We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late entry - but nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimfire Lodge Condos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rimfire Lodge Condos to your Saves list
Rimfire Lodge Condos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Yokosuka, Japan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Late entry - but nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

Stayed at Rimfire - very nice! Loved the parking in the basement, lockers and hot tubs. The place was a two bedroom. A little narrow, but OK. Could also walk to the pool compex a ways down the street. Crowded but fun. I would stay there again. The great part about Snowshoe is that it is a real resort with quality skiing and amenities. Don't waste time anywhere else!

  • Liked — The view and hot tubs
  • Disliked — room a little small
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

This was my second trip to Snow Shoe. The first time I stayed at Whistlepunk and the second at Rimfire.

I must say, both places left much to be desired. Whistlepunk was a one bedroom condo. The kitchen needed to be updated about 20 years ago, along with the bathroom. The furniture was old and tattered. There were 4 of us, my wife and two young kids. The plan was to have them sleep on the sleeper sofa, that was way past it's prime. The bed in the bedroom was your typical cheap foam matress. Luckily we were always so tired from long days at the slopes we didn't care.

This year we decided to splurg a little and stay in a two bedroom condo in the village, Rimfire. While the location was better and the building newer, the amenities in the room were just as bad as Whistlepunk. It seemed like everything you touched was either broken or about to break. We did enjoy the hot tub, we needed it after sleeping on the beds.

Bottom line, you definately go here for the skiing, not for the accomodations. We still plan on going again next year, but are saving our money by booking cheapest room available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

We booked a last-minute ski trip at snowshoe for the week of March (12-16), 2007. Living in New Orleans, we alternate our ski trips each winter with flying West or driving East. We skied Sugar Mountain, NC two years ago and Park City, Utah last year. Unlike the (many) bad reviews of Sugar Mountain, we had a good time. Although, after skiing at Snowshoe, I doubt we will ever go back to Sugar.
Snowshoe attracted us because of the larger number of trails and only a three hour further drive than Sugar Mountain. We were apprehensive about the many negative reviews on Intrawest's management of the resort and poor customer service. We were happy to find the complete opposite. From check-in to dinning, the customer service was excellent.
Lodging:
We stayed at the Rimfire Lodge, which is one of the hotels in the Village area on top of the mountain. Rimfire is unique in having underground parking beneath the hotel. Booking "post-season" the rates were great, we paid $567.00 for 4 days/3 nights at Rimfire (Studio Plus), which included 4 days lift tickets and rental equipment (military discount). Staying at the Village is the way to go at Snowshoe. The area is very well kept and maintained.
Family:
We left the kiddies at home this time, but they would have loved "split rock" indoor/outdoor pool and "The Big Top" arcade tent. Snowshoe is setup for families with much to do for the kids.
Dining:
There are many shops and restaurants on the ground floor of all the village hotels. As recommended on Trip Advisor reviews, we were impressed with "FoxFire" (Barbeque), and "Ember" (Fine Dining). Ember was a little on the high-end for us, but the Sushi was excellent. "Cheat Mountain Pizza" was also good.
Skiing:
The skiing is first rate. No snow or snow making while we were there, but the base had full coverage. With natural snow, the skiing would have been better, but that's the chance you take anytime you ski out East. All trails and lifts were open. We really liked the "Soaring Eagle" ski area... very fast lift, nice run. The "Western Territory's" two black runs are accessed by walking across the street... very nice (long) runs.
Ski School:
The wife and I took snowboard lessons on our third day. I would recommend taking all lessons at Snowshoe's "Silver Creek" area as they're setup better for beginners. Silver Creek has a magic carpet on their bunny slope (The Village does not). Silver Creek has the only night skiing at Snowshoe, so up until 4:30pm, the area is not too crowded.
Overall:
A great spring skiing experience. We loved Snowshoe... it appears Intrawest management is doing a great job at this resort. We are even thinking about buying a condo in the Village. Next time we will bring the kids.

The only two bad things about Snowshoe:
(1) Cell Phones do not work at Snowshoe, buy a phone card.
(2) Long drive from the Interstate. The last two hours of driving to the mountain was rough with no snow. I can't imagine driving those curves with ice/snow. Bring snow chains.

Happy Skiing!

  • Liked — Location to the Ski Slope
  • Disliked — Long Drive up Mountain
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

Our four person family (kids aged 6 and 9) stayed in the Rimfire Lodge and enjoyed it.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo over a 3 day weekend. 3 nights including lift tickets ran to about $1400. This is by no means a bargain, but not entirely out of line for other walk to the lift resorts we've been to. One bonus, if you get there in time, you can park in the basement of the building. Very nice.

The Rimfire seems pretty new and was well maintained and in good shape. The room was small, but not uncomfortably so. We've stayed in 1 bedrooms that are much smaller.

I can't comment on the service -- there wasn't much interaction other than check-in. We did call about service on the heat (the room was about 10 degrees above the thermostat), and they fixed it promptly while we were out skiing.

The location was very good. It was a short walk to the slopes, which our kids were able navigate easily. It is an even shorter walk to the Slippery Rock pool. This is probably the highlight for the kids, it was both indoors and outdoors.

The skiing was decent. Many runs were closed, but we had snow while we there and didn't get bored. On Saturday, the lines were horrific. This might be because the closed runs concentrated the crowd. That would be my only real concern. Get out early or be prepared to stand around a lot.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

I suppose we knew how labor intensive any getaway could be with a family of 6! Snow skiing is not without waiting and hauling luggage and equipment.
Reservations- I made last last minute reservations. Even when it seems booked to the rim, remember there will always be last minute cancellations.
Rooms- Rimfire was nice overlooking road and valley not village.Very crammed, Very nice kitchen with crockpot, cork screw and all essentials. made everything including baking chocolate chip cookies. There was dishwash and hand wash soap.Starbucks was a hit for the kids spent their wad on cappuchinos!
Parking- The underground parking key worked for our room. The room wasn't clean at 3:00 but we had a place to change. Watch your roof top equipment carriers saw someone get theirs ripped off in the entrance.
Equipment rental- You can rent all including ski bibs and pants.
Had a great time chatting with the staff about the working abroad experience.
Lessons- I had one newby snowboarder, Loved the lessons and her teacher! Struggled through an evening without lessons, So stow your stuff and hit the slopes quickly.
Babysitting-Didn't use
Extras- Pool if you are central reservations you get in free. If you book through individual $5.00 a piece. Kids Loved swimming out doors in the heavy fog! They clear the pool once an hour.
Pack separate beach bag and come here if your room is not ready.
Shaver. What I remember from snowshoe 30 years ago. The original lodge" still battered" has rock climbing movies, arcade bungey lodge style meals and disco.
Slopes- We were blessed with lightly falling snow for the first 12 hours. tubing and skiing. Better than we expected. Lifts bogged down in th afternoon!
Transportation- My kids went last year and said the people drove back and forth themselves to western slopes.( we weren't going to move from the garage) We didn't mind waiting and sometimes getting shut outof the shuttle. It was windy and brisk but we managed to wait. Do not take this trip if you are not a patient Person!!There is inevidible lines somewhere.Home on the shuttle 10pm A Black Bear Cub passed in front of us(no stop in the bar either)
Shops Bought a nice burton coat regular ski apparel price.
Kids gloves were a less than quality glove returned without a problem. Problaby a buyers glitch.
Mass- Mass on Sunday in Beautiful St. Bernards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

My girlfriend and I were excited to hit up Snowshoe Mtn in WV after seeing the beautiful picures of the resort and being recommended by co-workers who have visited. I must say even from the booking over the phone I should have known it wasn't going to be all I had expected. The staff was lacking in customer service skills for such a pricey resort. The check in wasn't so bad other than having to go to either the bottom or top of the mountain instead of at the actual hotel and there is no bag check. Not a problem unless you drive a truck and the luggage is in the bed. We stayed at Rimfire which was a beautiful room and the underground parking was nice to help secure our luggage while we waited for our room. The staff at the rental shops needs to be trained before handing out equipment. As a first timer, I was looking for their guidence and instead got well, try this if it doesn't work, come back. Also waited at the counter at the pizza shop for 15 mins until a cook saw us waiting and got the cashier who was busy flirting with girls. Alot of young-ins working at this resort which doesn't offer you the customer service you'd expect out of a resort that charges $200 night for a room. We did take a snowboard lesson which was one of the highlights of the trip. The guys were very professional and helpful. I would suggest going to winterplace or another resort rather than spending the money at snowshoe just to be let down. At least in the off season where everything closes at 6pm.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacksburg, va
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

My wife and I stayed in Rimfire 101 for 2 nights this year and love ever moment of it. The room had a beautiful fireplace, nice decor and direct access to the outdoor hot tubs over looking the valley and the sunset. In the morning it was less than 50 feet from Starbucks the underground parking garage was an added bonus. The slopes were good for this time of year and the lines not bad at all. I can’t wait to get back in early 2007 when all the slopes are open. We had dinner in our room one night and the other we ate at the Foxfire and enjoyed the atmosphere and food. I would recommend the Rimfire lodge to anyone visiting snowshoe and we will be sure to ask for Room 101 again.

  • Liked — Convience of being closet room to the hottubs, Starbucks and the parking garage
  • Disliked — how snowshoe does the room check ins
  • Tips/Secrets — Call early and request Rimfire 10, take advantage of the full kitchen and bring some food to cook.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimfire Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimfire Lodge Condos

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimfire Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard, junior studio, studio, one and two bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village just steps from the slopes and the Ballhooter Lift. Units offer spectacular western vistas and village plaza views. All units except Junior Studios and Standard Rooms have full kitchens; Juniors have efficiency kitchens, Internet connections and full daily maid service, unique among most condominium units. Gas fireplaces, outside hot tubs with sunset views, exercise room, sauna, vending and laundry facilities, underground parking and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimfire Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimfire Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimfire Lodge Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.