again at check out. I explained what happened the first time, and presented my card a second time. The new staffer re-entered my card information with the correct expiration date. At this point she accidentally credited my card with the full amount, instead of debiting... So, now she had to run the card for double the amount. Luckily, I had enough to cover... The credit will not show up for 2 days, but the debit shows up immediately. Overall, these mistakes resulted in a very poor customer experience. The front desk staff was very friendly, but multiple mistakes made it a stressful and anxious weekend. If you decide to stay at allegheny springs, make sure you have plenty of money to cover any processing mistakes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After being very disappointed with other properties over the years at Snowshoe (Rimfire, Mountain Lodge) we finally found Allegheny Springs last year. This is the second year we stayed here, and we have been very satisfied. If you are expecting luxurious rooms, or sound proof rooms and other perks like a great hotel elsewhere, then you may be disappointed. It is in a ski resort in West Virginia after all. Having said that we like being right off the slopes ( Snowcat right outside your window at 4 am!) and the staff (on site concierge) is very helpful, and nice. This is the best place we have stayed while at Snowshoe, and we will always try to return here in the future.

Room Tip: We have three in our party and get the one bedroom plus. Slope side with 2 queen beds, and the livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved the condo, but since we were traveling with our two young kids, who were in snow school, the first day, I wish we had stayed at Rimfire Lodge or Highland House. Loved the unit, and we would stay there again (although it was small hike to the parking lot), but next time we'll try Rimfire Lodge (with underground parking) or Highland House (right off the slope).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#8 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#5 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#13 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#6 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain

Address: PO Box 10, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located slopeside, adjacent to the Ballhooter Lift, Allegheny Springs features standard rooms, studio, one, two and three bedroom units offering high quality furnishings and amenities including internet access. Units feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplaces and balcony (standard units do not have kitchen, fireplace or balcony; junior studio units do not have a full kitchen, and only a select few of these units will have fireplace or balcony.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegheny Springs Condos At Snowshoe Mountain Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.