We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant was overpriced and not tasty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Snowshoe Mountain Resort

Snowshoe Mountain Resort
10 Snowshoe Dr., Snowshoe, WV 26209
+1 877-441-4386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Snowshoe
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Snowshoe Mountain Resort is a four-season mountain playground. In the winter months, Snowshoe is home to the best skiing and snowboarding in the Mid-Atlantic and southeast with an elevation of 4848', 1500' vertical drop and 244 skiable acres! The summer transforms the mountain to a world-class mountain biking destination, a home to amazing summer events such as the Blues, Brews & BBQ festival and fun outdoor activities for the whole family. Come check out what all the buzz is about at Snowshoe Mountain Resort. You Belong Up Here.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Restaurant was overpriced and not tasty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This restaurant definitely has the market cornered since there really isn't much in the area and I mean nothing for at least a 30 minute min. drive away! The food was bleh, overpriced and service was lazy. The only reason to go here is if you have to eat a meal before you leave the area.
Also note that there is NO cell service and despite being on the top of a mountain there is not a scenic view from the restaurant or the parking lot- if you want that, do the turn off view on your way down.
I would not recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    102
    30
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snowshoe Birthday weekend with 2 - 12 year olds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lots of fun for a birthday weekend.. Ziplining, Skiing, Tubing and Snow Mobiles..Not to mention great food, pool and a little shopping time. We did it all and had a great time.. Beautiful and will do it again next year.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Snowshoe Mountain Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice place to retreat from the summer heat. A variety of restaurants, although only a couple were open at any given time (in August). Beautiful scenery, although we missed the chairlift ride due to rain and fog. We stayed at the Inn at Snowshoe, bottom of the mountain. It's a 6 mile, winding uphill road to the top. Not convenient for dining etc. Recommend you stay at the top of the mountain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited the resort with a group of friends and stayed at the LeatherBark Condos for the weekend. We rented 5 condos and the condos were nice, no two condos were the same. Our group was a mix of first time skiiers as well as Black Diamond Skiiers and there were plenty of ski runs to choose from in the daytime ski area. Of the employees that we came in contact with, a majority of them were pleasant to talk to. The night time ski area Silver, there were not that many runs to choose from. They also had a snowboard competition going on there and the resort didn't give out a lot of notice out to the guests saying that there was a event being held at Silver. They have shuttles to transport you to the different parts of the resorts. They also have a outdoor Jacuzzi to take advantage on a cold night to relax in after a hard day at the slopes. You can either rent equipment from the resort itself or there is a independent store off site at the bottom of the mountain. We rented our equipment off site which also was a pleasant experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Snowshoe Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Gorgeous scenery, but of course out of season. The Resort seems very nice and there is plenty of parking space. We're not skiers, but were impressed with the place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowshoe Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Snowshoe Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowshoe Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.