We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy and Dark” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge Condos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountain Lodge Condos to your Saves list
Mountain Lodge Condos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dingy and Dark”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We got this room through a Groupon, so it was a decent price, but we would likely not stay here again unless a much better deal presented itself. The good items first--the one bedroom condo was roomy with a balcony. The location is great, right next to the village area with shops, restaurant, lift etc. Also, parking is free and plentiful. The bad--our unit wasn't particularly clean. My daughter picked up a pillow and a half cup of popcorn fell out. The hallways were dark and eery, and the kids took to making ghost noises. Discarded items, like mattresses and a broken dishwasher, were simply left in the halls, added to the creepiness. The exercise equipment was left out in a lobby area. Stated hours were more of a suggestion than a rule (ie the game room was scheduled to open at 8:15 am, and the doors were still locked at 9:15). The ski lift ride to the lake and free paddleboat rental were the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view, and a balcony with chairs (most had no furniture).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have to agree with TravelinLady11. I too booked a getaway deal through Groupon after reading all the interesting and fun activities that both my wife and I can do on and around the Snowshoe Resort and also the surrounding area. If I had gotten this trip/getaway for free I would have left this place immediately (checking out tomorrow! Can't wait to leave!).

First of all, the check in time is 5pm which is ridiculous. We checked in and was given a "3 Day Fun Pass" which states that we are entitled to "Unlimited use of Village Eurobungy and Climbing Wall, Lake Activities, Split Rock Pool Access and Scenic Lift Rides (no bikes). Also included is SN Movies, Free Popcorn at SN Movies, hiking trails, and a bucket of balls at Raven Golf Club". The lady that checked us in (let's call her "D") said Snowshoe had so much to offer and we will definitely enjoy ourselves. Since my wife and I have been driving the whole day, we thought we cool down by heading to the pool (operating hours are 11am to 8pm). I called Split Rock Pool around 7pm only to find out that they have already closed because it had stared raining a bit. Mind you that Split Rock Pool has a outdoor pool and indoor pool, how can the indoor pool be closed? So we decided to just sit in and get some rest.

We got this unit on the 3rd floor and it has no freaking A/C! The unit is so bloody hot and when I called the front desk to inform that the A/C wasn't working she simply said the unit A/C is off. She just told me to "crack the window open" and "open the sliding door" and let the cool air in. Also, there are freaking bugs and insect in the unit as well (I will upload the pictures later).

Today, we thought about going down to Shavers Lake via the Lift Ride to have a small picnic, do the paddle boat, and go for a lunch at the Boathouse Restaurant. To our disbelief NONE of the lifts were working and all lake activities are closed for the next 2 days, and this coming from "D" that had checked us in not more than 20 hours earlier.

To make things worst, some renovation/construction work was going on at the lodge right next to our condo. The sound of sawing and hammer thumping was simply irritating (I will update the pictures later. Also, have a video too).

The internet connection here is so-so, keeps dropping for no reason.

I do not recommend this place to anyone. We are absolutely disappointed with this place. If the daily rate was only $15-20/day then it wouldn't be a problem because as the saying goes, you get what you paid for. But for $100+/day.....yaaaaa...I'd rather stay on the campground or never come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We came across this place through a Groupon but wanted to make sure that it was as good as what it seemed on Groupon and it looked amazing. They had tons of activities and restaurants listed and the rooms didn't look the greatest but we thought that it was okay if it wasn't the Ritz since we would only be sleeping there. We checked in to stay from Monday-Wednesday and we asked the girl what kind of stuff did they have available to do and she said "nothing is open right now" and we thought she meant that night since it was 6:30 (they wont let you check in till 5pm which is already a issue) and she gave us a list of all the activities and restaurants and it turns out that NOTHING was available to do until Friday-Saturday-Sunday except the pool which is only open from 2-9pm!!! Oh and the supposed "endless food choices" was limited to only a sports bar at certain times since no restaurants were open otherwise. Basically all we could do was drive to the base of the mountain if we wanted to do anything or eat anything and it takes 30-40 minutes to get to the base and any real food. There is limited restaurants and the only grocery store is a foodmart. The bed was so uncomfortable we used blankets on top to cushion it and even though there was not a single other person we came across the whole time we were there they put us on the 3rd floor at the end of the hallway so we had to either carry our stuff up and down the stairs or walk to the other side to take the elevator. Room looks old and the only reason that the internet worked was because no one else was there. Would never stay there again, they should tell people up front the hours and days that things are open because we never would have stayed there if we knew we couldn't eat or do anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

very peaceful and quite. the sceneray was breathtaking. staff was very friendly. lots of neat things to do. the town of cass has a lot of history and the train ride was awesome. horseback riding was also fun and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was my first ski in/ski out experience so I was pretty easy to please from that point. The condo was roomy and had all the basics and comfortable beds, very roomy, wifi, flat screen. For the price we paid, you couldn't beat it! Since we we went a few days ago, it was really the end of the season and staff was pretty slim everywhere. However, that made the mountain quite light too! It was awesome! Negatives were that our condo faced the parking lot and rooms had a window to the hallway, kind of odd. Would have loved a fireplace as well, but not sure how many up there have those either. Buy groceries before you get near the mountain and buy down to the very basics! TP was provided but there were no spices, including salt and pepper at all. At one point we came back to our room not knowing they would provide garbage and towel services daily and we had a lot of valuables lying around. Plus, the door was propped open with the door latch with no one around! When we called the management they apologized but didn't seem to concerned. So don't leave anything of value out in the open! For Mountain Lodge and a few other of the Lodges near it there is a Pool/Hot tub center. Now that was awesome!!!!! My 3 year old niece squealed in delight! A huge wide indoor slide perfect for toddlers, you could swim inside to out with a slide on outside and two large hot tub/spas, one covered, one uncovered! The other thing was the Mountain Lodge was just steps from several restaurants, shops and ski/board rentals, as well as one of the main ski lifts. I literally skied from the lift to the door to the building. It was a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We checked in on march 7th. Front desk, most unfriendly ever, the girl will never look at your eyes. Then we took the elevator, smells like public restroom! The cleaning product they use is horrible.
Then, headed to the 339 room/condo: carpet is old and dirty. Underneath the dining table there was garbage which indicates obviously has not been vacuumed prior our visit and who knows when since!. After a closer look to the carpet, there were hairs all over...not ours!.
Window curtain was half hanging half on. The vinyl flooring definitely not cleaned in years! I walked barefoot and could feel the dust. Thank God the bathroom was clean. Next day, we cooked breakfast, wanted to use the dishwasher, Jesus! It had food leftovers inside! This condo is so freaking dirty all over the place. This day we went to ski, good thing about this location is the ski in/out ... The only one! We came back to sleep. Next day at 7:30am a women yelling an nocking the door like crazy! H O U S E KEEEEE P I N G. Women! Don't you think is kind of early! Well let me tell you two things: first they didn't have a privacy door sign for us to put on the door, so no way to prevent the crazy housekeeper. Second: what they call housekeeping is a towel delivery, not cleaning at all!. Honestly for $160 a night this is ridiculously overpriced! This a cheap motel...which we never expected!. We booked thru snowshoemtn.com ..... So be aware!

Room Tip: Honestly I don't know what to expect here at mountain lodge. If you truly want to stay here, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights during late February 2013. The condo itself was dated but sufficiently furnished with cheap repairs in attempt to cover years of deterioration. The walls and ceilings are paper thin, thus leading to lack of sleep considering we heard every single noise made in our area.

The lodge was also very dated and not properly maintained. The rugs located at the entrances were completely soaked during our entire stay and did not appear to be replaced with dry, clean ones at any point. The lodge smelled like a gym locker room from what I presume to be mildew from years of wet carpet that hasn’t been replaced or properly cleaned; luckily the smell was not present in our room. The lodge advertises free WiFi, but from our experience the router has an insufficient limit number of users and when you were able to contact the speed was very lacking. The staff at the front desk seemed annoyed when you had a inquiry or request. The room cleaning service knocked on our door like a SWAT team at 8-8:30am both mornings and had an attitude when we asked why they came around prior to the lifts opening.

This was our 3rd trip to Snowshoe, which we absolutely love but this will be the last time we stay at the Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge Condos

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Village Central adjacent to the Ballhooter lift with ski-in/ski-out convenience. Village shops, restaurants and the Split Rock Pool & Hot Tubs are nearby. Mountain Lodge features private adjacent parking lot, comfortable lobby with large fireplace and scenic overlooks. Complimentary building-wide Wi-Fi broadband internet access is provided. Also featured is a dedicated electronic game roomand indoors "Little Tykes" children's play area. All enclosed common areas and most condos are non-smoking. Auntie Pasta's restaurant and the Comedy Cellar share the Lower Level.Mountain Lodge offers one, two and (a few) three bedroom condos. Most have queen beds & queen sleeper sofas. All condos feature well stocked fully equipped kitchens and walkout balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.