We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Golf Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raven Golf Club

Raven Golf Club
Snowshoe, WV 26209
877-441-4386
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Snowshoe
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by golf legend Gary Player, this 18-hole championship layout features dramatic elevation changes and rugged rock faces.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Golf Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have skied for years at Snowshoe and since I took up golf, I have always wanted to visit this course. I have a WV Golf Association VIP card which made my trip to Snowshoe very economical. I played a Jack Nicklaus course the day before and it was special to then play a Gary Player course. This is predominantly a mountain layout and was beautiful. The fairways and green were in very good condition. All the staff members, particularly Chris were very helpful. This course is in the mountains of WV and is a trip from almost everywhere, but it is worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Mountaintop Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

After a skiing vacation at Snowshoe Mountain several years ago, I had hoped to someday return to enjoy the Gary Player designed Raven Golf Club. I finally was able make it happen on a golf trip last Fall. Great decision! It was definitely well worth the winding journey through the West Virginia wilderness to tee off from this gem. 'Spectacular' hardly describes this wonderful layout. The views, routing and scenery are beautiful and breathtaking. Really, almost any one of the 18 could easily qualify as the 'signature hole'. Additional proof that this is an architectual masterpiece is the fact that we could even play the course after the area had been inundated with 3" of rain the day before. Over the years, I have had the good fortune of playing some pretty amazing venues, such as Firestone South, Inverness, Kapalua Plantation Course, Longaberger, Mauna Lani South, etc., but the Raven definitely ranks in my top 5 favorite courses. In fact, the course made such a positive impression on us that my golf buddy and I are altering our golf trip plans so that we can include another round at The Raven again this year. So, if you are in the vicinity, by all means make every effort to play the Raven. You won't regret it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Raven Golf Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A beautiful and challenging layout designed by Gary Player. Great golf value and woman friendly. An excellent and fun golf challenge. Beautiful scenery as well. Helpful and friendly staff. Good restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“we had and event here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

just at the drivimng range, place and layout ids great here, big course, friendly staff, had fun here

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful course, good pricing and cool temps even in the summer, what's not to love? People are so nice and the place is never really crowded

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raven Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Raven Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raven Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.