We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Fire on the Mountain Chili Cook-Off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snowshoe Mountain Resort

Snowshoe Mountain Resort
10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
+1 877-441-4386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Snowshoe
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Start with an 11,000 acre playground serving up the best of the mountains, however you like it. Your days here are like having dessert first. Our Village is situated atop the mountain and gives you access to spa-ing, shopping and even dancing. It all feels better at 4,848 feet.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Clendenin, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2014 Fire on the Mountain Chili Cook-Off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Rimfire Lodge room # 419 for the Snowshoe Fire on the Mountain Chili Cook-Off. For a fun time you don't want to miss this. It takes place every year around the second week of July. This is a good place to bring the little ones as well. Village central is the best place to stay because of the music stage and the hot chili pepper eating contest held on the day of the cook-off. There are plenty of nice places to eat and drink and a good time will be had by all.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    136
    48
    33
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Off season not a lot open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Taking the lift down to Shaver Lake and paddle boating was properly the highlight of our visit. Housekeeping service was sporadic. No cell phone service in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is not new. But the staff was super friendly. It has a window air conditioner which is ok little noisy. The next morning they serve breakfast. They have the usual cereal, some fruit and biscuit and gravy. The lodge gives you ski passes to ride the ski lifts which is nice even though we were there in June no snow. Beautiful place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lived and skied in WV all my life. By far the best ski resort in WV and surrounding areas. With winter sports, comes winter weather. Gets very cold on the mountain and can receive a foot or more snow in a matter of days. Only downfall of the resort is the location. It is surrounded by national forest land, so there is not really any developed areas off of the resort. This limits motel and restaurant options to what is on the mountain.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good skiing - good staff - limited WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife, nephew and I went to Snowshoe Ski Resort this past New Years Day week for 3 days of skiing. While the skiing was good, there were a few disappointments with the lodging. 

When we booked our reservation, we were assured that the pull out sofa bed in our room had a Full Size Queen mattress. While it was a Queen, my nephew had to sleep on it "as a sofa" since the hard metal support bar was painful to sleep on. He’s over 6 foot tall.

The "Top of The World" staff checking us in (and out) were actually very helpful. In fact, most of the resort staff were helpful and friendly.

The limited WiFi reception in the rooms was quite unexpected and disappointing. We stayed in Mountain Lodge and had difficulty getting WiFi in the room; we were told there were only a limited number of “WiFi slots” available. There weren’t even any ethernet jacks in the room. When everyone was off the slopes, it was difficult to get even brief times of connection. Also, the cell phone reception (AT&T only) was sporadic at best. We learned of these shortcomings only after arrival - I didn’t see any mention of it on the website or from the reservations staff during booking.

Although it was a 13 hour drive, we felt it was cheaper and less time consuming than flying - remember when Winter Storm “Hercules” cancelled so many flights and stranded folks across the country. If you are in this part of the country, you may already know about Snowshoe. If you haven’t been, it’s closer than Colorado and worth the drive.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowshoe Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Snowshoe Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowshoe Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.